We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved staff training would have got an 'Excellent' review”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed May 29, 2013

A two night break this past weekend (26/27 May) was thoroughly enjoyable in this well-modernised hotel. Refurbished around a year ago, the building has a Greek look and feel about it, especially in the strong sunshine we were lucky enough to have enjoyed. The outdoor pool was superb, as was the indoor one.

The core restaurant staff were excellent and worked long hard hours however the waiting staff we felt suffered from insufficient training in attention to their customers. Some reception staff too appeared to be inexperienced, though always helpful.

The evening meals were of excellent quality though the portions were too large for our appetites!

Breakfast was bedlam on the Bank Holiday Monday but a little more ordered on the Tuesday morning. We felt the lay-out of the servery left much to be desired, having no direct access to the kitchen, so whenever servery items ran out, which was frequently, the kitchen staff had to bring replacement food through the restaurant and through the waiting queues.

A big plus was the decor and cleanliness of the bedrooms, with beautiful bathrooms and huge comfortable beds. All well-appointed with everything you could need including a small fridge and plentiful electricity outlets.

I guess it was early in the season and the temporary staff will improve with practice, but these aspects should really be sorted before the season begins.

We would recommend this hotel for couples and families - it's never going to be peaceful when full but overall, a very clean and pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

914 - 920 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for two nights this week end. On arriving to book in the first thing that was said to me was the house keeping have not turned up and our rooms would be delayed, I mentioned I had read that on trip advisor and was informed don't believe all that you have read. As it was our room was ready, query why would you potentially upset a customer in your first sentence.

The rooms although small are decorated to a high standard, we choose rooms at the back which have a bath rather than a sea view. Kettle, tea/coffee selection, fridge, good storage space in wardrobe and hangers. Large flat screen TV and nice large bath towels. Missing no hairdryer or toilet roll holder.

The front of the hotel is nice, but going out the back it looks onto rough land, loads of wild rabbits, but a bit neglected. Both swimming pools clean, we only used the Spa and Pool, very good.

Had lunch and ordered a San Miguel, another drink and two rounds of sandwiches. One sandwich was chedder and red leicester, with caramalised chutley and watercress served on farmhouse bread (plastic bread), it arrived as standard chedder with slices of red onion in, on querying as I was not told it was not what I ordered I was informed the chutney was not available, nothing about the red leicester. A very average sandwich. it also states that it comes with sweet potato fries, apparently they do not do them any longer but menus have not be changed.

We had a drink at the bar in the evening before going out, the barman never acknowledged us at all, he was serving a table with coffees, but no hello, I will be with you in a moment. We ordered another San Miguel and he said they had not had any for a coupke of days, what was served at lunchtime, we still do not know. He did proceed to check on the till to see what was supplied, in the ends I asked can we have our drinks first, about a fifteen minute wait.

Final moan, checking out is 11.00am, at 8.59am a knock on the door come to clean our room. Advising reception when we did check out, apparently a new member of staff, and they have not been able to contact house keeping today to advise who had checked out!

Overall a good hotel, which could be great if the staff were more customer aware, as its the begining of the season what will they be like at the end. It appears as if no one is in charge and staff are not motivated into great customer service.

Would stay again, but mainly for the rooms and spa.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 778JuliaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

After walking 20 miles around Weymouth and the coastal path getting to the hotel from the Pie and Ale pub was a nice relief. The hotel looks miles away (about a 30 minute stroll) but it's away from the main road and noise of people which is good.

Despite out initial concerns at being put out the back of the hotel the room was actually very good and quiet. We had a great bed which makes a massive difference to your stay as it was a super king and quite firm which was great for a tired body. Breakfast the next day was ok, nothing amazing but for a fiver you can't complain. The spa was very small and the pool was luke warm. Didn't stay there for long before we left and headed back to town.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view you need to ask for one when booking, otherwise the rear of the hotel which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

You can really see that the new owners have invested heavily in turning the former holiday camp site into a new modern hotel.
The restaurant for breakfast (only meal we ate here) was modern as were the fixtures and fittings in the bedroom.
First impressions are key in hotels (especially when the room rate is £120 per night) and the check in was really not good. There was a queue of people (several of which were disgruntled as their rooms were not ready) Ours fortunately was ready but it made for a tense atmosphere in reception - especially as it was gone 4pm!
The girl on reception was very professional but was fighting what seemed a losing battle. She had a male colleague with her also on the desk, however he was not in the slightest bit helpful to her and carried on with his paperwork despite there being a queue of people to deal with. When a couple in front of us enquired about booking their wedding at the hotel, she asked him to help and he just said that there wasn't anyone available to show them around..... Customer service needs a real overhaul.
As I say, none of this affected us but it didn't bode well for good first impressions!
Fortunately, our room was ready and the fixtures were nice and modern. However I was pleased that we visited on a dry and warm day as the gap between the door frame and door suggested that a night stay when it was windy would not be pleasant!
Room quite small for £120 with no bath.
Breakfast was 'OK' but I wouldn't rave about it - the sausages were very overdone and the bacon ranged from OK to some very dodgy greyish looking rashers!
Location was lovely but the hotel would really benefit from a bar with a sea view to make the most of its glorious location - the nearest we found was at the fun fair!
We got a taxi into Weymouth for our evening meal - Weymouth is lovely but a like most seaside resorts - some nice areas mixed in with the typical hen and stag parties.
Overall, I thought the hotel was 'fine' but nothing more than that - which for the price tag was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MemberSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Booked a nice stay at the Riviera Hotel in Weymouth, Dorset. Had a great couple of days stay, friendly helpful staff, prices for room and bar where very good and very nice food. location is also great, awesome for a holiday. i would book again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rouazeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

good hotel great location next to sea, great breakfasts served to table except Saturday nice restaurant , great shower fridge in room great idea good sized telly in room nice towels bed was too low for us staff helpfull in lifting barrier to allow access our distant room by car

Room Tip: very long hotel our room 128 was miles away from reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank graham1461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Very nice rooms especially the room nearest the sea. Did not use spa and pool so unable to comment on that. Lots of parking close by and good location to walk from.Breakfast was average.
Would imagine would be good place for families as close to the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
20 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
677 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Bowleaze Coveway, Weymouth DT3 6PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: $76 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in an Art Deco style, the majority of our rooms are connected to the main building by covered pathways. All rooms feature free Wi-Fi, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities and a safety deposit box. There is a Leisure Centre equipped with a sauna, steam room, gym and both indoor and outdoor pools. (Outdoor pool seasonal only). Set in Bowleaze Cove the Riviera Hotel is just 2.5 Miles from the town centre. Also nearby are the Sealife Centre as well as Lodmoor nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing