We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed”
Review of The Cumberland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cumberland
Ranked #9 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night stay in the Cumberland hotel and were a little disappointed after reading such good reviews. We were greeted and shown our room which was on the ground floor (pavement level) and you old almost touch the people walking by therefore not very private. We did pay extra for a sea view room and personally think it was over priced. On the good side the breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillnjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thankyou for your review and sorry to hear you were dissappointed although other guests have been very pleased with this room we have noted your points.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 266 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Cumberland for two nights and could not have hoped for a nicer place. The guest house is immaculate really clean and modern and has everything u need for a place to stay whilst visiting lovely Weymouth. We met Claire and her mother in law who were both lovely and ensure that their guests have a great stay and have all they need. Breakfast was faultless, full English and fresh fruit and cereals. Our room was a sea view room and the view was brilliant. Room was really clean and a decent size with en suite and plenty of room for clothes etc. we would highly recommend this guesthouse and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickiNoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thankyou Nicki for a lovely review and we really enjoyed having you stay, we do hope we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Booking anywhere in the middle of the Olympics is likely to leave you with little choice and an overpriced, sub-standard place that no one else wanted. Not so with the Cumberland.

What a pleaseant surprise to find a comfy, spotless room with all the facilities normally found only in larger hotels.

The staff (owners?) couldn't have been frindlier or more helpful.

A great breakfast rounded off a really enjoyable stay - they deserve to succeed.

We'll be back very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackfeatherBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thankyou for taking the time to write such a lovely review about us we felt after reading this review we were on the right track to succeed and would enjoy meeting and seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

A real home from home experience. Friendly family run small hotel. Comfy beds, very clean with lots of nice little touches like fresh milk always available for tea & coffee in room. Very hearty breakfast with loads of choice.

We stayed in the second floor family room with sea view - well worth it! A double bed and one proper single bed for our daughter (she hates folding beds!)

Room Tip: Go for the sea view rooms - totally amazing way to wake up in the sunshine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thankyou Helen for your review, we were happy you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We visited Weymouth for the Middle weekend of the London 2012 Olympic Games. We had a fantastic time in the town made all the better by this little gem of a B and B. The owners could not have been more helpful and attentive and our room (number 1 at the back) was beautifully cool and private, comfy beds, clean and fresh decor. Great breakfast too. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thankyou for a glowing review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a great hotel right on the seafront, I had the most wonderful seaview from my room, perfect to wake up to. Mark and Claire who have not long opened The Cumberland were fantastic, they both came out and helped us navigate the streets of Weymouth on this Olympic weekend and ensured we could park close by.
Breakfast was delicious, and cheerfully served :o)
The rooms were very clean and tidy and tastefully decorated, as is the dining room. Great little hotel. Highly recommended :)

Room Tip: A little extra for the seaview is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at The Cumberland, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thankyou Haley we do hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just come back from a 2 night stay at the cumberland and I have to say it was great! slippers in the room, chocolates on the pillow, tea & coffee facilities and the owners were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very accommodating. The breakfast was also lovely and so. BIG thumbs up!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doojalons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
4.0 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
677 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#6 of 166 in Weymouth
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#3 of 166 in Weymouth
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fosters Guest House
Fosters Guest House
#2 of 166 in Weymouth
668 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#36 of 166 in Weymouth
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland

Address: 95 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $87 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cumberland 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Hotel Weymouth
The Cumberland Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing