We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
569 results
Traveler rating
535
28
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
535
28
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews karen martin guest house parking permit local knowledge lovely hosts mini fridge ensuite room sea front fantastic stay lovely guesthouse home from home local area recommend staying here quiet area breakfast was amazing breakfast choices fruit juice
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 569 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have now stayed here 3 years in a row and plan on coming back for many more years to come as it is like a home from home! Every time we come here we are greeted by Karen and Martin, who are always happy to help us out with ideas on what to do while were here or help us with renting bikes etc.
We usually stay in room 3 which is on the top floor and is very spacious, with an en-suite ( with an amazing rainfall shower) and coffee and tea making facilities, there was a fan available for the hot weather aswell which was a life saver. The room has got plenty of storage for all of your belongings and plenty of hooks to store coats and bags. This room also has a single bed so it can be used as a large double room or a family room if needed.
The location is perfect as its about a 2 minute walk to the beach (literally just across the road). And there is a convenience shop opposite which stays open late so handy if you forget anything. Its about a 10/15 minute stroll to the town center along the promenade.
The breakfast here is amazing, all made freshly to order for you and always a great selection of things to choose from and all needs catered for.
We always stay here out of season as we prefer visiting Weymouth when it's a bit quieter and the kids have gone back to school.
The parking here is free and upon arrival you get a parking permit which allows you to park in the surrounding streets.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank emilyelise21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelstongh, Owner at Kelston Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for such a kind review. We really appreciate you returning to us and taking the time to review your stay again. It is always a pleasure to welcome you both in to our home and thank you for booking direct with us.

We hope to see you next year.
Kind regards,
Karen & Martin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

Our second year staying at Kelston, our second year of feeling right at home (We liked it so much we had booked up again on the day we left last year). Our room was cleaned and refreshed every day, which is great to come back to after a day out walking (sorry you had to clean around all the daft nik naks we kept winning on the 2p machines in Alexandra Gardens!!)
Great for public transport if you don't drive, a bus Stop to Dorchester and destinations further east less than 5 minutes walk away. Railway station about the same distance.
No pressure on us to have breakfast, get ready and get out and about and not come back till the evening, unlike quite a lot of guest houses, if the weather isn't good enough to do anything, Karen and Martin don't mind you staying in your room during the day (Which we had to do on one day in our fortnight).
Great to see returning families, familiar faces, that shows how good the place is when so many return time and again.
Already looking forward to next year

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wanderer239442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelstongh, Owner at Kelston Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was a pleasure to welcome you both again in to our home, it is lovely to have you stay with us. We really appreciate your loyalty and booking direct with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again next year.
Kind regards,
Karen & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

Another year and another stay in the Kelston! The fact that I keep coming back should tell you all you need to know about this guest house. I've been coming to Weymouth on and off for over 20 years and I don't even bother looking for other places now.

So why is this place so great? I love a list, so here goes:

Location. The Kelston is sited in Lennox Street, a stone's throw from the beach and Esplanade, 5 minutes walk from the station, 20 minutes walk from the town centre. It's an ideal place from which to explore the area.

Price. The price is extremely reasonable for the quality.

Welcome: Karen and Martin are very friendly and make you feel at home. They are a fount of useful local knowledge i.e. Karen told me about a cycle hire company I didn't know about but will avail myself of next time.

Cleanliness: The place is immaculate. Immaculate! I use that word precisely. Not a speck of dust or dirt to be seen.

Rooms: The rooms are decorated tastefully and imaginatively, and contain all you could need e.g. a fan for those hot summer nights. The bed and linen are very comfortable indeed. The bathrooms etc are of a very high standard.

Food: Fantastic breakfasts - I always have the full English (sans beans) and the Kelston sausages are fantastic, cooked in a special way (boiled/grilled).

I could go on but you get the point. If you are planning on visiting Weymouth, THIS is the place to stay!

Room tip: Some rooms have separate bathrooms on different floors, check this before you book... if you find stairs difficult, best to check.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NickW2247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelstongh, Owner at Kelston Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2019

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, it was a lovely surprise to wake up to this morning. It is always a pleasure to welcome you in to our home and we are glad that you enjoy your stays with us. We really appreciate you returning to us and booking direct.
We look forward to welcoming you again next year.
Kind regards,
Karen & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights midweek.
Karen was very helpful during our stay. We received a parking permit for the duration of our stay so we could park close to the hotel.
On arrival our rooms were ready and Karen helped us with our stuff up to our rooms.
We had booked 2 rooms and it was nice to have them next to each other.
The rooms were clean and we had everything we needed from tea, coffee facilities and fresh water. There was a mini fridge, hairdryer and fan in the rooms.
The gurst house was quiet and within walking distance from the beach/shops.
At breakfast there was lots to chiose from eg. Full english, fresh fruit, porridge and cereals. Nothing was too much trouble.
The food was cooked to order so was fresh and hot when served.
Five of us stayed and we all had a great time.
Beds were comfy and rooms were freshened every day.
Karen was very helpful as it was mine and my husbands 3rd anniversary so i asked if she could put some chocolates and procecco in the room. This was no trouble and was in the room on arrival.
On departure Karen told us where we could move our vehicle to so we could spend the day at the beach.
Would stay again. Great guest house and a lovely couple who own it.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank mazgoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelstongh, Owner at Kelston Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2019

THank you so much for such a lovely review. It was a pleasure to welcome you all in to our home and we are glad that you had an excellent stay. Thank you for booking direct with us, it is really appreciated.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Karen & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019 via mobile

This Beautiful Family Run Guest House is in walking distance to the promenade
We stayed in Room 1 which was spotless and had that homely feel it has an ensuite the walls have some of Martin's Unique Art Work displayed
Martin cooks a 1st class Breakfast with their produce being locally sourced
Karen & Martin's knowledge of Weymouth and surrounding areas will give you plenty of interesting places to visit
We would highly recommend Kelston Guest House
All ways book direct for fantastic value for money
Have allready booked for next year

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Lynsholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelstongh, Owner at Kelston Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us again. It is always a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Thank you for booking direct we really appreciate it.
We are glad that you had another enjoyable stay.

Kind regards,
Karen & Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews