We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality, friendly helpful hosts”
Review of The Pebbles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pebbles
Ranked #39 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was the second B&B we stayed at in Weymouth over the course of a week in September 2013.

It is located a little back from the seafront in a quiet road. You can get to the esplanade and beach in about five minutes on foot but you have another ten minutes or so along the delightful seafront to get to the main centre of town.

We received a very warm welcome from Paul and were allocated Room 8 at the very top of the building in a dormer extension. The last flights of stairs are quite steep but Paul very kindly offered to carry our very heavy suitcase right to the top for us.

The accomodation is of high quality and was kept immaculately clean throughout our four night stay. The bed was very comfortable.

There is the usual tea/coffee tray but the guest information said that only the milk and sugar are replenished during your stay so we bought a small box of teabags from the nearby Tesco Express. In the event, I think some of the other items actually were replenished.

Breakfast is freshly prepared to order and of good quality. Service was prompt and friendly.

I was initially concerned at the parking arrangements at the back of the property, there are two rows of three spaces but the back row blocks-in all the cars at front. There is a clearly a risk that you could be blocked in by another guest that has gone off on foot into town leaving you unable to use your vehicle. In the event it did not turn out to be a problem at all and in some ways is a positive thing since you are forced to get to know the other guests and so liase together over breakfast. Everyone seemed to appreciate the potential for conflict and was very cooperative. In fairness it should be pointed out that free parking space in Weymouth is very scarce and every guest house/small hotel in that part of Weymouth seemed to be operating a similar system. In some, the cars are three deep.

Staying away from home always involves some compromise. I have never stayed anywhere where everything was totally perfect. We did have some minor niggles, I am not sure if the owners can do anything about them so they should not be taken as complaints but they are the reason I didn't feel able to award an excellent rating.

The walls are quite thin between the rooms in the dormer extension, in a neighbouring room to ours another guest was snoring so loudly at night that it seriously disturbed our sleep for the first night, we bought earplugs and he departed after the second night. As mentioned in a negative review the watertank behind the wall is also a bit noisy at night, its not too bad, just like the sound of a cistern refilling but it goes on for a long time, presumably after everyone has used water before bed. I didn't notice it at all during the day. If it can be insulated any further it might be a good idea.

We did have heavy rain for a short while on our last night and it was very noisy on the dormer roof so my earplugs came out again, my wife wasn't bothered because it only lasted a few minutes.

I want to stress that these are minor niggles, they did not spoil our stay.

In summary, this is a good quality destination that I am happy to recommend but if you are sensitive to sound or have trouble climbing steep stairs, other other reviews suggest you might be better advised to opt for the slightly more expensive rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors seems to be better insulated against sound at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexw340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Owner at The Pebbles, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for you review.
Karen & I are pleased you had a good experience staying at The Pebbles.

Please allow me to elaborate on a few points you raise:

We have never had anybody blocked in to the 2 spaces which are in front of 2 other spaces at the back of the house ever. We make a point of asking those guests at breakfast who are parked in these spaces should they need their cars that day. Guests are more than welcome to park in town and pay up to 80 pence for 20 minutes. All our spaces currently are free to guests.

We would like to manage expectation that we are a family run Victorian house and not a purpose built large Hotel which will give total silence in your room but at a price which is probably less than half that of the hotels.
We do have 2 rooms on the top floor which have flat roofs and should we have a monsoon or hail storm you will hear it albeit heavily muffled bouncing off the roof in your room.

We have also put more sound deadening material in Room 8 to make the header tank as silent as possible. Most guests never hear it normally but should you wish to if you listen very carefully you would have been able to quietly hear water running when it was filling up.
Hopefully we have made that quiet enough too not hear at all now.

The stairs to the top(second) floor in all Victorian houses are mostly all the same in as much as they are typically always narrower and steeper than the first floor stairs as they were only ever intended for the staff to reach their bedrooms back in the early 1900's and the first floor stair are wider and deeper for the owners of the house. Please be aware of this if you book Room 7 or 8 which are both on the second floor. Please do not be under the impression that you will need climbing ropes and crampons! but the second flight of stairs are a little steeper than the first. Our rooms are priced according to size, therefore the more you pay the larger the room will be.

The guest you refer to hearing through the wall, was mature in years and actually quite heavily inebriated we understand, by his own admission at breakfast the following morning and our son could hear him on the other side of the house in the small hours. I challenge any hotel to keep that noise inside any room!.

We hope to see you both soon maybe in Room 1.

All the best
Paul & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 227 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have just returned from our 2nd stay at the Pebbles and will certainly go back if we visit WEymouth next year. The B & B is ideally situated just far enough from the promenade so it is quiet but close enougth to walk to the seafront .. about a 5-6 min walk from the back entrance of the hotel. Paul and Karen were very welcoming, we arrived early and as the rooms were ready Karen gave us the keys to our rooms with no problem. We had rooms 3 and 4 which were on the 1st floor. The rooms are nicely decorated, with comfortable beds and great showers with hot water at all times. The beverage trays were filled up each day and the rooms were very clean. Breakfasts were nicely cooked and tasty and there was plenty of it! kept us going for the day. Karen does all the cooking whilst Paul takes the orders and makes you feel comfortable and generally chats with customers. We stayed in rooms 7 & 8 last year which are just as nice but the stairs are steep up to the 2nd floor. We would definetly recommend this Guest House if you go to Weymouth.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Owner at The Pebbles, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thanks for the review, its kind of you to take the time.
Glad you had a great time here again.

Look forward to seeing you again.

All the best
Paul & Karen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The B&B is a large property which is very well maintained and we have no complaints about the quality of furnishings/soft furnishings. Everything we needed was in the room including towels. We stayed for 7 nights. Breakfast was always freshly prepared to order and even though the B&B was full (9 rooms) we didn't have to wait more than 5 to 10 minutes for our food to arrive. I am a Coeliac and provided my own bread etc but they were happy to prepare that for me. The owners are lovely and very helpful. Paul serves breakfast every day so you don't really get to see his wife, Karen although she was the one who greeted us when we arrived. The location of the B&B is OK, it's not particularly central but is a little off the beaten path. There is a 10-15 minute walk to the beach/centre of promenade. It is close to bus stops and about 10 minutes walk from the train station (roughly £5 in a cab). We stayed in the luxury room which is very nice, the en-suite is a little on the narrow size and I would say if you a larger than average person you may struggle with it a little, but it is very nicely fitted although there isn't a bath. The bed was very comfy and the tea tray full stocked. The room was serviced every day (bed made, cups/glasses washed etc). Very nice service indeed. My only suggestion for the room would be the addition of a small coffee table as there is a small seating area by the bay window. Struggled a bit with the WiFi unless I was sat near the window. All in all a very enjoyable stay. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you can afford it I would definitely go for the Luxury Room, it's a nice size, very comfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Owner at The Pebbles, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for your review.

Very pleased you enjoyed your time here and we will see what we can do about a table.

We have recently completely overhauled our WiFi and now there is excellent quality signal to all rooms on all floors with high speed WiFi.

Hope to see you soon.
Kind regards,
Paul & Karen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My daughter and i stayed here for one night on 7th september, as we had travelled down from Reading and wanted to have a couple of days at the seaside to make it worthwhile, paul was very welcoming and his wife karen was too, they have four adorable dogs my daughter and i were delighted to be able to fuss them, everything was well decorated and very clean, beds very comfy, and the breakfast was well cooked and presented, my only quibble was that although they have a downstairs room and domeone from the dda had come to inspect the place and passed it as acceptable for people in wheelchairs etc, my seren powerchair couldn't get over the threshold on the way in it had to be manually hauled over the threshold by paul, and it was slightly cramped in the room with the powerchair, probably though to be fair someone with a small scooter or larger powerchair could probably get over the threshold and my seren does have a bent bracket at the front so someone with a seren or similar may experience the aame difficulties, also i did mention to paul it may be helpful if they could put a raised toilet seat on the toilet as it is quite low and as i have arthritis in my knees ,ankles and feet i found it very difficult getting on and off the toilet and a drop grab rail would have been useful, as there were only towel rails which i had been told was only fixed to plaster board and a previous guest had used it to pull themselves up and it had come away from the wall, paul did put a perching stool in the shower, which i didn't use as there wasn't any space for me to manoeuvre, just two other things would have been of help too a bed grab rail and a pillow back rest, as i have lung disease i have to sleep virtually upright but luckily the beds had upright large headboards and my daughter gave me her pillow so i was able to get some sleep, it is a lovely b&b but i think maybe not for people with more advanced mobility problems as i have , my daughter is hoping to return there in the near future , but i shall have to find other accomodation more suited to my disabilities, but apart from the disability point of view i still recommend this b&b to those who can use it . And it was a bit pricey for an overnight stay but paul explained they didn't usually do weekly bookings as it wasn't worth it for the hassle and had fitted us in between two weekly bookings as they had that night spare and they had added on a surplus ,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Owner at The Pebbles, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are both pleased you enjoyed your short time here and we were able to make you comfortable.

We look forward to seeing your daughter soon.

Kind regards,
Paul & Karen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed weekend b4 last, gr8 family running it, really nice poached eggs. Handy 4 the beach rail station & all & on a quieter street away from the racket of Lennox St.
Certainly one of my easier trips & one I will happily re visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Owner at The Pebbles, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for your review and so glad you had a great time.
Hope you will be back soon.
Paul & Karen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been to Weymouth now for the last four years and I always stay at the Pebbles. Why? Paul & Karen make you feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. We stayed in room 8 which as always was lovely!!! As for the breakfast.... Excellent for any appetite and plenty of choice. I would highly recommend that if you are looking for quality and a friendly place to stay then try the Pebbles, you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Owner at The Pebbles, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thanks Madge for your review.
Glad you are happy with the service. Look forward to seeing you both again in July.
All the best
Paul & Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in the Luxury Room (room 1), which was a nice size and very nicely decorated. Everything we expected (tea, coffee,hair drier etc) was there. Paul was very welcoming and a nice guy. Breakfasts were tasty and freshly prepared, no complaints there. The guesthouse was about 15mins stroll to the seafront which is what we expected having looked on the map before booking. Car parking was always guaranteed and you just have to do a bit of moving around after breakfast so you don't block people in or get blocked in if you want to use your car that day. We will happily stay again. Thanks for a pleasant stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Oli-K1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pbeukers, Owner at The Pebbles, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for leaving your review and taking the time to do so.

We are glad you enjoyed you stay with us and the great weather while you were here.

We both look forward to seeing you soon.

Paul & Karen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#36 of 166 in Weymouth
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barnes's Rest Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#76 of 166 in Weymouth
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Greenlands Guest House
Greenlands Guest House
#47 of 166 in Weymouth
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#6 of 166 in Weymouth
375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Greenwood Guest House
Greenwood Guest House
#44 of 166 in Weymouth
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pebbles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pebbles

Address: 18 Kirtleton Avenue, Weymouth DT4 7PT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $72 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pebbles 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Silver Award victorian, family run guest accommodation in quiet leafy avenue.We offer a choice of six en-suite rooms, most with double beds, including one twin-bedded room on the ground floor. We have recently refurbished all the ensuite shower rooms to a 'hotel' standard and we pride ourselves on maintaining high standards of housekeeping. Complimentary Wi-Fi in all rooms and guaranteed private off-road parking for all our guests is much appreciated by our regular visitors. The centre of town is only five minutes’ walk, so you can leave your car safely parked and stroll into town.At any time the garden is a peaceful sun trap to enjoy a good book or catch up on work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Pebbles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pebbles Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing