We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an excellent place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mallams Restaurant

Mallams Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 281 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Mallams is a long standing favourite of both locals and visitors since 1990. The restaurant is in an beautiful position with views of the bustling harbour.The Tudor beams and stone walls of the listed building have a traditional feel but are complemented by contemporary decor. NEW this summer, pop in for a drink and nibbles Friday and Saturday lunchtimes or choose from our exciting new lunch menu. The food is very definitely in the 21st century, an eclectic mix of ideas from British cuisine, with a touch of French and some Asian influence as well, always using the freshest, local produce. Seafood is much in evidence, as you would expect, but meat, game and poultry feature too.All this mixed with exciting wines and cocktails and friendly and attentive service and a really personal touch from the young, friendly and professional team. We are always happy to discuss your requirements for special celebrations, anniversaries, weddings, birthdays and we will be pleased to design a special menu just for you.
Kings Caple, Hereford,UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an excellent place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a short break in Weymouth Nov 9th-11th. Looked on TA for restaurant info. and tried Mallams on the Saturday night. Just got in with a 7:00pm booking. Staff very pleasant and efficient. Starters: I had Portlan Crab Cakes and my wife had Seared Pigeon. Both excellent. Mains: I had the Fish of the Day, Monkfish done in a Spanish way, chorizo. tomato, peppers, Outstanding! My wife had the Venison which was also excellent. All in all a great night out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianClements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are fortunate to have a lot of people visiting Weymouth this autumn and so we are really glad we were able to accommodate you this last weekend. Even more pleasing is that you enjoyed your evening, it can be easier sometimes to stay in on these dark nights so we are glad you enjoyed what we do and hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    126
    53
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, England
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant to celebrate a special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We. visited Mallams on Saturday 3 November to celebrate my mum's 70th Birthday. We had a table for five by the window which offers a nice view out over the harbourside. We were greeted by Janice and shown to our table. What I liked about the initial service was the fact that we didn't have the Food Menu given to us immediately, there was time to look through the Drinks List and then enjoy looking at the Menu over a drink which is so much more relaxing.

The Menu offers a varied selection of dishes with something for everyone whatever their taste. It was a hard decision with the starters as we would have liked to have tried a little bit of everything. I can recommend the Scallops to start, they were gorgeous and the chorizo just gave them that little extra something. The soup, crabcakes and the oak smoked salmon all come highly recommended too.

Again it was a diffcult decision with the mains but my daughter and I can highly recommend the chicken breast stuffed with crab, the venison also went down very well and the fillet of beef was cooked perfectly to both my husband and my dad's taste, the best fillet my dad has had in a long time.

The desserts....what can I say, we could have gone through each of the desserts but went for the Mallams Pudding, the chocolate brownie and the Bakewell tart creme brulee which again were all delicious.

The service throughout the evening was excellent, enough time being given to enjoy each course without feeling rushed and then enjoying a liquer coffee to round off a lovely evening.

A huge thank you to Janice, Steve and their staff for making my mum's birthday a special evening, can't wait to return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piggywiggy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you. We are so glad your "special" birthday celebration went well and that we were able to make your evening an enjoyable one. It sounds as though you will have to visit again to try out some more of the dishes on the autumn menu and we certainly look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Best meal in Weymouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

During a weeks stay in Weymouth we ate at a number of restaurants, and Mallams was by far the best. Lovely location on the harbour front - but it really scores on the food. Excellent choice of dishes. I had a dish of local scallops, lobster and scampi in a rich thermidor sauce, gratinéed and served with a seasonal salad. Delicious, but I almost wished I had my wifes choice - saddle of rabbit stuffed with black pudding and sweet apple, wrapped in Prosciutto ham, roasted and served with wholegrain mashed potato an English mustard and cider brandy sauce with tossed greens. Mouthwatering dishes, and so many choices! Being 'pudding' people, we both opted for the 'Mallams Pudding' just perfect and not too heavy. If we get back to Weymouth we'll certainly visit again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gilwernboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you! We are pleased you enjoyed the food so much, we too are very partial to the rabbit dish on the menu at the moment and we also have a delicious lapin en cocotte dish on the Parisian Nights Menu which is a promotion we have on until 24th November. Maybe we can tempt you back from Cardiff?? Regards, Janice Gosson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Very Special Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is one of my favourite places of all to go to for a meal - an intimate setting with friendly and attentive staff . The menu is well balanced accompanied by an excellent wine list all at very reasonable prices for what is a quality restaurant. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike47716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you. We are so pleased to be ranked amongst your favourite places, that is a real honour. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“well cooked food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The food was well cooked and presented. The staff were very attentive and attended to all our needs. The restaurant was cold when we entered and didn't warm up at all while we ate, I switched the convector on near the window but that didn't work. The owner needs to refresh staff training a little, clear after all guests have finished course not part way through, do not ignore new guests in favour of regulars

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melvynfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your food and that the staff looked after you well. We are sorry you felt cold throughout your evening, if you had told us we could have done something about it. The heaters are thermostatically controlled at 21 degrees which is why you couldn't override them, however, we could have done this for you as we don't want people to feel uncomfortable whilst they dine. We are not sure what you mean about ignoring new guests as you have already stated that you were well looked after. Perhaps you could call us personally so that we can get a better understanding of exactly what the problem was? Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mallams Restaurant also viewed

Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Mallams Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing