We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic welcoming guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kelston Guest House
Ranked #3 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic welcoming guest house”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Having just spent a short break at Kelston guest house we would highly recommened it. The rooms are nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. Martin & Karen the hosts are so friendly and make you feel so welcome. If you are coelisc and need gluten free diet this is the place for you. Breakfast was very good and had gluten free cereal, bread and fantastic sausages.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelstonGH, Owner at Kelston Guest House, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, it was lovely to meet you and we are glad that we made your Gluten Free breakfast easy. I hope you have enjoyed your sausages at home. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards Karen & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    27
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
119
221
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Having stayed at the Kelston recently with my 2 1/2 and 8 month old, I cannot recommend it highly enough - particularly if you have young children. The position couldn't be bettered - a 4 minute toddle to the beach but just far enough away from the town to avoid the inevitable noise and hustle and bustle - although it takes only 10 or 15 minutes to walk in to town. Our room was well set up for families and was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The main thing to recommend the Kelston though are its owners, Karen and Martin. They are friendly, but professional and went over and above the normal call of duty on several occasions to help me out - the children were struggling a bit in the heatwave and they scoured Dorset for a fan for me! They also had some really helpful advice about things to do in the local area - Enzo's, the Italian restaurant on the seafront was a particularly good recommendation - and made our stay as hassle-free as possible. Weymouth was as lovely as ever.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are up several flights of stairs - it might be worth asking for a lower floor if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelstonGH, Owner at Kelston Guest House, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review, it was lovely to meet your young family and we hope to welcome you again (with hubby) in the future. Kind regards Karen & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I've stayed at this B&B twice in the last two years & wouldn't go anywhere else, the place is spotless, the food is fantastic & Karen & Martin always make you feel welcome, hoping to book up with them again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyncoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelstonGH, Owner at Kelston Guest House, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, it was lovely to welcome you again to our guest house and we hope to welcome you both many more times in the future. Kind regards Karen & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I visited kelston guest house on Friday for an overnight stay with my partner and 11 month old baby. On arriving I couldn't believe the lovely presentation of the guest house and how thoroughly clean it was. My room was nice and spacious and cool considering weather conditions. The breakfast was fantastic couldn't ask for better and with brilliant service to go with it. I wished I could have stayed more than just one night but I will defiantly be returning in August hopefully. Thanks Karen and Martin made us feel very welcome!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelstonGH, Owner at Kelston Guest House, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. It was lovely to meet you and we hope to welcome you again this summer. Kind regards Karen & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Karen and Martin very friendly and helpful. Lovely Place to stay, My son loved the breakfast. Very Clean, nice comfy beds and bedding! Fridge in bedroom is a great idea! Great location from the beach and town. Cant wait to go again, Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelstonGH, Owner at Kelston Guest House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our guest house, it was a pleasure to welcome you and your son, sorry we didn't have a room for you to stay longer -Next time! We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards Karen & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The owners are welcoming and friendly without being smothering.
Our room was great, clean and spacious, and seemed designed for comfort rather than pure functionality.

Breakfast was the full English breakfast you hope for, and rarely get.

Great location just off the sea front made it a little quieter than others we have stayed at in Weymouth. The parking permit is a definite plus!!

We will certainly be back :-)

Note: this would not be ideal for anyone with mobility problems due to the stairs.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelstonGH, Owner at Kelston Guest House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our guest house, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely to meet you and we hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Weymouth. Kind regards Karen & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Hosts were very welcoming and helpful with any problems or advice for the local services. Excellent service, breakfast was plentiful and very filling. Location was excellent, 2 minutes from the beach. I will definitely recommend to others wanting to stay in Weymouth.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paullittle29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelstonGH, Owner at Kelston Guest House, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our guest house. It was lovely to meet you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards Karen & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.3 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#6 of 165 in Weymouth
356 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cornubia Guest House
The Cornubia Guest House
#1 of 165 in Weymouth
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Fosters Guest House
Fosters Guest House
#2 of 165 in Weymouth
658 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#4 of 165 in Weymouth
590 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#7 of 165 in Weymouth
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelston Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelston Guest House

Property: Kelston Guest House
Address: 1 Lennox Street, Weymouth DT4 7HB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kelston Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelston Guest House is a family run bed and breakfast, in an ideal location, less than 50 metres from Weymouth beach and just a short stroll along a level promonade to the town centre & harbour. Our guest house offers comfortable, modern, clean and quality accommodation. We believe that we offer quality accommodation at an affordable price. Book direct with us for best deals. All rooms have free WIFI access, Freeview TV/DVD player, mini fridge, radio clock alarm, hairdryer, ironing facilities, tea/coffee making facilities. We provide own keys for 24 hour access and free parking permits are availability, subject to availability. We offer family rooms and children are most welcome. Bike storage is available. We are proud of our Full English breakfasts, cooked to order, using mostly local produce where possible. We cater for special diets, vegetarians & Gluten Free. Early breakfasts can be arranged. Weymouth is situated in the heart of the Jurassic Coast, ideal for exploring the area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kelston Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelston Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing