We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience and Service - Not Recommended!”
Review of Cunard Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cunard Guest House
Ranked #4 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2010

I booked this B&B based on the reviews, what a mistake that was! I arrived at 09.30am and placed my case in the room and went on into Weymouth. Due to a major family problem at home I had no alternative but to check out at 13.30pm. I spoke to the proprietor and attempted to explain my unfortunate situation, he was not in the least bit interested! He informed me that he had a business to run, he was most unsympathetic and became quite aggressive and irritated! I offered half payment as a good will gesture but he refused and demanded my card and took full payment! I asked him about his cancellation policy and he informed me he did not have one? I travel on business all over the UK and Europe frequently and this chap is the worst proprietor I have ever encountered! And to top it all the floor had not even been hoovered in the room, he told me that himself! Horrible!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Russ000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samkellyharris, Owner at Cunard Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2010

We were happy for this guest to arrive at 0930 even though our normal check out times are 1030 for previous guests. The prior one in this room had left earlier in the morning therefore we were able to clean and change the room before this gentleman arrived, unfortunately we hadn' quite hoovered due to a time issue, not cleanliness. As soon as we knew the guest had gone back out, the room was of course hoovered. The gentleman had a double room but was actually only charged for single occupancy, therefore already paying half of the room rate. Our cancellation policies are 48 hours notice therefore we did take payment as the room had been occupied for a certain amount of hours and did offer a full refund if at short notice we could re-let the room, which unfortunately we could not. We are sorry to hear that this gentleman was disappointed, this was obviously never our intention but we feel that the situation was handled as appropriately as possible, and anyone knowing myself and my husband Sam would know that he is a very polite and not an aggressive or irritated person at all!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 606 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2010

The rooms were clean, the breakfasts were good, there was on-street parking (with the provided permit) and the location is no more than 10-15 mins walk from anything in Weymouth; but the thing that really stood out about the Cunard was the service. You get the impression that nothing is too much trouble. About the only thing that didn't quite work right was the shower, which struggled to keep temperature and provide enough water. Other than that - perfect. We'll certainly go back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indigoglyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2010

This is by far the best B&B we have stayed in. The owner was extremely helpful. The rooms are spotless, and could not fault them. The breakfast was great too. It has on street parking which you are given a permit. You are just a short walk away from the town centre and the beach. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshire082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at this guest house. Our room with en-suite was very clean and finished to a high standard. The bed was comfortable, the shower had good water pressure (sometimes this is difficult to find in smaller hotels or guesthouses), and overall it was very cosy. Public areas, hallway and dining room were equally well finished, good carpets and a pleasant air. The owner was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and plentiful. There are lessons here that other guest house owners could learn. Whose heart has not sunk when faced with a room, booked over the internet or telephone, which is not as clean as one would hope or with grubby chipped furniture and dubious stains on the carpet? No such problems here. I would not hesitate to recommend this guest house to any one. It was a delightful find. Parking is on the road but we were given a parking permit and the parking was right outside the door.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in this very clean and very well maintained gust house. Sam and Kelly were very obliging and friendly. We had a fantastic break, the guest house is away from the maddening crowds in a very quiet area so very relaxing. Thanks Sam for the wonderful breakfasts, don't think thats the last you will see of us... Cheers

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harveysLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We stayed in a very clean and bright family room. The beds were very comfortable and as I suffer from a disc problem this is very important to me. The owners of this very comfortable guest house could not have been more attentive to us or our two children. I have stayed in 5 star hotels and many guest houses but none gets my vote more than this.
Sam made sure that we had a parking permit as soon as we arrived in town and had the room prepared for as early as he could have. This young couple deserve to go far. In my profession where I need to evalute customer service skills I am pleased to say that the last 5 days have left me without critisism. Thankyou to you both Paula, Pete and boys from Burton on Trent

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertieBurtononTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Spent 2 nights there, booked last minute, took a gamble and it certainly paid off. Certainly was not as the sterotypical idea I had of a seaside BB!-run down, tatty and with dodgy carpet and curtains!

This place was fresh, very clean, modern and breakfast was superb! Very well run and the parking was no problem. It is a stone throw from the sea, no hills to climb, and not near any noisy pubs. Everything is though within walking distance - pubs, restaurants etc.

The couple running it were friendly helpful and had good local knowledge. We will be staying there again when we visit next time and would certainly recommend it to both older and younger friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zara10st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.0 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#3 of 166 in Weymouth
467 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fosters Guest House
Fosters Guest House
#2 of 166 in Weymouth
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Cornubia Guest House
The Cornubia Guest House
#6 of 166 in Weymouth
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Alendale Guest House
The Alendale Guest House
#1 of 166 in Weymouth
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#7 of 166 in Weymouth
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cunard Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cunard Guest House

Address: 45-46 Lennox Street, Weymouth DT4 7HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $71 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just moments from the beautiful sandy beach and award winning coastline, Kelly and Sam Harris welcome you to their friendly family run Guest House located in the heart of Weymouth and just a short walk to the picturesque harbour. All rooms are en-suite and newly renovated to a high standard throughout. Breakfast is included in our prices and parking permits are available on request. Families welcome, special rates apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cunard Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cunard Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing