We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of The Cumberland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cumberland
Ranked #10 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Cumberland for two nights and could not have hoped for a nicer place. The guest house is immaculate really clean and modern and has everything u need for a place to stay whilst visiting lovely Weymouth. We met Claire and her mother in law who were both lovely and ensure that their guests have a great stay and have all they need. Breakfast was faultless, full English and fresh fruit and cereals. Our room was a sea view room and the view was brilliant. Room was really clean and a decent size with en suite and plenty of room for clothes etc. we would highly recommend this guesthouse and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickiNoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at The Cumberland, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thankyou Nicki for a lovely review and we really enjoyed having you stay, we do hope we will see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    30
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
60
123
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Shiplake, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Booking anywhere in the middle of the Olympics is likely to leave you with little choice and an overpriced, sub-standard place that no one else wanted. Not so with the Cumberland.

What a pleaseant surprise to find a comfy, spotless room with all the facilities normally found only in larger hotels.

The staff (owners?) couldn't have been frindlier or more helpful.

A great breakfast rounded off a really enjoyable stay - they deserve to succeed.

We'll be back very soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackfeatherBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at The Cumberland, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to write such a lovely review about us we felt after reading this review we were on the right track to succeed and would enjoy meeting and seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2012

A real home from home experience. Friendly family run small hotel. Comfy beds, very clean with lots of nice little touches like fresh milk always available for tea & coffee in room. Very hearty breakfast with loads of choice.

We stayed in the second floor family room with sea view - well worth it! A double bed and one proper single bed for our daughter (she hates folding beds!)

Room Tip: Go for the sea view rooms - totally amazing way to wake up in the sunshine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at The Cumberland, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thankyou Helen for your review, we were happy you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We visited Weymouth for the Middle weekend of the London 2012 Olympic Games. We had a fantastic time in the town made all the better by this little gem of a B and B. The owners could not have been more helpful and attentive and our room (number 1 at the back) was beautifully cool and private, comfy beds, clean and fresh decor. Great breakfast too. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at The Cumberland, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thankyou for a glowing review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a great hotel right on the seafront, I had the most wonderful seaview from my room, perfect to wake up to. Mark and Claire who have not long opened The Cumberland were fantastic, they both came out and helped us navigate the streets of Weymouth on this Olympic weekend and ensured we could park close by.
Breakfast was delicious, and cheerfully served :o)
The rooms were very clean and tidy and tastefully decorated, as is the dining room. Great little hotel. Highly recommended :)

Room Tip: A little extra for the seaview is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at The Cumberland, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thankyou Haley we do hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just come back from a 2 night stay at the cumberland and I have to say it was great! slippers in the room, chocolates on the pillow, tea & coffee facilities and the owners were wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very accommodating. The breakfast was also lovely and so. BIG thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doojalons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton,England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Myself, my wife, and our three children stayed here during the summer half-term. Firstly I would like to thank everyone at the Cumberland for making our stay enjoyable. The location is excellent, with the beach and sea activities just across the road. A five minute walk will take you into the town’s shopping centre where there is plenty of variety for all ages. Restaurants and pubs can be found along the espenade or down the many lovely side-streets, where you will also find more unique boutiques and shops. The b&b offers a wide range of breakfast options from toast, cereals, fresh fruit, juices, and of course the full English, which I found highly agreeable (yum yum). The owners Claire and Mark are welcoming and very helpful, and run a clean, professional business. I definitely recommend the Cumberland. Thanks again. The Terry family.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theTerryfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.0 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#6 of 165 in Weymouth
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#3 of 165 in Weymouth
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
B+B Weymouth
B+B Weymouth
#21 of 165 in Weymouth
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#7 of 165 in Weymouth
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Weymouth Beach B&B
Weymouth Beach B&B
#30 of 165 in Weymouth
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland

Property: The Cumberland
Address: 95 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cumberland 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Hotel Weymouth
The Cumberland Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing