We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, it's an experience...”
Review of Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riviera Hotel
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed August 10, 2012

They've apparently spent £4million on this rather wonderful Art Deco ex-Pontins building. So either £4million isn't enough, or they've just spent it badly. They've taken a building full of character and ended up with a Crossroads-motel atmosphere. Nasty tacky furniture, soulless decor.
The staff all seemed vaguely annoyed to be interrupted or asked anything. Sloppy standards: it was typical that the bare table next to us at breakfast had a massive bottle of cleaning fluid plonked on it, and there it stayed. Not terrible - but not great either. The whole place smelled faintly of bleach. So it's clean ... but feels rather institutional.
We found the bed comfortable - but I attach a snap to show the 3cm gap you had to squeeze through to get between bed and door, to enter the room.
No shuttle to Weymouth. There's an infrequent bus from down the road, but we got taxi, £7 each way. Too far for most people to want to walk.
We stayed one night for the Olympics because it looked a fun place from the photos. And it was different, that's true! But unless you really want the pools or the free parking, I'd say stay in the centre of Weymouth.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HedleyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Its certainly not awful but I guess "interesting"best sums it up.
The purpose of our visit was purely for the Olympics so I certainly cannot judge the quality of food or facilities but likewise the only reason I stayed here was the Olympics!.
So on the plus side
-free parking and close to the reception
-stunning views and walks
-what few staff we talked to were very friendly
-bathroom nice to look at.
On the downside
-shower nothing more than a dribble
-fridge did not work
-room extremely hot despite not being a really sunny day
-mattress not the most comfortable(but certainly not the worst I've slept on)
-room had strange odour possibly due to non working fridge
and the room still felt like a Pontins room!
We did intend to have a drink in the bar but declined as it was unappealing and no character literally a room with a bar table and chairs- O and a very large TV!

This is not a Hotel I would stay at again HOWEVER it is very clean very friendly and I should imagine great for families or those that want a relaxed hassle free short break .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosiegt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

poor customer service, bins not emptied in room when cleaned. all breakfast items not available for continental breakfast, cooked breakfast small. ordinary guests seemed not important ( as oplympic staff staying ). water pressure very low could not have a proper shower.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosemary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was our 2nd stay here although a bit of a walk to town the hotel itself is really very nice modern and very clean nothing once again was
Too much trouble all the staff are very friendly swimming pools are great beach walks are great would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank terriandkath143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

1950's Pontins camp, and not much has changed! The only upside is that the car park is immediately outside the hotel - everything else is somewhat odd. The worst thing is the cheap tacky furnishings in the rooms - the mattress was truly awful. The breakfast menu promised a buffet of pastries and fruit and porridge, but none of that was available - only a few bowls of cheap cereal and some juice. Cooked breakfast was fine, but everything smacked of penny pinching (the beans were served in the same size bowl as the ketchup i.e. Tiny). All the staff were gossiping about all the problems since the hotel had opened - they were far more concerned with this than with us. Annoyingly the maid knocked on the door at 10:50 to tell me checkout was at 11 (which I knew) and then reception rang me at 10:55 to remind me that checkout was at 11 (which I knew) - no need!! I definitely wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katelouise_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was a great find short break location, arriving just ahead of Olympic start, With amazing views of wonderful countryside and clifftop sea view walks to explore.Our room standard at first glance appeared good, the decor upgrade was visually pleasing, however, the quality of the bath/shower fittings were poor, and soon parts fell off making the shower option more difficult and frustrating. With the heatwave, the greatest disappointment was being without a working fridge for 24hrs, due to no ventilation in the retaining cupboard, and no air conditioning in the room.The hotel sent over 1 free bottle of cold drinking water and called out maintenance, who replaced it eventually with a new fridge, which we had to keep on top of the luggage stand so it would work! A real shame as it could have been otherwise a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fiftys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I didn’t really know what to expect in honest. Some of the reviews on here I think are unfairly damaging and I would urge you to not be put off. It is an amazing little hotel.

It is a fair way in to town but the taxis and bus services are perfectly sufficient to cope. In fact I think given the fact we are in the midst of the Olympics it was a good choice!

On arrival there was a bit of a screw up first room we were given was already occupied, 2nd room was then two single beds and not a double but third time lucky and for the inconvenience the receptionist did knock down the daily rate.

Breakfast was great. Bit of headless chicken syndrome from waiting on staff at times but I think partly to do with being overrun by people working on the Olympics. Good choice of hot food – full breakfast to French toast all freshly cooked it would seem. I can’t comment on the rest of the food as we didn’t eat in the hotel after breakfast.

Leisure facilities were good – indoor and outdoor pool. Gym. Steam room and Sauna.
Rooms were adequate in size for me and my boyfriend. They were nicely decorated and more importantly they were spotless! The bed was really comfy too!

We were lucky to have a room facing the sea – although the sea front rooms aren’t guaranteed!

I would say it is more of a couples hotel rather than a family hotel - there wasn't much in the way of entertainment for children although there were children there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amber E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
8.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
283 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#17 of 22 in Weymouth
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
490 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
457 reviews
5.5 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Bowleaze Coveway, Weymouth DT3 6PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: $90 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in an Art Deco style, the majority of our rooms are connected to the main building by covered pathways. All rooms feature free Wi-Fi, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities and a safety deposit box. There is a Leisure Centre equipped with a sauna, steam room, gym and both indoor and outdoor pools. (Outdoor pool seasonal only). Set in Bowleaze Cove the Riviera Hotel is just 2.5 Miles from the town centre. Also nearby are the Sealife Centre as well as Lodmoor nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing