We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hi De Hi”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there just for the one night but wished it could have been for longer. It's a fantastic building just like the holiday camps of the 1950's, apparently a wealthy Arab bought it and refurbished it for the Olympics. You don't often see classic seaside architecture renovated and looking like new.

I'm really pleased to see a gem of a building restored to its former glory and wish them the very best success in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crandall78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review of your stay last year, I remember seeing both yours and your friends bikes parked at the front of the hotel.They do'nt make them like that anymore, beautiful
machines and suited to the age of the Riviera Hotel. It was built in the late 30's and a former Pontin's Hotel till 1999.
The guest accommodation must have been small ,with limited facillities, as the 120+ rooms are now only 98 to make way for the en suite bath and shower rooms.

The owner has a passion about the building as he with all his properties in London, Paris, Geneva and Jeddah.

I look forward to welcoming you on next visit to Weymouth.

Kind regards
Tony Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

983 - 989 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed overnight midweek. lovely modern bathroom, although shower could have done with a bit more water pressure. Strange as the water pressure to wash basin very good.

Beds very comfy and heating in room good, small fridge in room a good touch. In room safe also available.

Breakfast was very good and freshly cooked. nice bit about this hotel was they served breakfast from 7 am so if, like us , you having a day out elsewhere, you have plenty of time to eat without rushing around. Very helpful and informative staff.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the sea facing rooms or you will be in the 'block out the back' only 2 store...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Ms Bristol,

Thank you so much for your review of the hotel when here last year.
I'm sorry for not getting back ot you sooner, I am slowly repling to all reviews since I started here in November.
I look forward to welcoming back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards

Tony Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Riviera is a converted pontins/butlins resort looking out over the coast. The rooms aren't massive, but then, who comes to this stunning section of coastline to sit in their bedroom? Rooms are very clean and simply furnished, and the bed is comfortable, perfect for an overnight stay.
In particular there was a member of staff on the bar who was extremely helpful, she asked if we would be eating in the restaurant, as we were staying for only one night we said we would go to town. She recommended a lovely Italian and even rang ahead and booked a table for us, brilliant, and way beyond the call of duty. It's a taxi ride from town if you want a drink, and costs about £6, fixed rate.
Great for a cheap get away, my only quibble was the bright lighting which stays on all night, would be a better nights sleep with black out curtains

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OxfordTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Entrance door & wardrobe door hit bed, very small rooms.Room service kept removing card that operated electric, told at reception this was to save cost.
It is a shame because the staff are really helpfull & the food was good.
No heat in room & fridge that couldnt stay cold not good.
Left one day early.

Room Tip: I think they are the same size, as it used to be a holiday camp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

We are extremely sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Riviera, unfortunately due to the hotels listed building status, some of the rooms were not able to be altered in size, this being said there were originally 120 rooms and now there are 98, so we have endeavoured to do our best in this respect. We are no longer removing electric cards from rooms.
Thank you for your kind comments in respect of the Staff and the Cuisine.


I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Tony Wilson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Booked on line for one night stay 2 rooms 4 adults. Very good first impression very nice young man behind reception very helpful rooms were modern clean and warm,
We had a few drinks in the bar before going into town nice area drinks were not overpriced compared to the town even cheaper than some places.
Our only complaint was the fridge smelt in our room not a big problem as we only stayed one night but would not of been happy if it was any longer.
Would we stay again?
Yes
Good staff
Nice rooms
Book on line and save some money then its worth it

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickboot71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed one night 28th October. Thankfully it wasn't any longer. We were looking forward to our stay as we had read of the big refit. We were given a room at the back of the hotel, the room was not ready not been cleaned and this was 4pm. It was a long way from the reception and also outside. So when we returned to reception we asked for a room in the main hotel. We were given a room on the second floor above the restaurant at least we will be warm, wrong! The key card would not work so another trip to reception. Main light in the room not working, so had to use bedside lights. Got stuck in the bathroom, door handle old and would not open the door, hubby had to let me out. Then we thought how cold the room was after we had returned from our swim. The windows did not close properly and one was letting in the wind which was particularly bad that night. It was too late to move rooms again so we left the heater on all night to keep warm.
That said the staff were very pleasant, the room was clean but small and the breakfast was OK.
They did give us a free drink and 10% off th bill for the hassle. I think we were unlucky, however it would have been a long and cold way back to the room along the corridor after a swim, not ideal. The pool closes at 6pm which we thought was a bit early. After moving rooms and key problems it was 5.30 by the time we got to the pool.
Would I stay again no afraid not. Have stayed in better. Glad we didn't pay the full room rate, got a deal on the intenet.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammy186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

we stayed in room 207 over the weekend of 26th-28th of October. Room 207 is situated on the second floor on the left of the hotel as you look at it. This was a small double room. It was very clean and tidy, with a good size bathroom including shower. The rooms have large flat screen TV's tea and coffee in the room and hairdryers. The beds are large and comfortable, with good heating. our room was quite small but great for the two of us. Others in our party of 17 family members had a mixture of twin and double rooms which were all much larger than ours but equally clean and tidy. These have all been refurbed recently and are to of a good standard. The windows are the old aluminium style but this is a 1930's hotel that was neglected for many years and they have done a great job. There is a indoor and oudoor pool, and a small gym, sauna and steam room availble to use. The only downside of the rooms is that they can let light in but from the floodlights that light up the hotel at night but it is no big deal, freash air and few drinks you will get a good nights sleep !! We hired out the function room for us all and had a set 3 course dinner , which was enjoyed by all and the staff were friendly and helpful even at midnight with a noisy group of us with a few too many drinks on board. The breakfast was well cooked and plentyful, well needed after a big celebration. Overall a very good stay, with a stunning view great for art deco lovers....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorchduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.5 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
506 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
689 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
21 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Bowleaze Coveway, Weymouth DT3 6PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: $87 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in an Art Deco style, the majority of our rooms are connected to the main building by covered pathways. All rooms feature free Wi-Fi, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities and a safety deposit box. There is a Leisure Centre equipped with a sauna, steam room, gym and both indoor and outdoor pools. (Outdoor pool seasonal only). Set in Bowleaze Cove the Riviera Hotel is just 2.5 Miles from the town centre. Also nearby are the Sealife Centre as well as Lodmoor nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing