We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planned and unplanned visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kelston Guest House
Ranked #4 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Planned and unplanned visit”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband and I found Kelston B&B on Late rooms and what a lucky find. First we were early, no problem for Karen who took us to our room right away. The room itself was lovely! Clean and quiet. We borrowed a DVD downstairs for the first night which was nice. The breakfast was amazing and Karen talked to each of the guests and helped us plan our day with local tips. We then discovered our onward journey had changed slightly and we needed to stay another night. No issue though as I called Martin who sorted us right out! We needed to move rooms but no checking out or in! They made it so easy. Only downside, we need to leave today :(

Room Tip: Don't be put off by the shared bathroom option, it's only between two rooms and the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clareyfaery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    27
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
116
219
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have just returned from a couple of days stay in this Guest house. Upon arrival we were met by Karen who made us feel very welcome, Martin took our luggage and took it to our room. warm friendly place to stay, very good choice for breakfast and fresh fruit, the full english was a big hit for my partner who enjoyed very much. martin and karen had good knowledge of places to visit. truly good people.

Room Tip: Good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have just returned from a weekend away with two of my friends and had to write a review for this Guest House.
Firstly it was a late booking, and we were VERY lucky to get this hotel and Karen and Martin were extremely helpful with the entire booking process, nothing was too much trouble.
We took the train and The Kelston was only five minutes walk from the station and the last thing anyone wants after traveling, is a long slog or an expensive taxi ride!
When we arrived we were greeted by Martin and the checking in process was pretty straightforward and he also explained where the amenities were (which was very helpful). Two minutes from the esplanade and not much further to the town.
The room was VERY clean and attention to detail was a pleasant touch, with choccies on the towel bale (nice clean fluffy towels too), and nice complementaries (shower gel etc).
The bed was VERY comfortable, the bathroom VERY clean and the breakfast was OUTSTANDING!
I really can't rate this place highly enough and would like to personally thank karen and Martin for being such nice people and making our stay a VERY enjoyable one!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jujul0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was my second stay at Kelston guest house I stayed here about a year ago with my 7 year old son and we both loved it. So when my partner and I decided to have a weekend away my first thought was Weymouth and Kelston guest house. Karen and Martin are a lovely couple and extremly welcoming nothing is to much trouble. On arrival Martin carried our bags to our room and Karen talked us through the need to knows. A welcome letter and the chocolates were very nice touches to. The Kelston guest house is within easy walking distance of many of the attractions with the beach being just a 2 minute walk away which was very handy for us as neither of us drive. There are many very good resturants locally I especially recommend the Lodmoor brewery fayre's all you can eat buffet nights. We were also provided with towels, toiletries, hairdryer, wifi, mini fridge, and tea tray the facilities at Kelston guest house are second to none providing everything you could possibly need for your stay. The Kelston guest house itself was immaculate very clean and tidy and the rooms are decorated to a very high standard with the rooms being tidied and facilities topped up daily. The bed was extremely comfortable and we both had a good nights sleep on both nights of our stay. The brekfast was of a very high standard providing both continental and cooked brekfast options all included in the very resonable price of our stay. We will definatly be staying at the Kelston guest house again in the future I can not recommend them highly enough. I strongly recommend that if you are going to Weymouth you make Kelston guest house your accomodation of choice. Thank you Karen and Martin for yet another wonderfull stay xxx

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Thank you for your hospitality and a truly wonderful time in Weymouth. You made our holiday really great - so child friendly and welcoming. Your breakfasts are legendary! This is our first holiday with our 2.5 year old and now we wonder why we waited so long! We stayed for 5 days - your location is spot on - so close to the beach and the train station (if you need to go further than the beach!) but also you are located close to either the deep sand side or the quieter shingle side - and the land train request stop of course!
Your guest house is spotless and our room was lovely - bigger than ours at home! The set up of the dining room too by our room was perfect for evening relaxation whilst not having to worry about our son.
Karen and Martin you are really friendly and professional and we would recommend you and your guest house to everyone - 10 stars!

Room Tip: Our family ensuite room (triple) is perfect for you if you have a child or children. Plenty big enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Thank-you Martin & Karen for a wonderfull stay. The guesthouse was spotless, the breakfast was great, something to suit every taste.The hosts could not have been more helpfull, nothing was to much trouble. Location was great & everything well within comfortable walking distance.We would recommend without hesitation & would be our choice on any further visits to Weymouth.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2012

had a fantastic weekend here. couldnt ask for a nicer couple or friendlier service. the breakfast was all that you could have asked for and more. beautiful room, beautiful people have already booked for next year

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.0 mi away
The Cornubia Guest House
The Cornubia Guest House
#1 of 165 in Weymouth
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#3 of 165 in Weymouth
584 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fosters Guest House
Fosters Guest House
#2 of 165 in Weymouth
654 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#10 of 165 in Weymouth
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelston Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelston Guest House

Property: Kelston Guest House
Address: 1 Lennox Street, Weymouth DT4 7HB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kelston Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kelston Guest House is a family run bed and breakfast, in an ideal location, less than 50 metres from Weymouth beach and just a short stroll along a level promonade to the town centre, harbour and Sea Life Centre.Our guest house offers comfortable, modern, clean and quality accommodation. All rooms have free WIFI access, Freeview TV/DVD player, mini fridge, radio clock alarm, hairdryer, ironing facilities, tea/coffee making facilities. Children welcome, family rooms are available. We provide own keys for 24 hour access and free parking permits are availability, subject to availability.We are proud of our Full English breakfasts, cooked to order, using mostly local produce where possible. We cater for special diets, vegetarians, vegans, Gluten Free. Early breakfasts can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Kelston Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelston Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing