We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Sandcombe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sandcombe
Ranked #24 of 166 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Booked this based on reviews, but very disappointed. We had a small room at the top of the house - a long climb up the stairs. The en-suite was divided between a toilet and basin in one corner and a very small shower room in the other. It was very cramped and we had to stack the chairs so that we could put our suitcase down. The towels were small. On the plus side the room was clean and there were good views over Weymouth bay.

The breakfast was very poor. The most basic sausage, tinned tomatoes,dried up bacon, half a small mushroom, over-cooked poached eggs and we couldn't catch Blane's eye to get more tea and toast - he was more interested in other visitors. Can't understand the rave reviews from others.

We won't be staying here again I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melfish46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHWeymouth, Manager at The Sandcombe, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

We are always concerned when a guest doesn't have a good time with us.
However, reasonable readers may spot bias in a review at 100 paces - and that's just what we have here. As such, some statements are misleading and deserve clarification to redress the balance.
This couple had holidayed elsewhere and decided to extend their journey home by staying with us. It was a late booking which resulted in them having the only double room we had available. As it happened, it was our smallest double - but at 13' 2 by 11' 4 it is hardly 'tiny' and was not 'cramped' - until they offloaded enough luggage to have sunk the Titanic!
As a listed building, we are restricted from altering the structure of rooms. However, this year, we have spent a considerable amount in completely renovating that room to obtain the best efficiency of space, hence, the split en-suite - which can be convenient. Our towels are either normal bath size or bath sheets.
The description of breakfast given does not match any that I have ever served. I don't need to defend our breakfasts - many of our guests have done it for men and the only way a guest could fail to attract my attention in the dining room would be if they were doing so from under the table.
On departing, the couple said that their previous holiday had exhausted them and with hindsight they should have just gone straight home. Maybe that explains their attitude – and yes, perhaps they should!
Blane Hawkins, Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 239 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

Blane is an excellent host running a lovely B&B in Weymouth. Nice room with views over the beach and promenade, close to everything. Very nice breakfast too. Very useful parking permit. Blane's advice on where to eat for the evening was spot on too. Can see why this is number 1 on trip advisor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dm2wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I visited The Sandcombe with my husband and parents, we had room 4 overlooking the harbour and what a view, the room was spotless and equipped with everything you needed for an enjoyable stay, glasses, cups were changed everyday, tea and coffee was topped up great attention to detail. My parents had room 1 again overlooking the harbour but with a bay window they loved sitting in the bay with a cup of tea enjoying the view, again the room was of the same high standard of ours. Breakfast was great, lovely tasty bacon and sausage, nothing was too much trouble, Blane chatted to us over breakfast but at the same time made sure everyone's needs were met, Jacqui joined us after cooking it was lovely to talk to them both. Blane made a point of remembering everyone's name a nice personal touch well done! Location, location, location you could not wish for a better one right on the harbour, seafront and a stones throw from the shops. Blane & Jacqui you should be very proud of yourselves you have a wonderful hotel and work very hard to provide the best service, thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lovely view you will not be disappointed, you just need to decide whether you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsblackandwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This guest house is in a great position, seaview at the front harbourview at the rear.
Jacqui and Blane are very welcoming and friendly. Lovely rooms and great food, can't fault it.
Both me and my wife had a great stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L4elo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just returned from a lovely 3 night stay at the Sandcombe.....can't praise Jacqui and Blane enough!

Breakfast was always served promptly and was delicious! Good range of food available....still need to try and get the poached egg bags!

We stayed in room 1 overlooking the harbour.....fantastic views! There were 5 adults and a baby in our party so had rooms 1,2 &3 so had all rooms together and was nice to have the doors open to see everyone. All rooms were very clean and good facilities.

Jacqui and Blane are amazing hosts and went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

We are returning in August so look forward to seeing you then!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aseret832016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I would like to thank Blane and Jaquie for a very warm welcome from the minute Blane opened the door to myself and my friend Marj. The rooms were very comfortable and spotless. Tea and coffee refilled every day, the breakfast was hot and plentyful, fresh fruit,juice and cerial also available. We stayed in room 2 and the view was amazing. We only stayed two nights but will definately be going back .This was a break for my friend Marj"s birthday and she was not dissapointed with anything. Once again thank you both for a great weekend.

Room Tip: room 2 on the front amazing views!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ve_goodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Rooms more than suitable, being very clean,tidy and ensuite in most of them. Views did not disappoint. Breakfast was hot, tasty and splentifull from fresh fruit, cereal to a cooked English. The hosts? Jaquie was the hard working person cooking the breakfasts while Blane chatted to the guests and made sure we had plenty to eat and drink. Both hosts were marvellous and extremely friendly, nothing being too much trouble to them to help you enjoy your stay. A good location as being on the seafront, by the port and a couple of minutes from the shops. I would recommend The Sandcombe to one and all. Thank you both Blane & Jaquie for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylv n Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#7 of 166 in Weymouth
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cavendish House
Cavendish House
#75 of 166 in Weymouth
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ocean Guest House
The Ocean Guest House
#80 of 166 in Weymouth
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#37 of 166 in Weymouth
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#8 of 166 in Weymouth
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#32 of 166 in Weymouth
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandcombe

Address: 8 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range: $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandcombe is ideally situated across the road from Weymouth's award-winning beach. Every room has wonderful views over Weymouth Bay to the front and the picturesque ancient harbour to the rear. The Pavilion theatre, the Marina and town centre with its many pubs and restaurants are just a short walk away. The Sandcombe is the perfect location to explore Weymouth's many attractions. Jacqui and Blane aim to make your stay so enjoyable that you will want to return to The Sandcombe time and time again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandcombe Hotel Weymouth
The Sandcombe Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing