We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice welcome”
Review of Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Russell Hotel
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived on a friday parked the car and made our way to the reception After the lady had finished talking to someone for about ten minutes about her own grandchildren she ask if she could help we said we would like to check in she very abruptly said that we where early and told to get in the queue this was a bad start it would have been nice if she said HELLO . Anyway we booked with martyns travel and i must say we had value for money and would return DONT EXPECT TO MUCH

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
There are newer reviews for Russell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 751 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed in the Russel hotel for four nights. We had a room at the rear of the building
the windows were that dirty you could hardly see out. The kitchen and waiting staff need
a lot of praise ther wer.e all very good. On leaving handing back the keys at the reception
I found a scruffy man on the reception. He was anything but pleasent. The bedding
had a rubber protector. Not a very good room at all. Ask for a see view it is well worth the
extra £12

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

First impressions are of a hotelin need of tlc. Outside is grubby no flowers no handrail for elderly visitors. Receptionisfriendly and luggage carried to room. One small lift is never enough.
Room in need ofdecoration with peeling wallpaper and dingy bathroom. Hoever bedding was clean, nicenewcurtains. Breakfast and evening meals were excellent with nothing too much trouble.

Room Tip: Pay extra for thd great sea view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoyNewport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I came down to Weymouth with my parents, grandparents and around 25 others on a coach trip. First impressions of the hotel were that it is in a fantastic location, across the road from the beach and close to the town and harbour which is lovely.
However, the outside of the hotel is extremely shabby and could do with repainting to brighten it up. On entering the hotel, it was extremely warm and very fusty and this was a regular occurrence throughout the hotel.
We went up to our rooms to wait for our luggage. The room was not great. We were in a room with a double and single bed and my grandparents had a twin room. The rooms were extremely dusty which is obviously a build up of dirt over time so the rooms are practically not cleaned at all except the bathroom and straightening the beds which they couldn't even be bothered to do in my grandparents room. In our room we had a table and 2 chairs and the table was very greasy and there was batter from someone having had fish and chips before we arrived. This was there until the second evening when we went and requested someone to clean it. There were also hairs on our dressing table were it hadn't been cleaned. The bathrooms were probably the cleanest part of the hotel even though they were in need of a bit of tlc.
The one good thing about the hotel, besides the location, is the food. Breakfast and dinner were very nice meals and cooked perfectly, credits to the chef. There was a good choice as well. But as with this hotel there is a downside, the service was awful. The food would be slapped down in front of you and as soon as you had finished a course they take it away and the next one in slapped in front of you. Often you would have to take the plate from the waiter across the table and they couldn't be bothered come round the other side of the table. I've never had a 3 course meal so fast, 40-45mins and you're done.
Most of the staff are friendly and polite, some not so, but the majority are.
The bar area was much cleaner as they had a different housemaid to the one who cleaned the rooms. You couldn't get a drink from the bar till about 5-5:30pm so had to wait around for a while and people went elsewhere, but it was decorated nicely. There was the usual entertainment of bingo and then a singer each night which was ok. Although, they definitely need to invest in some air conditioning in the bar area because at night with the doors shut because of a licensing agreement, it became extremely hot. If you are staying at The Russell I definitely recommend taking a hand held fan.
The dining room was alright, although the chairs had various stains on them which isn't nice to sit on when you've got ready to go down at night for dinner and a drink.
The walls are so thin in the rooms that we could hear next doors alarm go off and even their conversations in the morning. The window in our corridor was so dirty you couldn't see out of it, which just ruins the atmosphere and is inexcusable uncleanliness.

I wouldn't recommend staying in The Russell as there are much nicer hotels on the same road which actually make the effort to make their hotel look nice and do actually bother to clean.

Though I suppose you get what you pay for, but cleanliness is a must.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank OliviaShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very sad to see such a grand, well located building being run down like this. One of the dirtiest rooms i've ever stayed in, mainly dust, so really down to poor housekeeping. Very seventies furniture and only four channels on the TV, not even C5. Restaurant was much better though.

Room Tip: third floor rooms have electric showers that are usually air locked.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TjM542013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hotel situation perfect. facing the beach almost central. Shame the staff and condition let it down. Rooms shabby and in need of updating. Stayed with friends and one couple's room was disgusting Toilet filthy unflushed and smelly curtains hanging off the wall and really dirty room, offered another room which was worse. Meals basic and average. Evening meals ordered in the morning and whoa betide you turning up 10 minutes late, you get shouted at and told its gone...How it was ordered in the morning.Regular that they run out of choices. Staff obviously unhappy as the talk between them consisted of moaningand swearing about be overworked and that some people get preferntial treatment about weekends off,depending who they are dating. Bar area is a sweatbox in the basement and poor entertainment.

Room Tip: Try a differant hotel
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My mam & dad stayed in this hotel 17th of May this year, and were put in the top room in the hotel room no. 339, they will never stay here again! Their room was on the top floor and the lift very rarely worked, this not being ideal as my dad has had heart attacks and this is not exactly resting! Their room was extremely small, not anything like the rooms you show in your photographs. The room was in the eves with a dormer window with broken curtains, and the room had not had a proper clean since Adam was a boy. They were very disappointed. The whole of the Hotel needs refurbishment. The only positive thing they could say was the food was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank helenandkevyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
485 reviews
2.0 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
494 reviews
0.6 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Address: 135-138 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: $75 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell Hotel is perfect for short & weekend leisure breaks in Weymouth – ideal for adult-only, half-board breaks. The coastal hotel is an ideal base for a holiday or short break to Weymouth, boasting easy access to the surrounding countryside, the town centre just a short walk away and the Channel Islands reachable by Condor Ferries' state-of-the-art hydrofoil. The spacious hotel restaurant serves a traditional English breakfast and a three-course dinner followed by tea or coffee. After this, why not retire to the lounge bar and relax with friends or enjoy the great live inclusive entertainment provided every evening by a variety of local musicians? The more energetic can even boogie the night away on the dance floor. The Russell Hotel offers a variety of short break packages throughout the year, including Nostalgia breaks and the ever-popular Tinsel & Turkey breaks during November and December. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing