We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This should be Number One in Weymouth!”
Review of Mallams Restaurant

Mallams Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mallams Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 285 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $51
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Mallams is a long standing favourite of both locals and visitors since 1990. The restaurant is in an beautiful position with views of the bustling harbour.The Tudor beams and stone walls of the listed building have a traditional feel but are complemented by contemporary decor. NEW this summer, pop in for a drink and nibbles Friday and Saturday lunchtimes or choose from our exciting new lunch menu. The food is very definitely in the 21st century, an eclectic mix of ideas from British cuisine, with a touch of French and some Asian influence as well, always using the freshest, local produce. Seafood is much in evidence, as you would expect, but meat, game and poultry feature too.All this mixed with exciting wines and cocktails and friendly and attentive service and a really personal touch from the young, friendly and professional team. We are always happy to discuss your requirements for special celebrations, anniversaries, weddings, birthdays and we will be pleased to design a special menu just for you.
Brenchley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“This should be Number One in Weymouth!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a fun evening accompanied with excellent food and super wine. After a long walk Mallams was just what we wanted - and we got it.
The menu with the addition of more than a few specials was just what the doctor ordered with interesting starters and a good mix of fish and meat as mains - but when you're so close to the sea, fish was our choice - and we weren't let down. The sole specials were just beautiful - lovely white flesh and cooked to perfection, as were the lemon sole and cod dishes. They know how to run a restaurant here.
The waiting staff were special too offering helpful banter and bonhome.
We loved it, and it's not hard to see why they've been so successful for 24 years!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alistair V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoy what we do. I shall pass on your kind comments to our front of house and kitchen staff who work so hard to make sure that our customers have a really great experience. We do hope we will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    132
    55
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Food was absolutely delicious, very high quality and a reasonable price. Highly recommended. Their was four of us, we all had something different and everything was perfect.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terryjones2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad your evening was a success and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey uk
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect meal and evening!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Everything perfect! Ice cold Pinot Grigio, delicious starter, crab cakes & small salad! Main course, Cod with parmesan crust, with anchovy and caper sauce! mango cheesecake (yummy) cheese and port!! excellent service in a professional friendly way!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dihargrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you! We can't wish for any more than when someone rates their evening as perfect. We do hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Weymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A very enjoyable evening”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The atmosphere is very relaxing and there is great attention to detail. The Staff are very attentive and quick to notice when you require attention. As soon as we got up to leave our coats were brought to us. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and cooked to perfection. I am not a great lover of fish and, as such, am often disappointed when we eat out because menues are often overloaded with fish dishes and I am not left with much choice. At Mallams I didn't know what to choose. I was spoilt for choice. We will definitely be visiting Mallams again as soon as possible. The only improvement I could think of, and it is a very small one, would be to add a small biscuit or chocolate mint to after dinner coffee.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizzyAnthus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you had a great evening with us and that we can look forward to the pleasure of your company again. Don't forget to sign up to our newsletter and we will send you a little gift to spend with us too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Wonderful restaurant with exceptional food and service. Attention to detail and quality of drinks, wine, food and service were outstanding. We were recommended by a friend who said equally lovely things and we were not disappointed. My partner has several allergies and the owners and staff were so accommodating, they adjusted dishes and made a special sauce to accompany her food that was suitable. This is not the sort of service you find in so many other places it was refreshing to find proper service as it should be. We cannot wait to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arilohez8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you had an enjoyable evening with us and that we were able to accommodate your friend's requests to suit her. We are pleased to support Coeliac Uk in their efforts to highlight these sort of issues and are always happy to help with any dietary or allergy problems in order that everyone can enjoy a great evening out. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mallams Restaurant also viewed

Weymouth, Dorset
 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Mallams Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing