We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of The Sandcombe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sandcombe
Ranked #18 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We (2 x couples) had a lovely stay at this guest house for the weekend. Both the rooms overlooked the harbour and had good facilities. Service from the owners could not be faulted. Excellent place to stay and fully recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    26
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
63
103
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here with my son, mum and aunt back in September and should have written a review then.

I think that you are always slightly nervous booking a hotel at the beach in England, especially if it isn't a major chain of hotels because you are never sure what you are going to get.

I spoke to Blane before booking the hotel and he was so friendly that it made me feel that I had made the right choice before we had even got there.

I explained that my mum and aunt would be there on the Friday and that my son and I would arrive on the Saturday.

Mum called me on the Friday to say that she had found the hotel and that it was lovely. We arrived on the Saturday - Blane was so welcoming and knew our names when we walked through the door, that it made us feel very welcome and very homely.

The rooms were lovely and clean and very warm. We had a view overlooking the beach and the location of the hotel was excellent.

Blane and Jacqui were so friendly and had lots of info on places to go or places to eat.

The breakfast was wonderful and there was a choice available.

If I stay in Weymouth again, I would only want to stay here, I don't think other places could match the friendliness, cleanliness and location.

Thanks Blane and Jacqui.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMSWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed in this family run hotel with my two sons aged 9 and 12 from the 5th to 7th December 2012. We were in the area on an educational visit to The Tank Museum, Haynes Motor Museum and Fleet Air Arm Museum and were lucky with the weather. We booked the family room (number escapes me) with a double bed, two bunks, en-suite and a fantastic view of the beach. The room was spotlessly clean, warm and the beds were nice and comfortable. Jacqui and Blane made us very welcome and we enjoyed a good breakfast each day in the dual aspect dining room with a bay window overlooking the beach and glimpses of the harbour to the rear. A nice touch was that on arrival we were given a parking permit so we could park literally across the street.

The hotel is traditional Victorian, just how we like it. Coming down to breakfast in the morning brought back fond memories of trips away with my parents thirty years ago. So much nicer than an impersonal chrome and glass corporate hotel on a windswept business park.

You can't fault the Sandcombe's location. The huge sandy beach is just across the road. An easy level walk In the other direction you have Weymouth's interesting harbour with tons of boats and historic architecture to look at and places to eat. Weymouth town is very nice with lots of small shops and high street names. At the owners suggestion, we took a stroll up to Nothe Fort from where there is a superb view of Portland and the sea.

If we need to stay in this area again we would certainly consider returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beach. The view is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in the sandcombe for New Years and were greeted by Blane on arrival who was so welcoming and friendly. He immediately gave us a parking permit and offered to help us with our bags. We stayed in room 7 which was really lovely, it was warm, spacious, homely and had an amazing view of the harbour. The room and bathrooms were spotless and catered for all our needs. Blane and Jakie were so helpful and made our stay very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful, there was a large selection to choose from. On New Years Eve Blane and Jakie hosted a buffet for family and guests it was so lovely, the trouble they went to could easily be seen.
However I was very sad to read a review by former guests and cannot believe what was said. The Sandcombe is a beautiful Hotel and its decor was far from dull or shabby as it was so kindly put. We are commenting on this as we have never read anything so ridiculous in our lives. The upkeep of the Hotel is to a very high standard. We stayed for four nights and it was always clean, warm and we certainly had no problems with the bathroom or space in the room. These people need to think about booking in to the Hilton or the Ritz!!!! We truly enjoyed our stay in the Sandcombe and will most certainly be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shonab53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

rrived on Friday 7th Dec, Jackie met us and issued the parking permit straight away, very handy. Nice double roon with a great view of the Harbour. Comfortable bed and excellent breakfast, both Jackie and Blane could not have been more helpful. Had a nice evening meal at the Ship. We stay in Weymouth a few times each year and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith_and_Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights here, Jackie and Blane were very friendly and nothing seemed to be to much trouble for them. Although weather was very wet!! view from room over harbour was still good and view from breakfast along beach was superb. The Sandcombe is very well situated for beach, town centre, harbour and getting on the coastal footpath towards Portland.
Room was large and bed very comfortable, ensuite was quite small but with good shower.
Breakfast, as stated elsewhere, was well cooked and presented, different fruit every morning and fruit juice that tasted of fruit not powder as in same places.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bas56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Recently stayed here with my husband and two older kids (20 and 16). We had a lovely room at the top of the building, with views over the harbour. The kids shared a twin room with what has got to be one of the best views in Weymouth!! Blane and Jackie were very welcoming and more than happy to do a vegetarian option for breakfast for our daughter.Rooms were spotless and very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again. Parking permit was a real bonus too.

Room Tip: Room 2 is the twin with a view to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLR1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#28 of 165 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#7 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandcombe

Property: The Sandcombe
Address: 8 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandcombe is ideally situated across the road from Weymouth's award-winning beach. Every room has wonderful views over Weymouth Bay to the front and the picturesque ancient harbour to the rear. The Pavilion theatre, the Marina and town centre with its many pubs and restaurants are just a short walk away. The Sandcombe is the perfect location to explore Weymouth's many attractions. Jacqui and Blane aim to make your stay so enjoyable that you will want to return to The Sandcombe time and time again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandcombe Hotel Weymouth
The Sandcombe Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing