We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ice cold in alex” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Russell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Russell Hotel
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Bolsover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ice cold in alex”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just returned from a 4 day break to lovely Weymouth with 5 other friends. On receiving the room key, the room was small, dirty, freezing cold as the French windows would not close properly and we had to put a blanket along the bottom to try and keep the draught out. The shower was small and the grouting between the tiles and the tiles and shower base was black, dirt along the carpet edge, paint off doors and skirting, cobwebs from the coving but the cold was the worst part. The wardrobe was so small the hangers wouldn't hang straight due to the lack of depth. The television is small, old fashioned and only 5 channels were available. When your were in the room and the toilet, you could here the occupants next door using their toilet as if they were in the same room and as with most old hotels, the floor boards creek from above. Other members of our party had similar problems with one couple finding 4 coke bottles and a half empty beer bottle on the window, likewise very cold, dirt on windows even the wallpaper. The meals were decent but twice we had to send food back-bacon not cooked enough one morning and Sunday roast-2 with more fat than meat. One evening the meals were a long time coming and the waitress said the chef was on holiday and the stand in was not quick enough. A breakfast was late as they could not light the gas pilot light on the cooker and this was the day the bacon was not cooked properly. The entertainment was pretty good and on speaking to other guests, they did not have our problems. I met an old work colleague on the same trip, told him of our problems and he showed me his room and that was like comparing Buckingham palace to a terraced house. His room was spacious, clean and much better equipped for the same price. It was beautiful so it appears our party drew the short straw and ended up in what seemed the staff quarters. A pity because it was a good weekend and beautiful area spoiled by the poor rooms.

Room Tip: Do not go for rooms at the back of the hotel on the same floor as the reception, particularly 23,24...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    215
    164
    54
    39
See reviews for
78
321
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hi everyone, I just want to say that I have just spent a fabulous week-end at the Russell with a group of family and friends for Turkey & Tinsel. I am a vegetarian and the choice was unbelievable - 12 choices for each meal. The rest of my party were delighted with their choices - the food was ample and was served with good professional service by the staff. My room was neat, clean and very adequate. My towels were changed every day - despite not leaving them out for changing. I can't praise the hotel and their staff enough they made our stay a pleasure. I have read some other - sometimes quite negative - reviews by other guests - but I can only reiterate that we were absolutely delighted with our entire experience at the Russell. We will definitely be back. Family Christmas as it should be !! Janie.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

i spent a very pleasant long weekend at this hotel. Maybe a bit tired in places, but overall clean and comfortable. Good choice of menu for the evening meal and breakfast. The staff were very efficient, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank helenb1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Spent a long weekend in October here with a group of 30. The hotel is largely a coaching inn but does also accomadate individual bookings. The food was good with a choice of 3 starters, 4 main courses and a few desserts. Bar area excellent with usual evening entertainment, quiz, bingo and solo singer. Good location on sea front with some rooms enjoying a sea view, room we had was spacious and clean with comfortable bed. Weymouth has benefited upgrades due to Olympics and well worth a weekend visit.
Most important benefit was all the staff who were friendly, courteous, helpful displaying a can do attitude at all times. ..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnowen2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have just returned from The Russell Hotel after a Turkey & Tinsel Weekend. we were a party of 40 senior citizens. The food was fantastic, as was the service. I had a room on the 3rd floor, but found it too cold so was moved to the 1st floor without any problem whatsoever. The entertainment was excellent, lovely music to dance to. The hotel is situated right on the prom, take 12 steps and you are on the beach. EXCELLENT***

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank montydo559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The food was good,staff help full, enterainment allright,but our bedroom as soon as we walked in the door the smell hit you the chairs had stains on them and smelled damp,I lifted the sheets up on the bed and the mattress was also stained

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lynnbraddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

When we arrived as a large group we were allocated our rooms in a very friendly, efficient manner. On one evening we did have a problem with no hot water in the room but this was dealt with immediately, the whole hotel was clean and the food which was of a very high standard was served quickly by really friendly girls, nothing too much trouble. Was slightly disappointed being given a room at the back of the hotel but it was quiet and very comfortable and to be fair not alot of time was spent in it. Would def go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dixxydixxy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Property: Russell Hotel
Address: 135-138 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell Hotel is perfect for short & weekend leisure breaks in Weymouth – ideal for adult-only, half-board breaks. The coastal hotel is an ideal base for a holiday or short break to Weymouth, boasting easy access to the surrounding countryside, the town centre just a short walk away and the Channel Islands reachable by Condor Ferries' state-of-the-art hydrofoil. The spacious hotel restaurant serves a traditional English breakfast and a three-course dinner followed by tea or coffee. After this, why not retire to the lounge bar and relax with friends or enjoy the great live inclusive entertainment provided every evening by a variety of local musicians? The more energetic can even boogie the night away on the dance floor. The Russell Hotel offers a variety of short break packages throughout the year, including Nostalgia breaks and the ever-popular Tinsel & Turkey breaks during November and December. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing