We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Reviewed March 3, 2014

As the organiser of a small group I booked 4 standard double sea-view rooms and 3 singles here when our first choice (the Russell Hotel further along the Esplanade) closed down.

Location could not be better; on the sea front but close enough for easy access to the town centre. Generally the rooms were satisfactory albeit rather tired - ours had paint peeling from the woodwork and the small double bed was very lumpy. Some bathrooms were larger than others so one takes pot luck, but ours was fine and the shower was excellent. The room heating (this was late February) and hot water were very good. One of the doubles, however, suffered a leak from the shower in the room above and there appeared to be nothing the staff could offer either to fix the problem or relocate the occupants.

I would describe the meals as of good coach party standard; I would have preferred a buffet breakfast but that is a purely personal taste. The dining room staff could not be faulted. One of our group was unhappy with the portion sizes.

We shared cars to Weymouth and, as with all hotels along the Esplanade, parking is a major issue. The hotel has a very limited number of permits, however, and the front desk staff were very helpful in assisting us with this aspect.

The Saturday was billed as a gala night, though no-one could see why; it appears that the gala was to have been held in the bar and ballroom downstairs, but we were bumped upstairs by what appeared to be a wedding party which was presumably more important. In fact there was not enough room for everyone so several of us eschewed the free vouchers and drank in town instead.

Overall I would use this hotel again. We paid relatively little for the weekend and it was quite good value.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Hi Queerhawk. Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to review your stay with us. Im thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and would stay again. We take all comments on-board as we are constantly looking for ways to improve the service we provide. Our parking permits are an added option to make our guests stay easier. However should guests wish to use any of the local council car parks they are free to do so. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 452 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Travelled with Shearings for a 4 night break. Lovely hotel Great room (315) very clean and well furnished. . lovely shower room. worth the extra for sea view. Staff very helpful. Food very good but dining room a little chaotic at breakfast often cleared a table to sit at after waiting to long to be allocated a table. this was our first trip with Shearings it was very well organised and very good value for money. Need a better variety of wine by the glass at the bars only one red available which was horrible. We will definently travel with Shaerings again if this is the standard of the hotels.

Room Tip: Room 315 on 3rd floor with sea view right around the bay and lovely shower.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank posyreading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Hi posyreading. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your lovely comments. Im thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and found it very good value for money. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our service and take all comments on-board. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

just got back from shearings bi in royal hotel,what a great place for the money.Only downside for me and wife was the drinks package,why isn't cider included ?. Also room 310 needs the window looking at before it falls out.Apart from that great time,staff very efficient and friendly.Pay extra for sea view well worth it.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Geoffrey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hi Geoffrey r. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your comments. Im so pleased you had a great time. We are constantly looking for ways to improve the services we provide and welcome on-board any feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Bay hotel for 4 nights commencing 17 February 2014 on a Bay Inclusive break ( 4 drinks per day each included)

Excellent VFM - the staff are all really friendly and the food was very good, ideal location right on the seafront @ Weymourth

We had picked a standard room and on arrival we discovered that it was a little small - but what the heck - you dont spend much time in your room. On arrival at the room the window was open and we did notice the large wet patch of mould on the ceiling (see photo).

We unpacked and thought nothing of it - on returning to the room there was a definite smell of damp. Perhaps you should say we should have complained there and then and have asked to be transferred elsewhere. To be honest we couldnt face packing up all our possessions.otherwise the room was clean and well maintained on a daily basis

My point is that surely it is not unreasonable to expect the Duty Manager to review all of his/her rooms an say a rolling 1 month basis. The picture shows that the mould and wet intrusion were clearly a long standing issue.

Overall I think that its a shame that the person responsible for the standard of rooms has let the rest of the team down - otherwise we would have rated our overall say as excellent in all respects

In fairness, I did leave these comments on customer feedback form - one week has passed and no response from Bay Hotels

Room Tip: Good value for money - but avoid room 206
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank PaulCallan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hi PaulCallan2013. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your comments. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the food, location and found the staff friendly. I am however concerned to hear about your stay in room 206. Should you have reported this, we would have rectified it immediately for you. As im sure you are aware the weather has been volatile lately, however I am very sorry this interfered with your enjoyment of the room. I have raised the issue with our housekeeping department and we are dealing with it. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is a well established hotel on the seafront and in a good location. We had an upper floor sea view room, albeit small and rather cramped, as was the en suite with a shower cubicle. Room facilities included t v, tel. hairdryer, and tea/coffee. Our first night sleep was very uncomfortable. In the morning we both felt jaded and lifeless, as though we had not had any sleep whatsoever. This was entirely due to a worn out mattress. The mattress was replaced and our remaining 3 nights were so much more comfortable. Should not be left up to guests to report such shortcomings to management! The restaurant is on the ground floor, light and airy with views across the promenade to the beach and beyond. Good choice on the breakfast menu. Dinner was for 6.pm or 7 pm, and it was necessary to make the selection on arrival. On occasions we were served immediately we sat down, other times we waited a considerable time before being asked for our order. The restaurant staff appeared to be totally disorganised. When we enquired why we were asked by more than one waiter/waitress had we ordered our meal, we were told the new restaurant manager had issued instructions to the effect that table allocation no longer applied. This seemed to differ from other Bay Hotels with Shearings' short breaks.... the system did not appear to be working successfully. We did not see the manager once during our four evenings in the restaurant. Generally, the food was to an acceptable standard, although from a somewhat limited choice on the menu, but once ordered it was served with little or no wait. Quite often the 'Chef's Special' was a good alternative The four nights entertainment of mainly vocalists, with music for all ages, went down really well. Overall, we found the hotel inviting, with ample comfortable seats in the lounge and lobby areas. The staff, a mix of nationalities, were friendly and helpful. Our short stay was very relaxing after the first night. Would we stay there again? Probably, given the location, the town, history of the area and places of interest.

Room Tip: A spacious higher floor sea view room. There is always something new to view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrankieH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Hi FrankieH44. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your comments. Im pleased you found the staff helpful and enjoyed the location. We are constantly looking for ways to improve the service we provide, we have taken your feedback on-board. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Nice hotel on the seafront 3min from the town, the food was a very good standard .Nice dance sprung floor, the entertainment was very good . the staff were very friendly all and all it was a very good 5 day break.

Room Tip: The room was at the back , and it was nice and Quiet on the 2 floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ronoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Hi Ronoli.
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your lovely comments. I'm thrilled to hear that you were pleased with the staff, food and entertainment. Our number one priority is ensuring our Guests have enjoyable stay, so its always nice to hear that we have achieved this. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We have just spent the weekend at this hotel with Shearings, not having been on a trip with them before we didn't know quite what to expect, so we didn't expect a lot, but we were both pleasantly surprised with the standard of accommodation and food served. we had a superior room(all that was left as we booked late) and it was a very large room, good quality furniture, only complaint, I would make is I don't like the shower over the bath as I has on another occasion I had a bad fall in one (not this one!) but the handles where sufficient for getting in and out of it. The restaurant times suited us, either 6pm or 7pm, and the food was of good restaurant quality rather than the good home cooking we expected, good choice (small menu) but we always found something we liked. The breakfast was of a good quality produce as was the dinners. We will be visiting in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 1st floor, front with balcony, would recommend views wonderful, worth the extra...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank esjay65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Hi esjay65.
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your lovely comments. We are constantly improving on the service we provide so I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the accommodation and food during your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back for your second visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.2 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,097 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
16 reviews
4.0 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Address: 90-91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: $106 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing