We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People just love to moan!”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Riviera Hotel over New Year, the Hotel was very clean, staff very friendly, prices very reasonable.
I attended the New Year Party and found that I got real value for my money!
What some people expect is beyond me! If you were that unhappy on day 1 then why stay for another 2 days ?
I had a very minor problem and it was dealt with straight away and very professionally.
Stop moaning and enjoy.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chadbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
There are newer reviews for Riviera Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

749 - 755 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

booked over the new year for four days informed that a casino evening was organised and there would be food served firstly canapes followed by a hot buffet what a disaster queuing for food for at least 30 minutes on each occasion. The casino was two tables to accommodate approx 100 guests again queueing the tickets were priced at £50 per person attending for an evening of disaster
The bedrooms were small and functional although they could do with new mattress, the shower would only work if nobody else was showering in another room or flushing the toilet bad smell coming from drains in bathroom.
House keeping staff need a lesson on how to be more customer focused they arrived at 1730 to ask if anything was needed bed not made room not tided that was day 1 day 2 1730 housekeeping arrived again made the bed with the same linen day 3 housekeeping arrived at 1630 as we were fed up with the service i stripped the bed to ensure that it would be made the staff were not happy with this as they only arrived to make up the bed. Toilet roll/clean towels had to be asked for and had to wait 4 hours to use the only iron in the hotel bins were not emptied this was done by myself.
On a plus side the view out to sea was nice

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIZMAR1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Eight of us, family get together, half the menu was off, what we did have we all agreed the food was shocking. Please Riviera hire a proper chef,and please paint and rehang the door on the crocks cupboard it looks so shaby.Nice location but never again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Multi million pound make over???? Where? It's shabby from the front and a bigger disgrace at the rear. The rooms have been decorated to some extent and reception is pleasant. As for the staff well no manners and unhelpful and scruffy. Sara was pleasant and had local knowledge.Nice location but never again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank stevie1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked a 2 night stay in a twin room. As we arrived at the hotel there were a couple booking their summer holiday with the guy at front desk but whilst they were deliberating over which dates he could have checked us in, we were completely ignored for at least 15 minutes. Room was small, decoration was ok inside. just a few things that let it down, very squeaky bed (woken up many times just from turning over), tiny shower cubicle and the fact the room opens up onto the sea front, no corridor so it's quite noisy if you get a bit of wind! Windows didn't get done in the refurb by the looks of it and are painted shut which leads to one of the big issues with this hotel its the outside decor, it's shocking! Like being on a 1970s butlins holiday, tired and shabby. The staff don't really seem interested at all, guys sat at reception in big coats and trainers with no personality at all!! Guys if you're in a customer service role yet have no social skills then please quit for the sanity of the public!! It's just so unprofessional. It didn't seem like there was anyone with authority about, they just stood around chatting most of the time. Tables in the restaurant went uncleared until I made a point of asking after there was no room left on our groups table due to dirty glasses! To summarise, they've tried to do this place up but either ran out of money or gave up. Customer service is shocking and staff could do with a lot of training. I was looking for a cheap clean hotel for 2 nights. It did that but the bad staff and other issues made it a no return for me so if I had the choice I wouldn't stay here again!

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Busby1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Beautiful Art Deco style edifice with very well appointed and comfortable rooms. The hotel is also in a great location, provided of course, that the weather behaves itself. The breakfast was buffet style which meant you could have as much or as little you want. We'd definitely both recommend and would certainly stay there again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Redmic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

we booked a 1 night stay as a last minute break on 22nd december 2013 the room was nice.clean bathroom nice,breakfast was nice the view of the sea was good i would stay again the cost was 50 pound the building is a art deco style 1930 old pontins with a modern interior.we didnt try the pool as it closed at 7 oclock and didnt open till 8 in the mornning but it looked good.

Room Tip: get a sea view
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
8.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
281 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
487 reviews
5.5 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
655 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Bowleaze Coveway, Weymouth DT3 6PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: $107 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in an Art Deco style, the majority of our rooms are connected to the main building by covered pathways. All rooms feature free Wi-Fi, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities and a safety deposit box. There is a Leisure Centre equipped with a sauna, steam room, gym and both indoor and outdoor pools. (Outdoor pool seasonal only). Set in Bowleaze Cove the Riviera Hotel is just 2.5 Miles from the town centre. Also nearby are the Sealife Centre as well as Lodmoor nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing