We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ooooooooooooooh.Those mattresses.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ooooooooooooooh.Those mattresses.”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We booked a five day stay on 19th May with Shearings whose associate company is BAY HOTELS including the Bay Royal and on booking I asked for a Sea View room.That is what I got.The view from our room on the third floor was magnificent all across the bay,beach and across the the harbour.
The hotel is rather dated as is some of the decor but from what I could see all the staff are magnificent in the way they try to treat their guests to make up for things that are not 'quite right'.
Our room 308 also had draughty wooden windows but I would assume as all the buildings in the area are the same they are in a 'Conservation Area' they cannot be altered using 'modern technology.I agree with that part.
We also had ' out of date' MATTRESSES on our beds.We could feel every metal spring on the top and underneath so I couldn't turn them over like I do at home.They were not very comfortable at all.As we only 4 nights we made the best of it but put it on our 'comments card' on leaving.The shower was unadjustable as well as was the TV.Most of the FREEVIEW channels were missing and reception 'iffy'.
The meals were adequate and properly cooked with the exception of some FROZEN vegetables but some pensioners appetites are better than others (me included) and 'seconds other than an extra roll with the soup weren't available.The breakfast toast with the scrambled eggs was very thin and soggy but edible and we ate virtually everything put in front of us without problems!!!.
Would we go back there ???. Yes.The staff are superb and do their best with their dated surroundings to make all their guests comfortable.They succeed most of the time.

Room Tip: Best ones overlook the beach/sea/esplanade and Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Richard C,

I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am most pleased with your comments about my staff and I shall pass on your comments to them.
With regards to your comments about the hotel being dated, all public areas had been refurbished prior to the 2012 Olympic Games, which was less than 2 years ago. And has been carried out in a sympathetic manner in keeping with the period of the hotel and our bedrooms undergo a rolling refurbishment throughout the year. Our mattresses also are included in these refurbishment plans.
I am sorry to hear these negative comments however I am glad that you would return and holiday with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    135
    111
    43
    32
See reviews for
61
217
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We booked a holiday through Shearings Coach from Croydon and stayed at The Royal from Monday 12th to Friday 16th May. Our experience was not a good one. We had a twin room which was ok except for the fact that the windows wouldn't open and the television wouldn't work. We reported the problem with the TV on the first day of our stay but nobody came up so I went downstairs and asked a young girl about it and she said it had been noted down but there was a problem with the aerial. Nothing was ever done to rectify this so we spent an entire week with no TV even though we reported it several times during our stay.Not good. At breakfast the toast wasn't toasted properly so it was like eating stale bread every morning. Then we come to the meals. I don't know if there is a vampire problem in Weymouth but you would think there was by the copious amounts of garlic in every meal. Great if you like garlic but awful if you don't and there were no alternatives. To be quite honest the problems with this hotel spoiled our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dustierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear dustierose,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. I will agree that we did have an issue with the TV aerial during your stay however this was rectified as an engineer was called out the next day and fixed the issue as soon as possible. The windows in your bedroom do in fact open however they are restricted to ensure guest safety. I am sorry to hear that your dining experience did not meet your expectations during your stay, had this been mentioned during your stay we could have rectified any issues you might have had. I would also like to add that our menu changes daily and has a good selection of starters, main courses and desserts ensuring that alternatives are available. I feel that here at The Royal Hotel we offer excellent value for money and do our upmost ensure our guests satisfaction in any way we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Lancashire England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The Royal is in a great position on the promenade in Weymouth very close to the ferry and the town.The general atmosphere of the hotel is good but there are a few problems. The single rooms compared with some hotels are not a bad size but could not hold a double bed ,so why a single supplement? The windows
were in need of repair so very drafty and the decor in need of some attention. Some of the food was ok but some was awful. I wanted to sit near a window but was told it was a table for 4 in fact it was two tables pushed together so could have been seperarted .The The coffee and tea available after the meal is set up
in the reception area and in flasks. By the time we had finished our meal the tea and coffee were cold and undrinkable. We tried the following night but again cold and awful again. You might comment that we should have complained but tea and coffee are basic ingredients of a dinner service so why are they getting it wrong every night.

Room Tip: None of the single rooms face the sea and doubles not available for single use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paris027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Paris027,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that your recent stay with us didn't meet all your expectations. I would like to address a couple of issues raised in your review.
Firstly single supplements are charged due to service costs being no different for single rooms or double/twin rooms although the revenue generated is considerably less, hence a small charge is made to cover these costs. No mention of your dissatisfaction with regards to any element of your holiday was mentioned by yourself at any time during your stay which makes it quite difficult to rectify after the fact. Our tea and coffee station is replenished at regular intervals throughout the evening to ensure hot drinks are available to all guests, if this was not the case my staff would have gladly made fresh coffee/tea had we been made aware. We do in fact have front facing single rooms with sea views, and as I'm sure that you can understand double rooms are not available for single occupancy without surcharges.
I hope this has answered your queries and we hope to welcome you back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

What a lovely hotel got a last minute booking and had a premier room it was very nice we arrived from Yorkshire at 9pm the staff saved us a huge salad which was so kind and very appreciated after 6 hours on the road all the staff were very nice always smiling and willing to help we only went because some of our family had already booked but so glad we did food was nice and met some lovely people no complaints at all and hopefully we will return soon massive thank you to all staff especially lady in dining room she has worked there for years and made us laugh at every meal

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theresa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi Theresa p. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your lovely comments. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here with us. The staff do work hard to ensure that guests fully enjoy their stay, so I'm pleased that this was achieved. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

If your looking for a value for money holiday in Weymouth look no further. The friendliness of the staff on all levels was superb and made to feel very welcome when we arrived. The standard of food and service in the dining room was 100%.
Bedroom absolutely fabulous having the view over the promenade and sea.
Big thankyou to all the staff from Stuart, deputy manager to Denise on reception we will definitly be back sometime in the near future.

Room Tip: One with a sea view like ours and corner suite made it large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAPIDRIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hi RAPIDRIVER. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your lovely comments. I am absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Our number one priority is ensuring guests have a fantastic stay so im please that this was achieved. I look forward to welcoming you back when you decide to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Just returned from a Friday to Monday shearings holidays , I do have to say the hotel needs some maintenance in places, but my stay was excellent you could not fault anything else. Location,food,all staff members,made it very enjoyable. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jll P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi buteyorkshire. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your comments. Im thrilled that you found your stay to be excellent. Our number one priority is ensuring guests enjoy themselves on Holiday and im pleased we achieved this. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We had a five day Shearings break and for what we paid it was extremely good value. The room although spotless was in need of some tlc. The window frames need rubbing down and painting and the shower needed updating. There was two set meal times, it would have been better to have it staggered between 6pm and 7.30pm and last orders for breakfast 9am, people are on holiday another 30mins wouldn't hurt. These are criticisms not complaints, we enjoyed our stay and had a good deal with Shearings.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a lovely view, however can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandAHall_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi PandAHall_12. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your comments. We have previously staggered our mealtimes but due to feedback from guests, felt it was better to have two main sittings. We have refurbished a number of rooms and have more due for refurbishment soon. I am pleased you found your stay to be extremely good value. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Property: Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Address: 90-91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing