We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel and excellent service in a good old fashioned British resort.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fairhaven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fairhaven Hotel
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Bolton
Level Contributor
129 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Good hotel and excellent service in a good old fashioned British resort.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The "fun prevention officer" and myself stayed at the Fairhaven from the 12th to the 15th August 2013. We were part of a large coach party, the majority of whom were pensioners. The remainder of hotel guests also appeared to be of a "certain age" although a few younger families were also resident. My personal opinion is that the hotel would suit the older generation more due to the type of entertainment provided which was of the 70's "club singer" type. I don't say this as a slight against the acts that were on, who were very good, merely that I don't feel they would appeal to the younger end. The concert room is a bit featureless and could do with a bit of a revamp and there is a bit of a premium on the drinks, however it was fit for purpose with regards to our party.
Our room was situated at the back of the hotel and was compact, ( being charitable), but it was clean (although it could do with a new carpet), and as we were hardly in it I have no real issues. Some of our party had rooms overlooking the front, which although they had the better views, there were a few complaints about excessive noise from outside during the course of the night.
The service in the hotel was excellent, especially in the restaurant, where the staff were predominantly Spanish, and the food was excellent throughout our stay. This view was echoed by all our group.
The hotel itself is nicely situated with the beach, (which is cleaned daily), directly across the road. The shops are nearby and there are plenty of good local pubs at the back of the hotel. As you turn right from the hotel it's just a few minutes walk to the harbour which is very scenic and we found it highly entertaing to watch the kids fishing foir crabs on the quay side.
Overlooking the harbour is the Nothe Fort which is worth a quick visit although it's up a bit of an incline so if people are bad on their "pins" or in a wheel chair they'll need assistance.
For those who like walking there's the coastal walk which can be picked up near to the Nothe Fort.
Also in Weymouth is the Ridepole RSPB nature reserve which is free to enter and is well worth going to if you're into birdwatching or if you just fancy a good walk in scenic surroundings. I believe there is another RSPB reserve a mile or so outside Weymouth so this may be worth enquiring about.

Moving further afield, a short distance down the coast is the Portland Bill lighthouse and Chesshill ( probably spelt wrong), beaches , where the "Dambusters" practised during WW2. Poole and Swanage are also worth a visit.

All in all we had a very enjoyable 5 days and we'd definately go again.

Weymouth is a lovely resort and although it's a bit like stepping back in time, to me that's part of its charm.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marktaylor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    84
    83
    27
    44
See reviews for
55
106
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Perfect location, good price, clean rooms, decent brekkie, only thing is carpark round back bit tight fit but booked in advance u can have a parking space allocated for 5 pound a night which is well worth it! Would definatly come here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessmeister20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

my husband and i stayed here in august 2013 just for a short 3 night stay ,i was a little dissapointed as the room we were given was a very small box room overlooking the back of the hotel so no sea view here even though i had asked for a sea view room,the room itself was in need of a serious makeover ,really old tv ,kettle coffee and tea making was on a tiny plastic shelf ,wardrobe was like something out of the 1920s overall a very dated room.even the carpet was stained and needed replacing ,bathroom had been refurbished and was ok
on the plus side breakfast was adequate and well cooked the only good thing i can say about this hotel
,reception staff need some serious training they were really quite rude and unattentive,
lots of elderley people use this hotel there is very little entertainment in the evening ,
lots of screaming and shouting outside the back of the hotel so if you do stay here ask for a sea view room but good luck with that one ,my advise only stay here if you reallly really have to

Room Tip: always try to get a sea view room ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Sorry Fairhaven Hotel

2 night break in a 1960's time warp. Hotel full of pensioners, no atmosphere in either the lounge bar or the bar, even with entertainment on.

The smell in the corridors was awful, musty and dirty.

We booked two rooms (one for 2 teenagers, one for mum and dad) and requested adjacent rooms, when we arrived they had put us on separate floors , granted they did change one of the rooms(we were still corridors away from each other) but omg they were disgusting. one of them was the size of a broom cupboard with some form of fan outside the window blowing all night and no it wasn't a/c, no window in the bathroom, one plug socket, the smallest TV I have ever seen, plastic shelf with a travel sized kettle on it.
What a waste of money :-(
The second room was slightly larger but it stunk of sweaty feet.

Requested parking when we booked and we were given (begrudgingly) a parking permit.

now the positives :The bedding & white, fluffy towels were clean and fresh.
Breakfast was OK.


Would not recommend this hotel to anyone and will never return.
Rather expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AOxxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I booked a single room on the top floor. Was advised beforehand that I would need to take lift, walk along corridors and one flight of stairs I was pleasantly surprised by the amount of space in the room Usually single rooms are more like broom cupboards. There was plenty of storage and lighting and even room for a desk and comfy chair. The bathroom was modern with a great shower. Towels were large, soft and fluffy. (no shower gel or shampoo).
The beds had sheets and blanket which is most unusual these days but was not a problem.
The sea view was amazing. I spent a quiet relaxed night. (would recommend higher rooms to avoid noise mentioned by previous reviews) I was there on a Monday night to see evening Punch and Judy show and fireworks so it was probably quieter than a weekend.
I found the staff efficient and polite but not particularly friendly maybe because they were so busy all the time. The breakfast was adequate but nothing to rave about.
The decor in the hotel was very tired looking but clean.
I would stay at this hotel again but not if I was going for a special occasion.It suited my purpose. I arrived by train so didn't have the hassle of finding a parking space on the roads.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor. Some of the single rooms are quite small so check before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 360maryp360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We've been staying here now for around 13 years and we book up again every year. The hotel is rather dated and common with the elderly, but it has to offer what every modern traveller needs, except wifi. The meals are spot on and if there is anything on the menu that you don't really like, they very kindly send you into the neighbouring restaurant (panorama).it is located very near the historic harbour and the won centre. It's also become a lot quiter this year due to the closure of the club down the road! This is a very clean hotel and the staff cannot do enough for you! Possibly th beets hotel in Weymouth, ignore all the other bad reviews! Ad this is coming from a picky 16 year old...

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night and although it desperately needs some updating and redecoration, the room itself was clean and comfortable. It has a great position directly across the road from the gorgeous beach and although I was unable to use the hotel parking, I was given a parking permit which allowed me to park roadside not 50 metres from the hotel. ( £15 cash deposit, returned when parking permit handed back on checkout.) The hotel has 2 bars and television lounge and after dinner, in one of the numerous bars and restaurants on the doorstep, was entertained in the downstairs lounge by a local singer, Billy Solo (the tambourine man) sounds cheesy but he was marvellous and kept the visitors very entertained with music and dancing. Breakfast was good and served quickly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faulkners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
0.2 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
2.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairhaven Hotel

Property: The Fairhaven Hotel
Address: 37 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fairhaven Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Fairhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Hotel Weymouth
The Fairhaven Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing