We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place To Stay In Weymouth!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Valentines Guest House
Ranked #74 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Place To Stay In Weymouth!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I don't normally write reviews on where we stay as we are fairly fussy which does not give the proprietors a fighting chance, and to find a good bed and breakfast that ticked all the boxes for us was a real result. We feel this place is particularly worthy of mention, as when booking on the internet you are going in "blind" really, but on this occasion we were very lucky as we felt that this place was extremely good value, the owners were very pleasant, the food was excellent, and we had absolutely no complaints regarding the room or its aspect. Anyone who reads this review needs to look no further if they are staying in Weymouth, this is the place to go!

Room Tip: We stayed in room two, which was very good for us. Double aspect sea view, very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thephilnewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
63
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

this was our first visit to weymouth
we stayed at the valentine guest house it was about 10 min to shops 5min to buses and train this made it very easy if you wanted to go out for the day we visited poole ,the valentine offered a very good breakfast and comfy room would stay again.i have to say weymouth is one of the cleanest seaside towns i have seen in a long time will be going back

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2 a bit of traffic noise but did not stop us having a good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suemick78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Me and my girlfriend come here regularly and for good reason, it's the perfect place to relax and spend time with each other.
Great price, great service, delicious breakfast and clean homely rooms.

Sue and Graham always give warm welcomes, and Sue is always happy if you have any questions about the B&B or Weymouth and its surrounding places in general to help you enjoy you time here (even if you're local like me and my partner, she still always has some news about activities in the area).

ALL the rooms are all very clean and very spacious with nice lighting to make you feel at home.
The beds are so cozy that you can fall asleep instantly and also happily spend time with your partner all day on if you feel like doing so (both me and my partner sleep better here then anywhere else, even at home)

The bathrooms have recently been renovated and are again pristine clean. All the sinks. toilet and showers are extremely reliable to use regularly.

The views in the front side of the house are an amazing view of this part of Weymouth with a great view down the beach, especially when the sun is reflecting off the sea.
The back part of the house. though you cant see the beach is so nicely decorated with detailed paintings that the view isn't needed and at least 2 of them also have large 4-posterbeds beds, which is great for romantic nights in.

Each room has the same television which has a built in DVD player and Freeview (it has all the main/popular Freeview channels which is a rare occurrence in Weymouth due to signal problems), the Wi-Fi is also good with a nice, consistent speed.

The only time we had any problems with noise is when they were renovating the top levels (which Sue told us about and apologized) and even then they stopped and began again at appropriate times of day to not disrupt your stay. This has finished now so enjoy yourself.

The food in the morning is delicious, I was never a fan of mushrooms or tomato before I ate their Full English but they brought tastes to it that makes you want to ask for seconds like Oliver. Again the plates and cutlery are pristine clean each time. Sue is always happy to help if you have sensible requests and will ask you if you enjoyed the meal, which is always resounding yes from my partner and myself, there is also, cereal, fruit, juice, milk and yogurt on the table to the side if your still feeling peckish.

When you leave in the morning if you ring the doorbell next to the stairs opposite the front door, Sue or Graham will give you a friendly goodbye, though if you don't feel like doing so you can leave you keys on the guest book.

Every time we go there we can't help but smile, beautiful b&b, especially for a location with such easy access to town which such a good price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a beautiful room. Lovely and spacious, even with a travel cot up. Sue the owner was lovely and made us feel very welcome; nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was very good. We had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

All I can do is just praise how good this Guest house was.......!
Wonderfull Breakfast,Room,service,comfort and the proprierters....!
Would highly recommend a stay here!
We went from this Guest house to stay at the so called Grand Hotel in Brighton and it was nt even a patch on the guest house...!

Fantastic stay looking forward to retuning in the future....!

Room Tip: Sea room views were great..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

spent two nights here very clean and comfortablegreat breakfast will recommend a stay here sue and graham were great hosts made sure we had everything we needed a great location next to the beach lovey size rooms we had a comfortable nights sleep nice size shower room

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This B&B is in a fantastic location, being a stones throw away from a beautiful beach. The hospitality was friendly and warm throughout.
Our bedroom was beautiful, we had a four poster bed that was very comfortable, we had a very comfortable nights sleep despite the sweltering heat, and the room stayed a good temperature while we were there. The room was slightly let down by the en-suite, it was quite small, didn't have a window and the shower had some mould.
The poached eggs and sausages were divine and set us up for the day.
We would recommend visiting Weymouth and a stay at this B&B with lovely hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Kingswood Guest House
Kingswood Guest House
#83 of 165 in Weymouth
70 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#69 of 165 in Weymouth
97 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eastney Hotel
Eastney Hotel
#71 of 165 in Weymouth
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Mayfair
The Mayfair
#94 of 165 in Weymouth
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachcomber Guest House
Beachcomber Guest House
#96 of 165 in Weymouth
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Alendale Guest House
The Alendale Guest House
#6 of 165 in Weymouth
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentines Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentines Guest House

Property: Valentines Guest House
Address: 1 Waterloo Place | Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Valentines Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run Grade 11 listed Georgian guest house located within easy walking distance of the beach, town centre and rail and bus stations. All rooms en-suite, some with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Valentines Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentines Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing