We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good break away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good break away”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Enjoyable 5 day holiday at The Royal Hotel, in Weymouth. Stayed in room 316 which was lovely, and overlooked the beach and very quiet. Spotless clean, thanks to the housekeeping services of Toria. We stayed bed, breakfast and evening meal. The food was good with big portions and the service was- excellent - great job Wayne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bott-the-golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments regarding The Royal Hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us and I will of course pass on your comments with regard to Toria & Wayne. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    135
    111
    43
    31
See reviews for
61
216
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

travelled with my husband and mother on a self drive holiday,we found that it would have been cheaper if we had gone with a coach trip and used local transport in Weymouth.The hotel was very clean and the food very good.Room was basic but had been refurbished and we had fresh towels every day,Entertainment on Thursday,friday and Saturdays on the other evenings it was very boring.
tip.watch where you park your car if doing self drive,try to park on the front,we had to move ours on the sunday due to a parade and parked at the rear of the hotel,car broken into sunday/Monday.

Room Tip: try and upgrade if you can to a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susie305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments. In the summer period we do have reduced entertainment within the hotel as we do find that a majority of our guests like to take a walk in the evenings due to the lovely weather and prefer this to staying in the hotel in the evening. We look forward to seeing you again here at The Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed over for one night in this hotel after enjoying our break in Torquay at the Lincombe Hall which was fantastic, we paid less money in a more superior room with 4poster bed absolutely fantastic 3 course AL-la-carte dinner and buffet breakfast included at the Lincombe but wanted to try Weymouth after hearing good comments about the resort when the Olympics were there, anyway regarding the Royal Hotel, we paid £154 for one night in a superior room with sea view, breakfast and so called evening meal, ok the view was really nice and the room not too bad but the food, oh my God it was absolutely disgusting l promise you the so called soup resembled wallpaper paste, when the waitress brought it to our table she accidentally tipped the dish and it didn't spill a drop it was so thick, so called mushroom but not a mushroom in sight nor did it taste of mushroom and there was about half a ladle, l would have been ashamed to serve it had l been a chef there. My husband ordered pate, it looked like it was made of play doh with a lettuce leaf and thin slice of tomato but the finishing touch to eat the pate on was 2 pieces of french bread resembling 2 postage stamps .......unbelievable. We saw the main courses put in front of the other residents which were equally disgusting, they looked like school dinners, in fact that's an insult to school dinners, it was so called chicken, really small piece with frozen veg plated up on a small dinner plate completely inedible, the desserts were a choice of toffee gateau or , one scoop of ice cream in the old fashioned silver plated dish or cheese and biscuits,which consisted of 2 packs of wrapped single slice cheese 6grapes and 4 biscuits.It was a joke , my husband and l walked out in disgust we decided to find somewhere else to eat where the food was edible. The majority of residents staying in this hotel are older people that book through Shearings coach trips they seem to put up with the food as they have no choice and l really felt sorry for them, the dining room is packed to capacity almost touching arms with each other and based on a silly 15minute sitting schedule. Our starters were brought out to us immediately which tells you everything is plated up before hand bearing the thought how long has it been standing about in a hot kitchen, especially pate? The receptionist, a nice young girl apologized to us when we complained telling us to have a word with the manager the following morning as we were leaving. The next morning l spoke to an older receptionist asking if l had been charged for our meal as l thought we should at least be refunded with the meal charge, she said she couldn't tell me if l had been charged or not she hadn't a clue and that the manager wasn't there for me to complain to which seemed strange to me as the receptionist the night before had told me she would be available from 8am anyway she was not a bit helpful and by the look on her face didn't care she was more interested in her "boyfriend" who was sat at the desk with her drinking coffee, very unprofessional, l was really annoyed £154 is a lot of money for one night of unpleasantness we had hoped for a pleasant stay with a delicious meal as it was my birthday it spoiled my day it is a birthday l wont forget that's for sure, thank goodness for the Italian Enzos down the road, they made my birthday special, if you want a holiday in Weymouth you MUST NOT stay at this hotel its unbelievable you cant even park your car, that's another story and it seems to me that the other residents who stay at this hotel pay more for their accommodation to compensate for the deals given to the party bookings taken there by Shearings, Give this place a MISS you will regret paying good money to stay here unless you want to lose weight.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lovekin47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
We would like to thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your evening meal with us. We as a Hotel regularly review our food standards and with regard to certain points that you have raised we have taken on board your comments and have fine tuned some of our options to ensure all our guests are happy with their meals. We have taken on board your comments regarding our sweet options and we now serve a cheese board with freshly cut cheeses and our icecreams are now presented in glass sundae dishes. I am sorry to hear that you will not be returning to The Royal and hope that the reviews to our presentation etc will hopefully aid you in returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

sedbergh cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

travelled with shearings,excellent as usual,wonderful staff both in the hotel and the drivers.Always amazes us how much knowledge they have on the excursions.The hotel was very good all round ,we had a lovely sea view bedroom,we did pay for the guarantee of a front room.We would recommend this in all hotels ,it makes the holiday especially if you live inthe country as we do.The hotel is an old building but we found it to be fine.Food was good and restaurant staff great,always helpful.Afew people seemed to be disappointed at the small amount of entertainment.We didnt mind but it was a shame as hotel has a large ballroom not in use.We certainly would return at a later date.

Room Tip: pay to get a sea view even though the hotel is central on the promenade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SedberghCumbriaHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your lovely comments. Im thrilled that you like so many guests enjoyed the Hotel and your stay, this is our number one priority. I look forward to welcoming you back when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

i have stayed at many of the shearings hotels, but this one i just cant help returning to ! (and just have ). the location of this hotel is just perfect, on arrival the welcome has always been friendly and welcoming nothing is too much trouble ,they show attention to each and every check in and guest the team know there jobs and are always there to help. Our room on this occasion was room 109 a really lovely room very clean and smart with lovely balcony doors leading to a lovely balcony, the evening meal times are staged at 15 minute intervals and we picked 6.30 pm as we entered we were greated by the restaurant manager lewis who seated us we were served by a lovely waitress called fran who although busy was very attentive to our every need during our stay. On wednesday morning we had an unfortunate problem with the toilet in our room which we reported to kelly on reception ( assistant manager i believe ) as always kelly was very helpful and would get in touch with the maintenace man he arrived in minutes ( dave i believe ) and was also very polite and helpful and had the problem rectified in a quick time, the rest of our stay was faultless, lovely staff, great food, great hotel ! hannah the general manageress and her hole team are an asset to shearings in every way thank you once again, we will be back !

Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis91175
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your lovely comments. I have passed them onto the team here and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. We work hard to make sure our guests have an enjoyable stay so im pleased this was achieved. I hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

On arrival, they'd run out of Parking Vouchers, so we paid £8 to park in the Station Car Park.
Room had a lovely view, but the bathroom needed a new loo and washbasin.(Seat cracked/burned, basin chipped.see pics)
Food was adequate, but on the mean side. A FULL English was a partial English. One sausage, one egg, one hash brown, one rasher and 17 baked beans.
Amazingly, Bay Hotels now have WiFi (in public areas) but only via The Cloud.
I appreciate you get what you pay for, and it was a cheap break, but the previous night at The Royal Lion at Lyme was a different world.

Room Tip: All rooms have creaky floors, so top floor might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pawncob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us. I’m pleased you, like so many of our guests found the view to be a lovely one. Our number one priority is ensuring our guests have an enjoyable stay. If you would have pointed out anything you were unhappy with one of our friendly staff would have rectified the problem immediately. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Two previous visits were successful BUT this time we were glad to leave. The staff were lovely, improved decor but the food at evening meals was diabolical. We have stayed in many Shearings hotels but this was the pits. In future we will stay at Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Not the fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jude281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOfRoyalHotel, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very concerned with your comments regarding the food and can assure you that this matter is being investigated. We work very hard with our chefs to maintain high standards and have recently changed our menus. I am very sorry that you felt on this occasion you felt that the food was not to your standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Property: Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Address: 90-91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing