We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old house , Big breakfast , huge off road parking area”
Review of George Hotel

George Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #143 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Quiet area away from the front , nice big breakfast ,sets you up for the day , short walk to the beach ,then its a nice walk along the front to the Town , been here several times , wouldnt stay any where else

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akbedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 47 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is a reasonably priced and very clean B & B (why does the sign outside describe it as both a Hotel and a guest-house?). We had the family room which would have slept four albeit the mattresses were not that comfortable, with a very tiny en suite bathroom (no shampoo and the only soap was from a plastic dispenser). For £65 that wasn't bad.

From looking at the photos I suspect our room hadn't been updated in quite the same way as some of the others had but that should happen in time I guess (there is an interesting explanation of the history of the project in the dining room).

Great location and v quiet. Best bit was the cooked breakfast which was very good.

Room Tip: Have a look at the photos on line first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDJ54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We struggled to find a budget hotel in Weymouth at relatively short notice and were delighted (but a little apprehensive) when we booked at The George. We had no need to worry.

The hotel is clean, accessible, and had some great features. Yes, it is being renovated, but you are getting exceptional value for money and a real family friendly service. We stayed in the family room to the rear which was huge - a double bed, 2 singles and still plenty of room to set up the baby's travel cot. Clean, crisp linen, well furnished and fresh looking. The en suite was shoe box tiny, but serviceable. It would have benefitted from a little shelf for toiletries as there was nowhere but the toilet cistern to stash our toothbrushes!

The breakfast was excellent - perfect sized portions of good quality full english. And they tolerated our whirlwind toddler immensely well.

The highlight of our trip was the aftercare; we left a new picture book behind. The owner called and left a telephone message to see if we'd have a chance to nip back and get it; we didn't and thought no more of it. However, two days later we received it in the post.

Its thoughtfulness like that that will set the George apart and I wish them every success as their business continues to grow. I'll reccomend it with no reservation to all my friends - just bear in mind that they're doing their best in difficult financial circumstances to make a family business work.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiSyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Superb, friendly service in a beautiful Victorian building that requires updating. This mother and son are putting everything into realising the potential of this fantastic building and business that they inherited as a near shell. Very clean and servceable. If you run a miie at a work in progress don't stay here. However if like me you enjoy a quirky independant guesthouse with sincere and hardworking owners, jump at the chance. Look forward to revisiting in 5 years when all the graft and reinvestment has born fruit. Well done and see you again. PS had to leave for work before breakfast but was assured by other residents it was excellemt.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simondbltfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The room was very large and comfortable and the breakfast was good. I consider it good value for money. There was plenty of parking and it is near the seafront. What let this room down was the ensuite that was too small, particularly the shower, although I know this room has not been renovated yet, so perhaps this is something they are going to do anyway in the future. I found the mattress too hard, but I prefer a pocket sprung mattress. Overall a good place to stay which will become better if they renovate the rooms, and expand on the variety of breakfast options like fruit salad, tomatoes, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Just a quick review as we were only there for a night. We stayed in a large family room plenty big enough for parents and teenages although you are all in one room so sleep quality might be poor if someone snores lol. Breckie was fine as you would expect from a B and B in the UK. Nice location on the main road into Weymouth and nice and quiet over night. About 5minswalk to the promanade. Good size car park and the owner was very helpful with a few directions we needed. So thank you for our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul&Kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

a nice walk from the front , lovely old house ,very quiet area , HUGE car park , so no moving car s about to get out , nice breakfast

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akbedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
507 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.5 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#11 of 25 in Weymouth
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
7.1 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: 65 Dorchester Road, Weymouth DT4 7JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $88 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to provide a friendly and comfortable place to stay close to Weymouth's excellent seafront. We are a large 1870 Victorian mansion, located in a quiet area on the main Dorchester Road, approximately 5 minutes walk from the beach and 15 minutes walk from the town. We have 11 bedrooms, a two bedroom self contained apartment and a large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing