We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kelston Guest House
Ranked #2 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this B&B”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Once again I had the pleasure of staying at this B&B and once again I was very impressed, very high standards and very clean compared to other B&B's that I have stayed in.
I would highly recommend Kelston house to anyone visiting Weymouth. Close to all amenities but out of the way and peaceful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    27
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
113
210
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at Kelston House for three nights in early September. Martin and Karen greeted us and in no time at all we felt like part of the family. The house is conveniently located a short walk from the beachfront and easy walking distance to all the Weymouth attractions. Another plus was easy access to all routes out of town and is an ideal base for day trips to places such as Lyme Regis, Lulworth, Poole and Dorchester. Our room , which had a en-suite, was very comfortable and the more than ample breakfast was varied and prepared to order. Car parking is a problem in Weymouth, but if Karen and Martin know you are arriving by car they can arrange a parking permit. If you are looking for a lovely guest house with welcoming lovely hosts then look no further than Kelston.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNMOUNTAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Kelston for 3 nights when we recently completed the south west coast path. Martin greeted us when we arrived and was friendly and professional. The room had a double and a single bed but was plenty large enough for two, with rucksacks and walking paraphenalia. The decor was not my taste but it was spotlessly clean with comfortable beds.
Breakast was a sumptuous affair and set us up for the day. Karen was charming and efficient and took the trouble to speak to all the guests. She and Martin kindly provided an early breakfast when required.
Kelston is situated in a good position, near the promenade, and a bus stop, so it was ideal.
I recommend Kelston Guest House 100%. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 1 was at the back of the house and was quiet, overlooking a private courtyard with attractive p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brainybow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed for just 1 night but fantastic. Lovely couple, clean spacious room, great location, excellent breakfast. What more could you ask for? Beats what all the big hotels offer at a guest house price, excellent. Fully recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Weymouth.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst on a short walking holiday. There were 4 of us ( 2 couples ) & we had chosen the 2 non en suite rooms as they were the cheapest.
Both rooms were very comfortable-one of them is much larger than the other but they are both imaginatively decorated & very clean. We had exclusive use of a toilet & also a large bathroom that contains a shower, separate bath & a toilet-also very clean & pleasant.
I suppose the only drawback is that they are a couple of short flights of stairs away from the bedrooms but I am not complaining about that as they are cheaper & it was our choice.
Breakfast is served in a large, comfy lounge & is quite simply excellent-fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, toast & beautifully cooked hot food that can cater for carnivores, vegetarians, vegans & those with an aversion to gluten.
The guest House is in a quiet situation only 20 seconds back from the Esplanade.
Karen & Martin, the owners were very friendly & helpful & have decorated the whole place tastefully.
We took advantage of buying a packed lunch to take with us on our walk & I thought it was good value.
We would'nt hesitate to stay here again & thoroughly recommend Kelston.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We found this gem of a guest house purely by coincidence whilst in Weymouth. Karen and Martin are the owners and are lovely people and have a good knowledge of the area. There are 5 rooms, 4 en-suite and 1 non en-suite there is a wc and bathroom for use though. We stayed in Room 5 (non en-suite) then 3, (en-suite). Rooms are spacious and have a mini fridge, hospitality tray, ironing board and iron, plus a hairdryer. In Room 3, the room could sleep up to 5 people. There is also free wi-fi, via a password.

We can certainly recommend the excellent breakfasts and vegetarians, vegans and special diets are well catered for. Karen and Martin also offer a packed lunch if you'd like one.

It is a couple of minutes walk from the sea front and in a slightly quieter part of Weymouth. In Lennox Street, there are also a couple of convenience stores, a fish and chip shop and a launderette. At the time of our stay was the Paralympic 2012 Sailing events at Weymouth and Portland.

We hope to return to Kelston Guest House in the near future. Thank you Karen and Martin for a really lovely stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pjayem1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I booked a twin room just a few days before I stayed here having had no luck finding a room elsewhere in a busy August period and I was pleased with the choice.
It is easy to find and well placed, a couple of minutes walk from the sea front and far enough away from the noisier part of Weymouth. It is quite near the railway station and although parking is limited, I managed to find a space each time and parked using the permit provided.

Karen was very welcoming and I instantly felt that I had known her for years.
The room was a fair size with an on suite shower, toilet and wash basin. Chest of drawers and wardrobe would have been used if we were staying more than a couple of days.
The TV worked well and the lighting was good. Beds were very comfortable.

Apart from an early morning seagull chorus which is to be expected, the room was quiet with only the odd door and floorboard creak from other guests. Breakfast was excellent, everything I could have wanted and more. I would definitely consider staying at the Kelson Guest House again. Peter

Room Tip: Room 1 is opposite the Breakfast room and you get the best table as it is in the bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeetleLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#9 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#3 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelston Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelston Guest House

Property: Kelston Guest House
Address: 1 Lennox Street, Weymouth DT4 7HB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kelston Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelston Guest House is a family run bed and breakfast, in an ideal location, less than 50 metres from Weymouth beach and just a short stroll along a level promonade to the town centre, harbour and Sea Life Centre.Our guest house offers comfortable, modern, clean and quality accommodation. All rooms have free WIFI access, Freeview TV/DVD player, mini fridge, radio clock alarm, hairdryer, ironing facilities, tea/coffee making facilities. Children welcome, family rooms are available. We provide own keys for 24 hour access and free parking permits are availability, subject to availability.We are proud of our Full English breakfasts, cooked to order, using mostly local produce where possible. We cater for special diets, vegetarians, vegans, Gluten Free. Early breakfasts can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Kelston Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelston Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing