We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly and professional B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Alendale Guest House
Ranked #1 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for three nights and the guest house met all our expectations.
We stayed in Room 3 and the king side bed was extremely comfortable and the room itself cosy. The bathroom was a tad small but the water pressure in the shower was excellent,I have very thick long hair and struggle at home to rinse my hair thoroughly but the shower in the room was a delight.

The breakfast was beautiful. All the food served is local produce I believe and this really was reflected in the taste.

The landlady was very friendly and personable and her son helping with the breakfasts was extremely polite. They made us feel very welcome and at home.

There are additional little touches such as cookies,small chocolate bars provided in all rooms aswell as the expected coffee making facilities. The rooms are very clean but if for some reason you don't want your room cleaned on one particular day the owners are understanding and just replace essentials like towels,cups etc until you are ready for the room to be cleaned properly.

On the whole we really enjoyed our stay,the landlady was warm and friendly and I advise anybody holidaying in Weymouth to stay in the Alendale!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlendale, Owner at The Alendale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us Georgia. We enjoyed meeting you and Adam, Ann and Duncan. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we would welcome the opportunity to be your hosts again in the future. Regards, Lesley and Clive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 522 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here for two nights 2/3 September parking at the rear of the guest house was ideal and safe. Clive and Lesley were very welcoming and friendly. We were in Room 4 lovely beach view the room was spotlessly clean with tea making facilities biscuits and chocolate ( lovely touch). Breakfast was a real treat Dorset cereals, fresh fruit,yogurts, juices, toast, marmalades and the English breakfast was to die for lovely and hot and cooked to order so it was freshly made. Will definitely stay here again with no hesitation. Keep up the good work Clive and Lesley. Carole & Dave from Yorkshire

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piksi55, Owner at The Alendale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you Carole for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet both you and Dave and we very much enjoyed your company! We do hope that you will be back to us in the near future. Best wishes, Lesley and Clive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way home from our holiday in Cornwall. Lesley and Clive were very welcoming and friendly, and Clive helped with our bags.
The house was spotless, and I liked the extra touches, like flowers and chocolate in the room.
Breakfast was great, beautifully presented, and served with a smile!
I'll definitely be recommending this guest house to our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfrakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
piksi55, Owner at The Alendale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive response. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we do our best to make everyone feel at home! It was a pleasure to meet you both and we do hope that it will not be long before we see you again. Best wishes, Lesley and Clive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My fiance and I have just returned from a relaxing weekend in Weymouth and the break was made even more special thanks to our choice of guest house. We found The Alendale to be a real gem of a place, our room was spotlessly clean, with lovely decor and a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked and the choice was amazing, really filled us up for the day ahead!

Room Tip: Our stay in room 2 was superb,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlendale, Owner at The Alendale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review for us, we really do appreciate knowing that we are making the grade! It was a pleasure to meet you both and we do hope that you will come back and stay with us in the future. Many thanks again. Lesley and Clive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here at the end of Aug 2012 for 5 nights. Accomodation was in good position at the quieter end on the prom. 12 min walk to the harbour / town centre. We were in room 3 at the rear of the property, so nice & peaceful.The room was very clean & suited our needs. Well the breakfast WOW! lovely, yes you have to wait but its worth it, your on holiday people so chill out. Clive & Lesley were excellent hosts & we did not have to worry about contacting them for anything. The car park at the rear has room for 5 guest vehicles, we told Clive we never use our car once we are away, so were very happy to put ours at the rear & never had to move again. Please ignore some of the petty remarks here, stay & form your own opinion, you will not be disappointed. Considering Clive & Lesley have only been here for a couple of months with no previous experiance they should be congratulated on doing an excellent job...Phil & Maggie

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlendale, Owner at The Alendale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review for us, we really enjoyed your company and are glad you had a good time. Since your visit we have had a rethink of our procedures at breakfast and I am pleased to say that we are now able to serve (a still freshly cooked!) breakfast much quicker. I am sure that as time goes on we will be able to improve on this more whilst still maintaining the high standards that go with cooking to order. Please come back and try us out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My Fiance and I had a great stay at The Alendale Guest House on 1st September 2012. The room was very clean, we had a great view of the sea. Loved the fresh flowers, chocolates and biscuits in our room, made it a little more homely. The bed was very comfortable.
Clive and Lesley were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble, even had our bacon at breakfast cooked to our liking - Me very crispy and Mark - not so crispy. Breakfast was fab, the bacon was thick and tasty as were the sausages, really set us up for the day and the fresh flowers on the table were a lovely touch too. The only complaint we have is that we wished we could stay longer. We will next time.
Thank you Lesley & Clive for looking after us and we look forward to staying with you again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlendale, Owner at The Alendale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we do our best to ensure a good time is had by all! We hope to see you again. Lesley and Clive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have been going to Weymouth for the last 15 years, and whilst we usually stay in a caravan the driving back and forth from the town centre can be tiresome so we do occasionally opt for a nearby hotel. The Alendale is without doubt the best hotel we have stayed at in Weymouth and we most certainly will be going back there again. The hotel itself is situated right on the beach front and only a few minutes walk from the beach, harbour, town centre and amusements which is ideal for those that want to explore Weymouth whilst knowing they are never too far from their hotel. Guests are also able to park their cars on the hotel car park, which is an absolute treat considering many hotels along the beach front and harbour are notorious for having little to no parking resulting in the added cost of parking your car! Lesley and Clive, who are the new owners of The Alendale, were wonderful and very welcoming and they made our stay in Weymouth that extra special. When we checked in we were greeted by the lovely Lesley who welcomed us to the hotel and made us feel at home right away, Clive shortly followed and greeted us with a warm smile and showed us up to our room. We had booked the family room for a 2 night stay based on 3 adults sharing (my dad, my brother and me) and we were blown away by the standards of our room. The bright and airy room with ensuite provided my family a great base for the weekend and was to become a little home from home. We were provided with complimentary snacks and bottles of water which went down a treat after a three hour car journey and the large comfy beds were a welcoming sight when the sea air finally knock us out for the night. The cleanliness, not just of our room but the hotel in general, shows how dedicated Lesley and Clive are to providing a high quality stay for all their guests and their thoughtfulness about their guests was very touching. My brother has severe autism, so we are sometimes wary of taking him to hotels due to the added stress, but Clive and Lesley could not have been more accomodating, offering to have his breakfast ready at a certain time so he wasn't waiting, or providing him with extra sausages or bacon when they found out he only ate certain things. Things like that showed us how caring they are as many hotels have been far from accomodating to the point where we have had to cut our stay short. Not in this case. It wasn't just the accomodation that was exceptional, it was also the amazing breakfast. I can say in all my travels that Clive and Lesley do one of the best breakfasts EVER!!!! FACT!!! And the wide variety means you can mix and match and even give you breakfast a highland flare. My dad was particularly excited about trying the Scottish breakfast on offer, unfortunately Lesley apologised as she was unable to get the Scottish sausage anymore, yet low and behold the next day some Scottish sausage was on my dads plate as she had gone out of her way to track it down at a local butchers which made my dad's day! Even though you have a little wait for your breakfast, as everything is cooked fresh and to order, you are guaranteed the quality you'd expect from such a good hotel. If you do get a bit peckish whilst waiting there is plenty of fresh fruit, yogurt and cereal for you to eat until your breakfast arrives - but trust me you won't be disappointed! All in all we had a fantastic trip and we cannot wait to go back again, we were gutted that our stay was so short and after only two nights we felt right at home. We look forward to seeing you next time Clive and Lesley, many thanks for all your hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlendale, Owner at The Alendale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we really enjoyed your company and as we do our best to ensure a good time is had by all, we are so pleased that your experience of a change of venue was so positive. We would be most happy to see you all again, we hope in the not to distant future! Lesley and Clive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.1 mi away
The Cornubia Guest House
The Cornubia Guest House
#6 of 166 in Weymouth
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fosters Guest House
Fosters Guest House
#2 of 166 in Weymouth
668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#3 of 166 in Weymouth
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#4 of 166 in Weymouth
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alendale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alendale Guest House

Address: 4 Waterloo Place, Weymouth DT4 7NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $67 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Alendale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alendale Guest House is a warm and comfortable Grade II listed Georgian building in the beautiful seaside holiday town of Weymouth, Dorset, situated in a terrace at the end of the esplanade. It is just across the road from the beach and a short walk to the harbour and shopping centre and the old town with its restaurants, bars and nightlife. Retaining many of its Georgian features and character, the guest house offers comfortable, fresh accommodation on a B&B basis. All the rooms have en-suite facilities and families are welcome. We pride ourselves at the Alendale on our high standard of cleanliness. In your room you will find a well supplied hospitality tray and often home made cakes. We also provide hair dryers, sewing kits and shoe cleaning kits. An iron and board can be provided on request and we can also arrange dry cleaning. The Alendale has a modern dining room that can sit 14, with views towards the beach. We have a wonderful breakfast menu and source all our produce, where possible, directly from Dorset. The menu includes a full English breakfast with a choice of selected extras, or perhaps local grilled kippers or scrambled egg and smoked salmon with toasted brioche. There is also a selection of tea, coffee and hot chocolate. You can also help yourself to our breakfast buffet which includes fruit and a range of Dorset Cereals. Special diets can be catered for with prior notice but we generally find that most vegetarians can find something suitable from the menu.Our motto is, "If we can, we will"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Alendale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alendale Guest House Hotel Weymouth
The Alendale Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing