We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely guest house that is excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Alendale Guest House
Ranked #6 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Devon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely guest house that is excellent value”
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Had a great 3 night break at the Alendale guest house and would gladly return. The hosts Jim and Denise made us feel very welcome, and our room was nice sized and comfortable and exceptionally clean. The initial road noise (we were in the front) was a slight concern as we are not used to noise but by night time the road was quiet and we both slept soundly each night of our stay. Breakfast was 100% superb and the 'full scottish' option is highly recommended by me!!!! The nice small local pub - The Waterloo - just 5 mins walk away was also good - and was used for a nightcap each night of our stay. All in all we had a very nice stay and would very-very happily return to the Alendale.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BazD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    38
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
79
324
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambs, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We've been to Weymouth many times, and have stayed at the Alendale for the past three years for our summer holiday. This year we thought we'd take a long weekend in March and stay with Jim & Denise at the Alendale once again.
As per normal their hospitality is second to none. The rooms are set our really well, and three have just recently been re-furbished to a high standard (memory foam matress on the bed was excellent).
There is a wide range of choice on the breakfast menu, from full english to full scottish and local kippers, porrige etc. Plus fresh yoguarts, fruit and cereals.
The B&B is located approx 100 metres from the beach (walking distance), if you have a room on the front you can see the sea from your room.
They have a great knowledge of the area so can advise on where to eat, places to go and things to see.
Looking forward to going again soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woollyhayles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed at the Alendale for 2 nights and were very happy with our choice of guesthouse. Our room had recently been decorated, was well equipped and spotless throughout. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was modern and immaculate.
Our first night was on Valentines Day and we found 2 homemade heart shaped cakes waiting for us in our room on arrival!
The cooked breakfast was very nice and kept us going until well into the afternoon. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneAndRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Stayed for just one night to attend local function. Staff were most welcolming and accomodating in allowing us in early. Food was first class. Small problem with peeling wallpaper in room but do not let this put you off. One of the best B & B we've used.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rollernig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDHURST
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

My family including 3 boys aged 16, 14, and 10 were due to stay at the Alendale as we were attending a family birthday in Weymouth on Sat. 28th Nov. The owners informed us as we travelled to Weymouth that they were also due to be out that evening. When we turned up our room's ensuite had a leak coming through the ceiling. Another couple in a room below us also had issues with a leak. The owners were contacted, and returned. They quickly organised even though it was a difficult situation for them for my wife and I and the other couple to have rooms at another B&B just down the road from them. Our three boys were allowed to stay at the Alendale in their room as that was not affected by the leaks. The next morning we returned to have a breakfast in a very smart breakfast room with our sons which was excellent. Good quality fruit juices, teas, toast, and coffee. Everyone ate their full English breakfast. I had the Scottish equivalent with black pudding, potato scone,a slice of haggis, flat suasage, bacon, and fried egg. Our sons all agreed that their beds were comfortable and had a good night sleep.
My wife and I were happy with the standard of the room we would have stayed in. It looked like good standard of towels, and tolietries were provided. I do agree with an earlier reviewer that there is some noise from the road if you have a room at the front, but it is not too bad. I get the impression that the owners have worked very hard to develop a very good B&B business, and are very courteous and helpful hosts / owners. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who is staying at Weymouth. There is parking spaces behine the property. The issues we encountered were not of their making, and as we left in the morning they were being dealt with. My sons said they would be happy to stay there again - high praise indeed.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOODYBLUES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Stayed 2 nights, nice room,very clean and well decorated, very good hospitality tray, everything of an high quality. Owners very welcoming and friendly, spotlessly clean.
Good private parking at the rear,plus free on street right outside. Close to main town areas and across the road from the sea. Only minor negative being main road traffic noise but not too intrusive, all in all good value, and a very enjoyable experience, will be visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmigoWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Really lovely. Other reviews say it all. Rooms good, bed comfy, lots of tea and coffee. Jim and Denise very welcoming and helpful. The shortbread is such a lovely little treat and cookies and caramel bar too!! We only stayed one night for a birthday treat but will definitely return. The location is perfect, so close to town centre. And finally the reasoln its perfect is the breakfast. So much choice and as much as you want and freshly cooked and local produce and the BEST black pudding we have ever had! Fresh fruit, home made jams and dorset cereals. I really couldnt ask for more. I wouldnt stay anywhere else in Weymouth.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gindy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#9 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#3 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Letchworth Guest House
Letchworth Guest House
#10 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alendale Guest House

Property: The Alendale Guest House
Address: 4 Waterloo Place, Weymouth DT4 7NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alendale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alendale Guest House is a warm and comfortable Grade II listed Georgian building in the beautiful seaside holiday town of Weymouth, Dorset, situated in a terrace at the end of the esplanade. It is just across the road from the beach and a short walk to the harbour and shopping centre and the old town with its restaurants, bars and nightlife. Retaining many of its Georgian features and character, the guest house offers comfortable, fresh accommodation on a B&B basis. All the rooms have en-suite facilities and families are welcome. We pride ourselves at the Alendale on our high standard of cleanliness. In your room you will find a well supplied hospitality tray and often home made cakes. We also provide hair dryers, sewing kits and shoe cleaning kits. An iron and board can be provided on request and we can also arrange dry cleaning. The Alendale has a modern dining room that can sit 14, with views towards the beach. We have a wonderful breakfast menu and source all our produce, where possible, directly from Dorset. The menu includes a full English breakfast with a choice of selected extras, or perhaps local grilled kippers or scrambled egg and smoked salmon with toasted brioche. There is also a selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate. You can also help yourself to our breakfast buffet which includes fruit and a range of Dorset Cereals. Special diets can be catered for with prior notice but we generally find that most vegetarians can find something suitable from the menu.Our motto is, "If we can, we will"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Alendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alendale Guest House Hotel Weymouth
The Alendale Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing