We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Evening, Try the Sparkling Menu”
Review of Mallams Restaurant

Mallams Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 284 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $51
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Mallams is a long standing favourite of both locals and visitors since 1990. The restaurant is in an beautiful position with views of the bustling harbour.The Tudor beams and stone walls of the listed building have a traditional feel but are complemented by contemporary decor. NEW this summer, pop in for a drink and nibbles Friday and Saturday lunchtimes or choose from our exciting new lunch menu. The food is very definitely in the 21st century, an eclectic mix of ideas from British cuisine, with a touch of French and some Asian influence as well, always using the freshest, local produce. Seafood is much in evidence, as you would expect, but meat, game and poultry feature too.All this mixed with exciting wines and cocktails and friendly and attentive service and a really personal touch from the young, friendly and professional team. We are always happy to discuss your requirements for special celebrations, anniversaries, weddings, birthdays and we will be pleased to design a special menu just for you.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening, Try the Sparkling Menu”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had a superb meal & relaxed evening last Friday. We had not visited Mallams before and made the booking because the ladies in our party, Valerie & Sandra had heard about & were insistent that they should have the rabbit featuring on the 3 course Sparkling menu. The food was indeed delicious, service spot on & harbour setting delightful. We did find the wine list to be a liitle pricey and we would like to see a house wine option or two on offer.
Nevertheless we will be returning!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jhn007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you had a positive experience with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. We are on the look out for some great value wines as we speak and have some delicious new wines coming on stream from Galicia in the near future which we absolutely love. Do come back and give them a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    127
    53
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great mothers day meal”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I called a few weeks back to see if Mallams were doing anything special for Mothers Day. I was told they weren't but I could pre order a champagne cocktail to be handed to my mum on arrival. The lady went through what they offered and I settled on the 'sloegasm' (which was delicious).

On the night we had the roasted beets salad and mussels for starters, then the guinea fowl and bream for mains. The food was delicious, well presented and very very tasty. Thank you for helping make my mums night special.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kipper666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure. We are really glad you enjoyed it and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Just to clear up a point for anyone reading this review, you came on Saturday night for your Mother's Day celebration as many others did, but our opening hours on Trip Advisor are wrong and we are not open on Sunday at present as it states but Monday to Saturday evening. For some reason it cannot be put right on here at the moment but we hope it will be amended soon. Thanks once again.

Janice Gosson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Disappointing Visit”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I booked a table here for last Friday having read the reviews, but was really disappointed with the service on the night. We were a table of 4 and we placed our orders at a similar time to another table of 4 behind us, and this seemed to have created confusion for the rest of the evening. 2 of our main courses came out, but then we waited for the next 2 for a while why the table behind were served and then our 2 meals came out. When we ordered dessert there was a really long wait and when we asked why we were advised that they were waiting for the crumble to cook; but we hadn't ordered crumble after some time the table behind were served crumble and our deserts came out with theirs? The food was OK I had the lobster, crab and prawn gratin dish, but the salad served with it was not cleaned well and was a little gritty. I mentioned my disappointment when paying and was just advised that they had a newish staff member; there didn't appear to be any recognition of the impact of this on our experience, so I wont be returning here

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. Without going into great detail I would like to try and address the points you have raised.. It is not uncommon for more than one table to be served at the same time in a restaurant and I don't recall you commenting about being dissatisfied in any way with your food when you were checked on up until the point of having dessert. If the salad was gritty then certainly you should have sent it back as this is unacceptable and it would have been replaced immediately.

You did indeed comment when you left that you were not happy and I explained that our new member of staff had made a simple error in telling you we were waiting for your apple crumble when she meant bread and butter pudding. We were very busy that night and sometimes, with the best will in the world mistakes do happen. We allow about two to two and a half hours for people to enjoy a three course meal in our restaurant, as everything is cooked to order and we would hope that you are able to sit and relax and have an enjoyable evening. You booked for 7 and left at 9.25 so that does not indicate an overly long period of waiting for food to us.

It is difficult to recompense someone for an unsatisfactory experience when they are exiting the building and we would always encourage people to talk to us at the time if they are unhappy in order that we can endeavour to put things right.

We are sorry that you will not be visiting us again but perhaps if you are in the area you might like to give us another try.

Janice Gosson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Bit old-fashioned but cannot fault cooking”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Slightly deathless feel to dining room and waitress just a tiny bit clueless but all else superb. The rabbit (not wild I fear) was excellent, as was the fish. Fair wine list and not particularly overpriced, always a pleasant surprise.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scrimshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review and we are very pleased that overall your experience was superb. We can reassure you that the rabbit was wild and we are really glad you enjoyed it. It is nice to hear that you thought the wine list was reasonably priced.

You did not elaborate on what it was you found old fashioned, was it the decor or the food or both? We encourage our diners to share their views with us so that we can constantly improve and evolve. Our Grade II listed building is generally considered to be cosy and have a lovely ambience but it is certainly not modern. If it was our food, we try and keep up to date with modern trends but we certainly do not slavishly follow them. I think if you look at the photographs on our new website it will give an impression of what we do and we hope it looks warm and inviting. We would be really interested to hear your opinions so if you have time please do contact us via e mail.

We hope on the basis of an enjoyable meal that you will come back and see us again.

Janice Gosson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Fantastic although you do feel a little exposed on the table for two I the middle of the restaurant but still very good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffihatebob157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your meal, do ask for a table in another part of the restaurant if you return and we will do our very best to accommodate you.

Janice Gosson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mallams Restaurant also viewed

Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Mallams Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing