We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Visit”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at the Riviera 2 years ago and decided to return for a 3 night break as we like the area of Weymouth/Poole etc so much.
The room was very modern in décor and furnishing but the bed was very, very creaky ,and had a tendency to make you feel as though you were rolling to the middle ! The shower head is probably in need of a good clean or even replacing as it sprayed in many directions , and if the angle was not corrected it would soak the floor. With the toilet roll being stored on the top of the cistern (no holder on the wall ? ) Our room was number 141, situated in the rear building, and I would say that the whole building is in need of a paint over. Much peeling paint everywhere and just looks scruffy, along with the main building on closer inspection. But it was quiet at night.
Staff at check in and in the restaurant at breakfast were very friendly, but I would have liked to have been served quicker when using the bar every time I wanted a drink.( Staff waiting on tables as well as tending the bar ) .And maybe the fact that a function was being catered for in the upstairs ballroom ?
One small criticism on a personal note...a little entertainment would have been welcome. ie a singer of some sort .
All in all the place has a good atmosphere with helpful and friendly staff and we would stay there again.
ps. The choice at breakfast is excellent. Cereals, toast yogurt, fruit juices , tea and coffee. Eggs, back bacon, mushrooms, baked beans, tomatoes, hash browns and the sausages are the best ones I personally have tasted in a hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room in the front building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANTJANCLEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

Booked the hotel last minute for a day trip to Weymouth. We stayed at this hotel for one night and we paid 108£ for a standard double bed room, including breakfast. At the reception they advised about breakfast hours but nothing else, not even mentioned the facilities available, such as leisure centre. Our room was at the back of the hotel, number 137. Basically was a box room, had a concrete ramp and then a steep set of very rusty metal stairs. Our room was the first one, so everyone walks past by. The room was on the ground floor so you had to keep the curtain close otherwise everyone can see into the room. The noise was dreadful. The room itself was very small; the bed was terrible and very very noisy. The bathroom had a huge spider, only one cup for a double bedroom, the shower really needs some cleaning and if you are a bit tall you are in trouble to have a shower. You can see the photos that I posted of this terrible block of rooms. For breakfast you had only English breakfast not continental. DON’T STAY AT THIS HOTEL!

Room Tip: don't stay at this hotel - see travelers photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank cheila d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Another weekend and another chance to escape to the coast in the sunshine - and when we pulled up at the Riviera in Weymouth I was transported back in time to well before my existence. The hotel externally is unchanged from its original design spanning out in an arc shape overlooking the sea and the main town of Weymouth - the setting,view and appearance of the hotel were in my opinion outstanding. Unfortunately the hotel service and room conditions didn't quite match up with my expectations, in all my group occupied three rooms of the hotel and each of us had complaints to share about the rooms condition, from coffee stained walls and skirtings to broken bedside tables and uncleaned areas.

The rooms were nicely designed and obviously updated relatively recently but it appeared that there were not proper checks in place to monitor the condition and cleanliness of rooms and hence the list of complaints that we all had about them. The restaurant and breakfast facilities however did satisfy, they were totally satisfying in both appearance and quality, the waitresses were very helpful and polite and there were plenty of them to service the relatively busy breakfast crowd without neglection.

All in all we had a nice stay and certainly cannot complain about the location and views from the hotel, the food was good and other facilities thoroughly outstanding (dual swimming pools, gym, sauna, pool room etc.). The rooms however were very disappointing and a better room cleaning service is badly required as well as essential maintenance.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank belty-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

I originally booked this as the weather was great, and the outdoor pool was the main attraction.

Unfortunately when we arrived, the outdoor pool was closed - check in receptionists didn't even mention it which I thought was poor.

We only later found out when we heard another customer loudly complaining (to no avail) about it.

The indoor facilities were nice, very small sauna and steam room and readably sized pool with jets.

Room was small but clean and nicely decorated.

For weymouth it's a good base especially if you are driving as they have a large carpark which is free.

Outdoor pool being closed was a massive disappointment and I, along with other guests felt a bit cheated especially when given no explanation by staff

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Don't know where to start. The photos look really great on their website how ever on arrival the hotel looks really dated and in desperate need of modernising . The room we stayed in was just a basic double but on arrival the toilet hadn't been flushed from whom ever stayed before ( not very welcoming ) The kettle was disgusting and the shower sprayed water everywhere except on my head. The evening meal wasn't much better. After a reasonable wait we had to ask on three separate occasions for items of our meal to be brought to the table. My wife's meal was no better than a regular pub meal just edible. The breakfast wasn't any better and we ended up leaving most of the cooked food. Would I stay there again.?? No I wouldnt

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank nick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Looked great on the internet but in reality, poor, very poor. The sea views aren't seaviews if your in one part of the hotel, even though they say all rooms on the front are classed as sea views. The only way to see the sea is to poke your head out into the public outside balcony and look to your left. If you look in front of you, through the heavy mesh curtain you see a grass bank! Only access to your BOX ROOM is via the outside balcony that everybody walks past and this is the side the ONLY WINDOW is on. The SMALL WINDOW has to have a mesh curtain on it as everybody can see into your BOX ROOM. This makes it very DARK AND DINGY. The ensuite is EVEN DARKER with no natural light. The exterior could do with a massive makeover and smarten up. DIDNT EVEN STAY A NIGHT, BOOKED IN AND AFTER SEEING WHAT WE HAD FOR QUITE A LOT OF KOHEY, GOT A FULL REFUND. AVOID THIS PLACE.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank John I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Having spent 4 days there was quite an insight to this Hotel.
The staff are all absolutely fantastic,they will go the extra mile to help you, nothing is a problem for them.
Now my daughter and i have specific dietary needs, yet again no problem for the kitchen staff,even had the chefs come to our table to discuss any issues we have, fantastic service.
House keeping, yet again nothing was a problem a friendly bunch to say the least.
So overall the hotel staff do a fantastic job.
Now here lies the problem, there seems to be a 40ft bubble around the reception area,after this the hotel starts to look neglected,missing or blown lights, some of the corridors need repainting,even the room is stayed in could of done with a lick of paint,especially above the heater to cover the black smudges, broken glass doors up-stairs by the riviera suite,the doors seem to have paint flaking of them, the outdoor walkway to our room,was covered in spider webs full of dead flies,some of the internal walls need re-plastering, local children sneaking into the indoor swimming pool via an unlocked door which i believe cannot be seen by the lifeguards cctv camera.
As for the heated pool(s) the outside pool use to be heated but the heating unit is broken and has not yet been repaired.
Another gripe is the hotels room photos,even a member of staff said the were a bit misleading,they do appear to be bigger than they actually are, but saying that most hotels employ Hotel Photographers to "enhance " the looks of the property.
The cost of the Double room i stayed in was £119.00 per night,yes there is a sea view from the window but it is a better view if you open the door and go and stand on the walkway outside your room.
While i'm thinking about rooms, just one hyphenated word comes to mind air-con,if you do decide to stay at this hotel bring your own fan.
So overall a average hotel,with great staff, just needs some more money invested into it to bring it up to standard

Room Tip: 1st floor, front. on the right of reception give the best sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
20 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
677 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Bowleaze Coveway, Weymouth DT3 6PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: $75 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in an Art Deco style, the majority of our rooms are connected to the main building by covered pathways. All rooms feature free Wi-Fi, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities and a safety deposit box. There is a Leisure Centre equipped with a sauna, steam room, gym and both indoor and outdoor pools. (Outdoor pool seasonal only). Set in Bowleaze Cove the Riviera Hotel is just 2.5 Miles from the town centre. Also nearby are the Sealife Centre as well as Lodmoor nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing