We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Birthday Celebration”
Review of Mallams Restaurant

Mallams Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 297 Restaurants in Weymouth
Price range: $22 - $53
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mallam's is fast becoming Weymouth's go to venue for delicious, innovative modern British cooking, exciting cocktails and carefully selected wines. Our chef has worked and travelled far and wide, including working at the Ivy in London as well as numerous highly esteemed restaurants worldwide. Food is his absolute passion and working with local producers he is creating some of the most exciting menu's to be found in the south west today. Alongside the talented kitchen team, front of house is headed up by Lauren and CJ (a very talented mixologist), both with impressive hospitality backgrounds who will ensure your evening is one to remember. We cater for up to 40 diners, so whether you would like a table for two, a corporate dinner, birthday celebration or perhaps an intimate wedding breakfast we are here to help. We even have a delightful self contained, spacious two bedroom apartment with stunning harbour views.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We holiday in Weymouth every year and always pay a visit to Mallams. This year as I was celebrating a special birthday my extended family decided to come along. As we had always told them how good Mallams is it was decided to pay a visit for an adults only meal. Janice was very helpful when making the booking and was obviously keen to accommodate us. As there were 11 of us they asked if we could pre-order which was not a problem. We arrived to a warm welcome and it is safe to say no-one was disappointed in either the food, atmosphere, service and overall ambience. The food was as excellent as always - no complaints and 5 stars given by all. My young nephew deemed it his 'best meal ever!' My dessert was brought out on a special 'Happy Birthday' plate and it seemed that the whole restaurant joined in to sing Happy Birthday. Our waitress , Deborah, was a delight. She was extremely efficient and friendly and certainly added to our experience. Many thanks to you all for making a special occasion, extra special. We will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Threepiers_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Oh, thank you so much. We are so happy that we managed to make your "special" birthday so enjoyable. You were delightful guests and it was a real pleasure to see you all having such a great evening. I will pass on your comments to Deborah, one of our hard working staff who all take a keen interest in all comments made on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you all again next year and hope that the rest of your time in Weymouth continued to be a success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

492 - 496 of 716 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We visited Mallams once again and it didn't disappoint. The best mussels I have ever eaten to say the least. Lovely relaxed atmosphere and thoroughly enjoyable evening. Look forward to our next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lgcj1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you. We are so pleased you rate what we do so highly, we really look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

A recent visit to Weymouth finished up with an absolutely delicious meal in the charming old harbour area. We were just passing and liked the look of Mallams but when my husband rang to book for a Monday evening we were disappointed to find out that it was already very booked!
However, the a very helpful staff member said that if we came at 6.30pm as soon as they opened there would be a table for us. This was extremely considerate and the beautifully presented and delicious food was fantastic! We just had to have dessert too! We really enjoyed the cosy and friendly ambience of the restaurant and sat next to a table of people who had been coming to Mallams for 22 years!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LondonTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you. What a lovely review. We are fortunate to have so many customers who have been loyal fans for so many years and it is nice that you had to opportunity to speak to some "locals". Our restaurant is quite small and intimate and people often strike up conversations with each other. Really pleased that you enjoyed everything and we hope you will be able to visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

food as expected was good but if you put in perspective of £120 price tag (for two people) overall experience didnt warrent this price.
I would say a steady Friday evening (but more waiting staff than ive seen before) but drinks were taken, served and then left 20 minutes before a food menu was given to us. Once taken, it was slow which only drew our attention to other tables coming in and receiving the prompt attention we have come to expect.
All In all, nearly two and half hours for three courses. In an environment where there is a good selection of restaurants, it is disappointing to see this once favourite of ours standards slipping.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank HayleyB81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for your time in posting this review. We are very disappointed that you did not share your feelings directly with us on the evening. At no time whilst we were serving you or on our comment card did you express any issues about the service which is a shame as we could have discussed your concerns with you.

We were extremely busy on Friday night but as all tickets are timed we did not pick up on any major timing issues with the food service. All our food is cooked to order and we allow about two to two and a half hours for people to enjoy an aperitif, relax and dine with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed the food. Again, we are disappointed you felt in some way that it was not good value. Your spend of £120.00 was substantially above our normal average, it is easily possible to have a three course meal, aperitif and a bottle of wine for around £42.00 per person. Our pricing is transparent and we do not make any attempt to fleece people with supplements or the like. We hate to lose a returning customer and we do not believe that Trip Advisor is helpful arena in which to solve customer dissatisfaction. I have tried to call you several times to see if we can resolve your issues but have been unable to get through to you. I hope you will visit us again and enjoy the experience that we offer as you remember it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We found Mallams by chance whilst on holiday in Dorset. We actually dined there twice and my son and daughter-in-law, dined there once on our recommendation. We were all very impressed with the food and the service was excellent. I asked for diet lemonade, as I am a diabetic, and a member of staff popped down to the shop to get some! I had rack of lamb and ratatouille and it was delicious. Will certainly visit again if we holiday in Dorset again. Thank you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you. So glad we were able to help with the diet lemonade, it is not always possible to stock every version of the soft drinks but were lucky to be able to pick one up locally for you. We do try our very best to look after our customers and if it is within our power we will go out of way to ensure they have a great experience. We are glad that this was a success and that you and your family enjoyed your time spent with us. We hope to see you next time you are in Weymouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mallams Restaurant also viewed

Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Mallams Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing