We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“russell hotell weymouth”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Russell Hotel
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
chester cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“russell hotell weymouth”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

hi. stayed at the russell for 5,days 30/06 - 04/07/ 2014 on a alfa coach holiday this was our 2nd trip with alfa ,and found the hotel ok in general, no major problems. the only part of the stay that myself and my wife found that let the hotel standard down was the restaurant, the waiting on staff were very hard working but it was total chaos there were different waiting on staff at every mealtime and nobody seemed to know who was serving who culminating at the end of the holiday that i could not tip one waiter as so many had served us during our stay . the restaurant reqs a total rethink and a resturant manager to organise things, please dont read this as a poor comment it just needs to be organsed a little better and as i said the staff worked hard and were very pleasant. and having said that the only other comment about the hotel is the lift it has got a mind of its own you never know what floor you end up on i think it needs some TLC by a lift engineer. now in general this is an ok hotel in a nice location on the esplanade in weymouth and for the price we paid was good value for money the room was nice overlooking the bay and was clean, towels were changed when reqd .weymouth is a very nice location and flat along the front so peolple with walking difficulties should be ok and the sea is very clean the town it,self is very busy and also has a very nice harbourside. there is a loverly park called greenhill gardens that are imacculate .i will finish off now by also praising our driver jeff of alfa very nice guy well informed about the area and also very helpfull..........................................,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sardona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    226
    168
    56
    39
See reviews for
80
340
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Russell Hotel is a very good hotel Right on the sea front We stayed in room at front of hotel altho sometimes traffic could be a little nosey there was not a lot hotel could do about that The food was excellent every night we were there as was the entertainment with some very good artists Staff always very friendly and could not do anougth for us

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
8 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Russell Hotel was just what the doctor ordered, peace and quiet. Although a little dated this was the perfect place for a relaxing weekend. The room we had was at the back but was clean and tidy though I would have liked a mini fridge as we are picnic people and had nowhere to keep our food. The meals were excellent and there was a good choice. The staff were always available to answer any questions. There was no Wi-Fi which we missed but saying that it was nice to be out of touch for a short time. Lots of places to visit within a few hours of leaving hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors seem to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wendykia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The Russell Hotel is very tired and needs updating. On the whole the 3 nights we were there weren't too bad despite the elephant who walked backwards and forwards hundreds of times in the room above us at unearthly times in the morning. The food was good and always hot and the waiting staff were excellent.
The entertainment was good on all three nights. We had room 26 and the bathroom was really small and shower was not very good. The sister Hotel next door The Prince Regent looked much better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Christine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at the Russell Hotel on a GB Tours Break, keeping in mind at all times that this is a 2 star hotel and not higher you can see that all that it offers as a 2 star is quite reasonable. The room we had was "tired" but the towels and bedding were spotless, food was better than adequate and every meal was served promptly by hard working and friendly staff, entertainment was excellent on all 3 nights as far as we were concerned, Wendy who sorted the quizzes and bingo was a character and very friendly. Would i go back? definately if i had room 28 again. Thank you Russell Hotel for a lovely time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank geoned57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Went with GB tours pick up at Neath at 9-25am a sensible time.On arrival booked in quickly and suitcases brought to our room in twenty minutes,very good as two buses pulled up at the same time.Four buses in all at hotel so dining room was full so service was a little slow but not bad really.Receptionist and waitng staff were very good and so was the food,always hot.Room was a good size and clean and so was the bed linen.Room cleaner did a good job every day.Beer £3 a pint most hotels are charging £3 30 to £3 50 so quite good.Entertainment was good and not too much bingo.All in all a good value weekend break.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank keithfromneath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

It was 5 years since I last stayed at the Russell and I can only say that the standards at this hotel have gone downhill.
The food was over cooked with watery custard and gravy and very tough chicken, I didn't like the way they washed the knives, a quick dip in soapy water in a plastic tub then wiped on an old tea towel.
Restaurant staff were not very sociable, but having said that the cleaning lady was very nice. It took 2 hours for my case to be brought to my room and I never saw any reception staff!
The room was clean and OK.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Property: Russell Hotel
Address: 135-138 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell Hotel is perfect for short & weekend leisure breaks in Weymouth – ideal for adult-only, half-board breaks. The coastal hotel is an ideal base for a holiday or short break to Weymouth, boasting easy access to the surrounding countryside, the town centre just a short walk away and the Channel Islands reachable by Condor Ferries' state-of-the-art hydrofoil. The spacious hotel restaurant serves a traditional English breakfast and a three-course dinner followed by tea or coffee. After this, why not retire to the lounge bar and relax with friends or enjoy the great live inclusive entertainment provided every evening by a variety of local musicians? The more energetic can even boogie the night away on the dance floor. The Russell Hotel offers a variety of short break packages throughout the year, including Nostalgia breaks and the ever-popular Tinsel & Turkey breaks during November and December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing