We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUK -disgusting old fashioned /dated in desparate need of help!”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding in Mid August; we were really looking forward to the weekend - but upon arrival we were asked to pay the balance of our hotel bill (after already paying the deposit prior to arriving some weeks before) little did we realise that they needed to get the money out of you before you saw the disgusting rooms! If we had gone to the room before paying you wouldn't have paid for it we would have turned around & gone back down the road to the new premier inn! Also the reception was not manned when we returned later to try and complain .The room was disgusting - it stank really badly of damp/mould; you couldn't open the windows as they were broken & not double glazed so very poor security & no fresh air - the door into your room was not secure not key code to open just one push & it would have opened without using the key; the wallpaper behind the radiator was peeling off; we asked for a double room & ended up with bunk beds as well in our room; it was so small we hardly had any room to move around....the bathroom shower rail was rusty; the shower was attached to both the hot & cold taps & wasn't hot when you went in it; it had a tacky plastic shower curtain that let all the water out onto the bathroom floor - just as well cos it needed cleaning smelt horrible! The shower itself went from boiling hot to freezing cold, the bathroom itself was very old fashioned/dated & in desperate need of modernization yuk!! The bed was rock hard & spelt of damp/ mildew I slept on a towel over the pillow & sheet, both my husband & I didn't have any sleep!!! We asked for some more towels as the so called "white towels" were filthy with black/brown bits on all of them & smelt of really bad BO! I asked for some and they were the same so I refused to use them. It didn't get any better at breakfast the restaurant also smelt of mould/mildew with no fresh air coming no windows to open....the breakfast in the morning was a joke - my husband ordered cooked well the eggs were rock hard & looked as though they had been sat under the cookers lights for hours the whole dining room was awful; we were shown to a table which we thought was ours but there was another couple already sat on there! We had to share the table with them & they didn't realise what was going on either ...luckily the other couple saw the funny side of it we all compared it to fawlty towers quite unbelievable...for my breakfast I had toast which was cold & vile, I never ventured to try any of the cereals as they also looked as thu past their sell by date!
The whole hotel needs a BIG refurbish, we would never stay there again & not recommend it, as we have children and we never get to go away for a weekend we were so disappointed with everything the bar upstairs is very costly & the entertainment was a joke - we were really looking forward to a relaxing weekend away in a nice clean cosy room instead we had a terrible uncomfortable time in a smelly hideous place - the best bit about the whole weekend was when we checked out! So be warned before you pay any money go look at your room & see if the cost of what you're being asked to pay for is really worth it! The rest of the wedding party who had also travelled to the hotel were equally disgusted with their very very small rooms which all need big refurbishment urgently as well.....
The only one thing I will say is that when we got there and had our evening meal which again was not nice we only eat it as we had been travelling a long way & were very tired but I wish I hadn't as it was vile however there was a young waiter (didn't get his name but gave him a nice tip for looking after us!) he really did try his best to serve us even in the really cramped smelly restaurant!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dewdrop55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

The Riviera Hotel is under completely new ownership since November 2009 and after being re-furbished to a high standard was re-launched in April 2012. Altthough with the hotels grade !! listed status certain aspects of the original building could not be addressed - such as - double glazing, front door, archways covered in and rear rooms could not be joined to the main building - the rest of the hotel has enjoyed huge changes including the original 120 rooms now reduced to 98 thus allowing better and larger en-suite facilities. All bedrooms and bathrooms are now modern, light and airy and other issues such as heating, cuisine and staffing have all been addressed since the re-launch.

The function rooms have been re-furbished, as has the Leisure Suite and this coupled with the hotels premier location and views of Weymouth Bay should prove a winning combination.

Please take the time to peruse our new Website, obviously we cannot alter your previous opinion of your stay, but we would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Riviera Hotel some time in the future, so you may see for yourself the transformation of this iconic South Coast Hotel.

Kind Regards

Tony Wilson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2009

We were charged £75 per night and booked for 3 nights. What a nightmare. We stayed one night, didn't even unpack. The room was dirty, tatty, rust in the bedroom and bathroom. Didn't even wash in there it was awful. Can't begin to describe the awful room. Nothing to recommend it whatsoever. Never seen anything like it. The bedclothes!!!, well could have had better from a charity shop!!! Blanket over the mattress, didn't dare lift it up to see what it was covering!!! Didn't stop the next morning for breakfast, took a look in the dining room, looked like Stalag 15!!! Sent a letter of complaint, not even had the decency to reply, not surprised!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shebaRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

The Riviera Hotel is under completely new ownership since November 2009 and after being re-furbished to a high standard was re-launched in April 2012. Altthough with the hotels grade !! listed status certain aspects of the original building could not be addressed - such as - double glazing, front door, archways covered in and rear rooms could not be joined to the main building - the rest of the hotel has enjoyed huge changes including the original 120 rooms now reduced to 98 thus allowing better and larger en-suite facilities. All bedrooms and bathrooms are now modern, light and airy and other issues such as heating, cuisine and staffing have all been addressed since the re-launch.

The function rooms have been re-furbished, as has the Leisure Suite and this coupled with the hotels premier location and views of Weymouth Bay should prove a winning combination.

Please take the time to peruse our new Website, obviously we cannot alter your previous opinion of your stay, but we would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Riviera Hotel some time in the future, so you may see for yourself the transformation of this iconic South Coast Hotel.

Kind Regards

Tony Wilson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed August 4, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

we have been many times before BUT this time it was the straw that broke the camels back.............. the rooms are STILL dirty and smelly, the bedding is still the same as it was years ago,and the furniture and beds want throwing out into a skip !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
the entertainment is a joke ...............only good thing is the bingo and games of hoy [ even though i think more games of hoy could be played ]
the food is so basic its like a bad motorway cafe and your service is bad too.
the staff are very rude [ had a bad experience with the HEAD of house, cleaning who implied i was lying when i said it smelt in one of the rooms we had, really badly,
more so than our other rooms]
we asked for a discount because of all the upset that was caused, but the reception staff said the manager would not be back until Monday......not so ...... we just got fobbed off.
and to top it all off we had work men staying who ended up taking girls back, got really drunk, and played up every night through to the early hours ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,the language was disgusting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
it frighten my 81yr old mother and my 7yr old grandson [ who by the way was bored to death in the hotel as not much for him to do, except the fruit machines ]even though my husband took my grandson out whilst we played bingo ....others did not and there was nothing for them to entertain them to keep them quite.
after all what other hotel do you have to wash every thing round with dettol before you start your holiday!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PRESLEYFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

The Riviera Hotel is under completely new ownership since November 2009 and after being re-furbished to a high standard was re-launched in April 2012. Altthough with the hotels grade !! listed status certain aspects of the original building could not be addressed - such as - double glazing, front door, archways covered in and rear rooms could not be joined to the main building - the rest of the hotel has enjoyed huge changes including the original 120 rooms now reduced to 98 thus allowing better and larger en-suite facilities. All bedrooms and bathrooms are now modern, light and airy and other issues such as heating, cuisine and staffing have all been addressed since the re-launch.

The function rooms have been re-furbished, as has the Leisure Suite and this coupled with the hotels premier location and views of Weymouth Bay should prove a winning combination.

Please take the time to peruse our new Website, obviously we cannot alter your previous opinion of your stay, but we would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Riviera Hotel some time in the future, so you may see for yourself the transformation of this iconic South Coast Hotel.

Kind Regards

Tony Wilson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Oh my god, where do you start...............! As soon as we arrived and went into main reception we were greeted by a less than helpful/friendly staff member. When we returned later to check in, went into our rooms, they were small, smelly, and mouldy and had peeling paintwork - we were in the supposedly modernised rooms!!! The smell was so bad we had to go and buy some air freshener - we went through two tins in 3 days!!! The staffs were rude, the food was disgusting, and when we went out for the day we dreaded coming back!! We had no hot water for 2 days and were not offered alternative rooms with hot water until we insisted and then we were only given the key to have a shower!
I locked my key in my room and went to main reception and without asking me so much as who I was or taking any details from me to confirm my identity I was given the skeleton key - they didn't even check it was my room - I could have been anyone!!!
Didn’t complain whilst there as know the staff could not have cared less and would have done nothing to resolve the issues.
Avoid at all costs, the only thing that was nice was the view – will return to Weymouth but never ever to the Rivera!!!
Do not be fooled by the website - it's nothing like it in the flesh!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gromit2833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

The Riviera Hotel is under completely new ownership since November 2009 and after being re-furbished to a high standard was re-launched in April 2012. Altthough with the hotels grade !! listed status certain aspects of the original building could not be addressed - such as - double glazing, front door, archways covered in and rear rooms could not be joined to the main building - the rest of the hotel has enjoyed huge changes including the original 120 rooms now reduced to 98 thus allowing better and larger en-suite facilities. All bedrooms and bathrooms are now modern, light and airy and other issues such as heating, cuisine and staffing have all been addressed since the re-launch.

The function rooms have been re-furbished, as has the Leisure Suite and this coupled with the hotels premier location and views of Weymouth Bay should prove a winning combination.

Please take the time to peruse our new Website, obviously we cannot alter your previous opinion of your stay, but we would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Riviera Hotel some time in the future, so you may see for yourself the transformation of this iconic South Coast Hotel.

Kind Regards

Tony Wilson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Booked last minute 9.30 a.m. for that night, only hotel with accomodation left everyone seemed to be booked up, now i know why this was available. Room was like a hostal, room so small, we paid £80 for the night it was worth £20. If i had not have been desperate i would have left. Told breakfast was 8.30 a.m. on arrival ( 2 sittings) so no chance of a lie in! Queued up outside dining room which has probably not changed since pontins days, you had a number for your table given at book in told to sit at that table, everyone walking around the dining room trying to find the table. We were booked on a table for 8 people and there were 9 given the table number so i was moved to another.You have to have a sense of humour to stay here it was like faulty towers on a good day i could go on and on. Best thing about hotel the view, long way from weymouth centre!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
4  Thank mwareing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

The Riviera Hotel is under completely new ownership since November 2009 and after being re-furbished to a high standard was re-launched in April 2012. Altthough with the hotels grade !! listed status certain aspects of the original building could not be addressed - such as - double glazing, front door, archways covered in and rear rooms could not be joined to the main building - the rest of the hotel has enjoyed huge changes including the original 120 rooms now reduced to 98 thus allowing better and larger en-suite facilities. All bedrooms and bathrooms are now modern, light and airy and other issues such as heating, cuisine and staffing have all been addressed since the re-launch.

The function rooms have been re-furbished, as has the Leisure Suite and this coupled with the hotels premier location and views of Weymouth Bay should prove a winning combination.

Please take the time to peruse our new Website, obviously we cannot alter your previous opinion of your stay, but we would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Riviera Hotel some time in the future, so you may see for yourself the transformation of this iconic South Coast Hotel.

Kind Regards

Tony Wilson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Off season this is an adults only hotel, which is why we booked it. Our room was adequate but did smell damp (an end room by stairs). The food we had was nice but basic, change of menu might help. A lot of elderly people there, which was fine by us - very friendly - we had a nice time. Location is a bit remote but, like us, if you didn't take your car, there is a bus stop a couple of hundred yards outside that will take you into Weymouth and beyond. Taxi fare to Condor Ferries was £6 and to train station was £5 (by Beeline incl 10% discount from hotel). Spectacular views over Weymouth Bay. There is an indoor and outdoor pool, snooker room, ballroom with bar. Bear in mind this hotel was built in 1937 (Art Deco) and grade 2 listed building - we thought it was lovely. We got a last minute bargain for half board. We would definitely go again but would ask for a different room. Nicola on reception was very nice and helpful, we were offered a room change for a twin bedded room but decided to stay where we were. They MUST do something about their towels!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wellie4Somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

The Riviera Hotel is under completely new ownership since November 2009 and after being re-furbished to a high standard was re-launched in April 2012. Altthough with the hotels grade !! listed status certain aspects of the original building could not be addressed - such as - double glazing, front door, archways covered in and rear rooms could not be joined to the main building - the rest of the hotel has enjoyed huge changes including the original 120 rooms now reduced to 98 thus allowing better and larger en-suite facilities. All bedrooms and bathrooms are now modern, light and airy and other issues such as heating, cuisine and staffing have all been addressed since the re-launch.

The function rooms have been re-furbished, as has the Leisure Suite and this coupled with the hotels premier location and views of Weymouth Bay should prove a winning combination.

Please take the time to peruse our new Website, obviously we cannot alter your previous opinion of your stay, but we would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Riviera Hotel some time in the future, so you may see for yourself the transformation of this iconic South Coast Hotel.

Kind Regards

Tony Wilson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
8.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
283 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#17 of 22 in Weymouth
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
490 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
457 reviews
5.5 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Bowleaze Coveway, Weymouth DT3 6PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: $92 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in an Art Deco style, the majority of our rooms are connected to the main building by covered pathways. All rooms feature free Wi-Fi, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities and a safety deposit box. There is a Leisure Centre equipped with a sauna, steam room, gym and both indoor and outdoor pools. (Outdoor pool seasonal only). Set in Bowleaze Cove the Riviera Hotel is just 2.5 Miles from the town centre. Also nearby are the Sealife Centre as well as Lodmoor nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing