We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it and we will definatly be going back”
Review of The Sandcombe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sandcombe
Ranked #21 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“we loved it and we will definatly be going back”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The owners a polite friendly and very clued up on the the best places to go in Weymouth.
The food was excellent what ever you wanted was provided and cooked to perfection.
The rooms are spacious clean ant have spectacular veiws of the harbour at the rear and the beach at the front.
They made us feel very at home.
We will go again.

Room Tip: i would say the rear of the hotel is quieter than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    26
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
63
107
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The room was clean and had a good view, but was very small and cramped. The bed was not big enough for two people and not very comfortable. The en suite was only a sink and a toilet. The en suite was so small you had to leave the toilet door open when on the toilet. The staff were friendly but for £64 room it is overpriced. I have read some of the glowing reports neither my wife or I can have anything remotely similar to those views.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DavidandJo1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We were particularly impressed that the host remembered our names. Considering how many guests must pass through on a monthly basis and how many were staying at the weekend we thought this was a lovely touch. It was everything you would expect from a B&B. Clean, tidy, fresh looking, good views, friendly hosts and a good breakfast. As a Villa fan I can't even hold the fact that they are Birmingham City supporters against them as I was even wished an "average season"!! I will recommend to any of my friends and family who travel to Weymouth in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolbrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Considering the new owners have only been in residence since April, they make you feel like one of the family. They helped us to find parking, carried our case, and even escorted us to the local eatery. Even though we had dietry requirements they researched
the local restaurants for us and gave us the information on arrival which was very helpful. Information about Weymouth and local areas was also sent to us along with the booking form .The room was comfortable and had a fantastic view of the harbour. Nothing was too much trouble and we will definately be going back there and will be recommending it to all our friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petemau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed at the Sandcombe for 2 nights from 14/4/11. The hosts were friendly, they helped us unload the car and carried our bags to our room for us. We stayed on the first floor with a view overlooking the harbour. My parents stayed at the front with a view across the sea front. So wherever you stay you are guaranteed a nice view. The Breakfast was fine a good selection of cereals plus a full english.

The rooms were clean, and comfortable and exactly what you would expect from a B&B, It's not the Ritz but it has everything you would need.

I understand that the current owners are moving on soon so I hope whoever takes over the Sandcombe keeps up the good work.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Central
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

One of the poorest B&B Hotels we have stayed at, bed linen was dirty and had not been changed, pokey room with too much furniture and overall a forgettable experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Southink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DASWeymouth, Owner at The Sandcombe, responded to this review, October 31, 2010
Ho ho, we had been waiting for this one!

What this couple failed to mention was that in spite of our complete and utter assurance that the bed linen WAS clean (the lady had found a mysterious stray hair in the bed which we had no sight of. They didn’t mention it being dirty). However, we stripped the bed and changed it AGAIN in their presence.

The room HAS got a lot of furniture as it is our family room which sleeps 5 people. Our double rooms had been reserved by couples who had wanted week bookings. This couple were staying ONE night before travelling to the Channel Islands and ONE night on their return.

It would have been nice if they had left some POSITIVE feedback, for instance, they failed to mention the time we spent on the internet and telephone to Condor ferries trying to establish whether their sailing was going ahead the next morning following ferry disruptions.

They also failed to mention the time we spent on the telephone trying to contact their car hire company to drop off their car and when we couldn’t, I then spent ¾ hour driving to the depot with the gentleman following so he would not get lost and I then drove him back. Ok, he did give me a fiver for our trouble.

They also failed to mention that they returned to our establishment on their return from the Channel Islands. Could it have been SO bad?

Again it shows that it does not matter how much you do for some people they will never be satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Our family booked 5 rooms at the Sandcombe and we had a lovely time there. David and Sheila were so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good. Lovely views from the winows - will visit again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentishMaid24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Cavendish House
Cavendish House
#57 of 165 in Weymouth
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#7 of 165 in Weymouth
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#36 of 165 in Weymouth
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#28 of 165 in Weymouth
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boaters Guest House
Boaters Guest House
#103 of 165 in Weymouth
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach View Guesthouse
Beach View Guesthouse
#30 of 165 in Weymouth
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sandcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandcombe

Property: The Sandcombe
Address: 8 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandcombe is ideally situated across the road from Weymouth's award-winning beach. Every room has wonderful views over Weymouth Bay to the front and the picturesque ancient harbour to the rear. The Pavilion theatre, the Marina and town centre with its many pubs and restaurants are just a short walk away. The Sandcombe is the perfect location to explore Weymouth's many attractions. Jacqui and Blane aim to make your stay so enjoyable that you will want to return to The Sandcombe time and time again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandcombe Hotel Weymouth
The Sandcombe Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing