We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location shame about the staff”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
weymouth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely location shame about the staff”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Hotel has had a lovely refit and has only been open for a few months, Although the rooms are not that large they are more than sutiable. The swimming pool and lesure facilities are very nice.
The down side for me was the staffing issue, or lack of! The staff moral is very low and I spoke to a few who are worried about their jobs as they seem to be hiring and firing on a whim! I witnessed many complaints from guests due to rooms not being ready to general poor service.
I myself had to wait a long time to be serviced in the resturant and although the food was of good quality the overall experiance has really put me off staying again.
In my experiance if staff are happy in their job then they do a much better job maybe the management should think about this.
Im sorry to say that there is a black cloud over this hotel and I for one will not be staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vempyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Vampire,

Please contact me with the dates you actually stayed at the hotel.
I think some" bad blood" has been taken and that you never stayed with us.

Tony Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    257
    259
    171
    253
See reviews for
188
539
31
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed on business for 4 nights, this hotel is in a stunning location on the coast, fab service from reception, clean modern rooms & bathroom, comfortable bed with plenty of pillows, fridge , tea coffee facility's, and a safe, indoor and outdoor pool, & fitness room, all at a price of £51 per night, I really don't understand why this is a 2 star hotel when I have stayed in worse 5 star hotels x

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, as you have said we are in a prime location close to the main road links in and out of the area, completely refurbished to a high standard and with a young and enthusiastic team now in place - with our free wi-fi, leisure facilities and the launch of a new menu underway - we look forward to welcoming you back to the Riviera in the near future.

Kind Regards

Tony Wilson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

brilliant position for hotel, our room had a fine view of the sea. wrong room given to us when we checked in staff couldnt have been more helpfull. Room was clean and a good size no shower gel in bathroom. Good choice at breakfast....

Room Tip: ask for room near main part of hotel room 221 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachael547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind and positive review in respect of your recent stay at the Riviera Hotel. Having recently been appointed as General Manager in November 2012 and with the new Owners enthusiasm and passion for ensuring that the Riviera Hotel is one of best in the area,
we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Further to your comments regarding room position, we are when able offering guests free upgrades to sea front rooms on a regular basis.

Kind Regards

Tony Wilson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsworth
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there just for the one night but wished it could have been for longer. It's a fantastic building just like the holiday camps of the 1950's, apparently a wealthy Arab bought it and refurbished it for the Olympics. You don't often see classic seaside architecture renovated and looking like new.

I'm really pleased to see a gem of a building restored to its former glory and wish them the very best success in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crandall78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review of your stay last year, I remember seeing both yours and your friends bikes parked at the front of the hotel.They do'nt make them like that anymore, beautiful
machines and suited to the age of the Riviera Hotel. It was built in the late 30's and a former Pontin's Hotel till 1999.
The guest accommodation must have been small ,with limited facillities, as the 120+ rooms are now only 98 to make way for the en suite bath and shower rooms.

The owner has a passion about the building as he with all his properties in London, Paris, Geneva and Jeddah.

I look forward to welcoming you on next visit to Weymouth.

Kind regards
Tony Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed overnight midweek. lovely modern bathroom, although shower could have done with a bit more water pressure. Strange as the water pressure to wash basin very good.

Beds very comfy and heating in room good, small fridge in room a good touch. In room safe also available.

Breakfast was very good and freshly cooked. nice bit about this hotel was they served breakfast from 7 am so if, like us , you having a day out elsewhere, you have plenty of time to eat without rushing around. Very helpful and informative staff.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the sea facing rooms or you will be in the 'block out the back' only 2 store...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Ms Bristol,

Thank you so much for your review of the hotel when here last year.
I'm sorry for not getting back ot you sooner, I am slowly repling to all reviews since I started here in November.
I look forward to welcoming back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards

Tony Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Riviera is a converted pontins/butlins resort looking out over the coast. The rooms aren't massive, but then, who comes to this stunning section of coastline to sit in their bedroom? Rooms are very clean and simply furnished, and the bed is comfortable, perfect for an overnight stay.
In particular there was a member of staff on the bar who was extremely helpful, she asked if we would be eating in the restaurant, as we were staying for only one night we said we would go to town. She recommended a lovely Italian and even rang ahead and booked a table for us, brilliant, and way beyond the call of duty. It's a taxi ride from town if you want a drink, and costs about £6, fixed rate.
Great for a cheap get away, my only quibble was the bright lighting which stays on all night, would be a better nights sleep with black out curtains

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Entrance door & wardrobe door hit bed, very small rooms.Room service kept removing card that operated electric, told at reception this was to save cost.
It is a shame because the staff are really helpfull & the food was good.
No heat in room & fridge that couldnt stay cold not good.
Left one day early.

Room Tip: I think they are the same size, as it used to be a holiday camp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
We are extremely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Riviera, unfortunately due to the hotels listed building status, some of the rooms were not able to be altered in size, this being said there were originally 120 rooms and now there are 98, so we have endeavoured to do our best in this respect. We are no longer removing electric cards from rooms.
Thank you for your kind comments in respect of the Staff and the Cuisine.


I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Tony Wilson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
8.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
273 reviews
5.5 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
445 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#17 of 22 in Weymouth
318 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Property: Riviera Hotel
Address: Bowleaze Coveway, Weymouth DT3 6PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in an Art Deco style, the majority of our rooms are connected to the main building by covered pathways. All rooms feature free Wi-Fi, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities and a safety deposit box. There is a Leisure Centre equipped with a sauna, steam room, gym and both indoor and outdoor pools. (Outdoor pool seasonal only). Set in Bowleaze Cove the Riviera Hotel is just 2.5 Miles from the town centre. Also nearby are the Sealife Centre as well as Lodmoor nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing