We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of The Cumberland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cumberland
Ranked #8 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed at the Cumberland in August and had a wonderful visit. Mark and Claire were so attentive and made me feel very welcome. The breakfasts were delicious and I was pleased to be in one of the well maintained and comfortable rooms on the top floor so that I could work it off! Weymouth was perfect and the Cumberland is a perfect location! Thank you so much Mark and Claire.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaz_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 266 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

we stayed at the Cumberland 5th/9th august, the service was excellent as were the rooms and the food, would highly recommend to anyone we intend to go back accomadation was spotless cant praise it enough worth every penny 5*

Room Tip: room 5 brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frances b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in August 2013. The hotel is in a great position along the front with amazing sea views. Nothing is too much trouble for Mark and Claire who made us feel very welcome. Our room was clean and comfortable with that wonderful view. Breakfast was excellent. All in all a great place to stay.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 516Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights 13/14 July for the Weymouth Seafood Festival. Upon arrival and until we left, we experienced a warm and friendly service where nothing was too much trouble.
We didn't know what to expect as we struggled to find somewhere, a lot of hotels were already booked up and we would normally would stay in 4/5 star hotels, but were pleasantly surprised. We had breakfast each morning which you could choose from a full English with toast, or cereal and fresh fruit and a choice of Juices, tea or coffee. There was also free bottles of water that you could help yourself to at reception.
Don't expect big rooms, but they are spotlessly clean and we had a great view with a balcony facing the sea

The location is perfect.....

We will definitely be back soon

Thanks so much for a lovely stay Anne & Matt

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieChabs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed from 25-30 July 2013. Our top floor sea view room was quirky but very clean and comfortable, with a great view. Breakfasts were excellent, and our hosts Mark & Claire made us very welcome. They provided chilled bottled water and fresh milk for the rooms which were very useful. A very pleasant stay and a great location. Would definitely recommend the Cumberland.

Room Tip: Sea View is not to be missed on such a wonderful setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loppylegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel was on a sea front, great for those trips to the beach.

The Room was lovely and spacious. Breakfast was lovely, and when my husband asked for tinned tomatoes the owner arranged for these to be available the next day - nothing was to much trouble.

My 3 year old felt comfortable in the hotel and that was the most important thing for us.

Thanks for a great stay :O)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at the Cumberland Hotel last week from Friday to Monday. Myself and my 13 year old Son were upgraded to a Sea View room for no extra cost. The room was slightly smaller that the non Sea View, but still very comfortable, although it was at the top, I got used to the stairs in the end. Lovely to wake up and look out onto the beach. The weather was really lovely which was real bonus. I cannot fault anything about the Cumberland. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners Mark and Claire. The room was very clean and nicely decorated, bed really comfy, shower really good!!! And last but not least, the Breakfast. Wow!! what a service, help your self to cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice. Served with Coffee or Tea, then toast, then best of all the full english breakfast, which I have to say is the tastiest I've had in a long time, and never had to wait more than 5 minutes between each course. Would definitely stay again and already recommended to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaM907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#4 of 166 in Weymouth
379 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#34 of 166 in Weymouth
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Swallows Rest
Swallows Rest
#10 of 166 in Weymouth
255 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Redcliff B&B Guest House
0.3 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 166 in Weymouth
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland

Address: 95 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $89 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cumberland 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Hotel Weymouth
The Cumberland Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing