We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,194)
Filter reviews
1,194 results
Traveler rating
135
277
292
188
302
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
277
292
188
302
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
763 - 768 of 1,194 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The hotel looks great from a distance, but up close, the exterior paint is peeling and the grounds need some attention. The reception and restaurant look much better, but service was of inconsistent quality. Some staff are really good, others make you feel as if you're trespassing on their territory. The managers looked particularly miserable. Restaurant was ill-organised, waitresses doing their best, but with printed menus inaccurate and poor information from the kitchens, dinner was a bit frustrating. Breakfast is very good though, as is the wi-fi. Best rooms are in the annex; no sea view and an unattractive walk between buildings, but large comfortable rooms which are nice and quiet. AVOID ROOM 251, which overlooks the service yard and noisy kitchen extractor fans.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would visit again, mainly out of curiosity!

Room Tip: Rooms 240-245 are in the (visually unappealing) annex, but internally are good quality and very peaceful.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riviera_team, General Manager at The Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

thank you for your review, we are glad you took the time to provide us with both positive and negative feedback. we are a grade 2 listed building, so although the main interior of the hotel has been fully refurbished, we are unable to give attention to certain areas of the outside grounds. we are aware of the attention it needs and are in plans to get this some attention.

i can ensure the feedback you have provided about your experience of our services, such as the restaurant, have been acknowledged by our management team and will be used to improve our quality of service where we see fit.

we are glad to have received your feedback,

Kind Regards,
Carol Rooke, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Looked good on website but very run down , room tiny , open wardrobe door and get trapped in bed ! no where to put your towels , lit up like a Christmas tree outside which meant the room was never dark and restful, constant humming from a ? generator 24/7 .
No seats on the 'so called ' patio, which was actually a walkway. It had the feeling of a Motel but was not reflected in the price we paid £89 BB. Room not serviced on 2 consecutive days , we stayed 3 nights, did speak to the owner who refunded 1 night's tariff.
Outside areas need a good lawnmower , outside pool out of action in June !!
On the plus side breakfast not bad very pleasant waitress.
Sorry but would not recommend this place to anyone. Which upset me as I had booked it for my husband's 70th birthday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandygavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

June 2014 - we have just spent a night in beautiful Weymouth. What a lovely spot. Drove there from a 30 hour flight - yes a long way from Australia. But it was an easy drive and the location well worth it.
The Good - Seeing the hotel from a Distance, it looks majestic. As previous reviewers have said, sensational location, a little far out from the "all happening Weymouth city centre but you would be unlucky not to have a beach and sea view. The design is a surprising 77 years old plus as the hotel was built in 1937. The room we had was refurbished, you might say after that length of time it should be. The hotel staff, very accommodating - also as previous reviewers have said. Room was clean, but could do with a little more effort.
The Bad - needs a lot of TLC. The landscaping needs attention, what there is of it. Some real effort and it could make a difference. The pool area is well below average, as is the pool, irrespective of coming off a spring season. We decided to walk around the parameter of the hotel to take in the ambience. At the back of the hotel on the patio backing onto the function rooms were broken bottles and glasses, dirty plates so parents beware of your little ones if they go exploring. In the function rooms were used coffee cups and plates. Bad impression, and a safety issue - easy to fix. If you have heavy luggage, as we did, getting into the small room, was a challenge as the door wouldn't open much past the bed so the luggage had to be lifted across the bed onto the other side. Bad design, could be fixed with re-designing the furniture location in the room. If you were creative, may be better ways of getting luggage into the room. No parking allowed outside the reception area so down the hill you go. Back up the hill with your heavy luggage and the stairs to the reception unless you have a disability, which is around the side of the reception - so that makes it easier.
Overall, advice to the hotel, start paying attention to detail, TLC, spend some wise money on your investment, or people will choose a number of other options and the Riviera will become a white elephant.

Room Tip: First floor - higher room numbers for better view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yannaki2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

House keeping is bad. Hotel needs painting and patching up. Nothing to do. The hotel is lit up at night to look good and that also lights up your room if you have the sea view side of the hotel. If there is a party in the function room forget any sleep. The food is ok but not worth the money. Breakfast is worth the money, full English. This hotel could be brilliant is some money was spent on it and some thought went into improving the evenings.

Room Tip: Get a room as far as possible from reception, sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tadeusz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed for a few nights here end of June weather was not brilliant but this hotel is situated in a lovely spot with a gorgeous view of Weymouth beach. outside could do with lick of paint but inside was very clean. Rooms very clean comfy big beds. Staff very pleasant and helpful. This hotel is old if people want to get service from the Hilton then pay their prices and go stay there. The food was good hot and plenty. Indoor pool to use if weather not good and you have little ones to entertain.Good Value for Money! Would go back again. Alot of money has been spent refurbishing the inside of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea View
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swindon2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riviera_team, General Manager at The Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. we hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,
Carol Rooke, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews