We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“IN ONE WORD. WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bourneville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Bourneville
Ranked #28 of 163 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“IN ONE WORD. WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Found this little gem on the internet at Christmas when planning our summer holiday 2011 and booked a week in July 11. Then later decided we needed a weekend away at Easter, so thought we would check it out so I rang Mark who said they only had 1 room left and said the 4 of us would just fit :-) So we booked it.

Well where do I start............

The greeting was way above my expectation, mark even carried our bags up the 2 flights of stairs (That'll keep him fit!!) The hotel is well decorated and amazingly clean, rooms clean, Bar was well decorated and modern. I could keep going. As for the breakfast.......Perfection and not greasy, served on a hot plate and with a smile. At one point I got up to get another coffee and Mark rushed across with a smile, advising me to sit down as I'm on holiday and that's what he's there for and then proceeded to pour me another fresh coffee.

I work long hours myself and when away need to relax and turn the old brain off. The service these guys provide is probably the best I have ever experienced. Also my working background (many years ago!!) is the Catering industry as a Chef. So I understand the meaning of the word service and good food..... These guys far exceed what is traditionaly expected of a small hotel. So if you want the perfect hotel, with perfect hosts and perfect food, oh and with the perfect location then look no further you are wasting your time, just stay at The Bourneville, you will not regret it.

We are really looking forward to our weeks holiday in July. Only 3 weeks to go.

Don't try so hard this time Mark, you don't need to, mind you be prepared we have more bags to carry this time (3 womens sets of shoes!!!!! etc) :-)

The Oliver Family

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryhs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    44
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
78
131
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

From the outset, the young couple running this sweet hotel made me feel welcome and at home, the weather was appalling so I spent most of my time in the hotel. It was comfortable and my needs were catered for. When I am next staying in Weymouth I will be sure to stay here again. Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

Great location, literally a stones throw from the beach and just a short walk to the harbour, the local shops, pubs and restaurants. Mark and Pam (the owners) are very personable and attentive. Our bedroom was clean and had a new bathroom fitted only recently.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weymouth92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

Over a period of many years we have stayed in many several hotels in Weymouth(somany we have lost count).without a doubt this is the best one.We will definately be back.Many times we hope.
The view from the windows is wothy of 5 stars.
The 3 star catergory is not enough.I would give the Bournville 4 stars at the very least

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marjoriedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

My girlfriend and I were looking for a place to spend our anniversary and found this hotel through google. I have to say this is one of the nicest trips we have ever had. The Hotel is nicely located opposite the beech and is walking distance from lots of great shops (including an old fashioned sweet shop selling home made fudge). The rooms in the hotel were excellent size for the rates we paid and the owners Mark & Pam we two of the nicest people i have met. They were never too Busy to have a chat and always had a smile on their face when serving breakfast or wishing us a good weekend. I could not think of a better place to stay next time i come to Weymouth, the beds were comfy, hotel was in a great location and the staff were kindly and helpful. We will defiantly be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashwilliams1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed the the Bourneville for two nights in April. Although we have lived together for a while this was our first weekend away, just the two of us.

It was perfect. When we originally booked up for our stay we booked a standard room, but a few minutes later Mark phoned us back offering us the four poster bed/room at no extra cost! The room was gorgeous, the bed was very comfy, and the bathroom spotlessly clean.

The location was also perfect. The room was on the front, overlooking the beach.

The breakfasts were lovely, and Mark was very friendly and helpful. We will definately be going back to the Bourneville for our next weekend away!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STFCgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We would first like to thank Mark for making us feel very welcome, situated right next to the beach, harbour and the town centre, you couldnt ask for a better place for such a great B & B to be situated, we stayed only for one night but now we wished we stayed for longer, which we will do next time, the room we had was lovely, clean and very comfortable, also with the most amazing view, the whole place was very clean and truly has to be one of the best B & Bs in the whole of weymouth! Many Thanks again, see you very soon! Carly & Ed x

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlywoowoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#9 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#31 of 163 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#3 of 163 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bourneville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bourneville

Property: The Bourneville
Address: 31-32 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bourneville 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb, three-star Georgian seafront residence offering first rate bed and breakfast accommodation with quality service at excellent prices. Located in a most ideal position opposite the beautiful sandy beach of Weymouth, and only a minutes walk to the picturesque harbour and bustling town center. Many other attractions all nearby. A residents bar is open most evenings and internet access and WIFI is available at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Bourneville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bourneville Hotel Weymouth
The Bourneville Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing