We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for the beach and local bars, but glad we only had the room for 2 nights!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fairhaven Hotel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Handy for the beach and local bars, but glad we only had the room for 2 nights!”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

This hotel is a 2 star hotel and I found it exactly that! Our room was the only room left as we booked only a week earlier. There was a few of several roofs etc, nothing else and I must say the room which was quite small, had a musty smell, and on getting back home you could still smell it on the clothes in the case. The staff were quite friendly apart from the very well spoken old lady in reception who I found quite ignorant. The breakfast was fine, served by the staff in a friendly manner.

The actual hotel, which is a lot bigger than it looks, is near to the main part of the town, with loads of places to eat and drink so if you have a short weekend trip and you book late you pay about £80 for one night.

Overall it did us ok for a short weekend but the smell in our room was off putting, but I wouldn't have fancied a stay in that room any longer. I did not see any other rooms so its difficult to judge what they were like They have limited parking but for a deposit of £15 you get a permit to park nearby but beware, at busy times you need to get that space quick as during a bank holiday weekend we had to pay £8 to park up until we could find a space.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPSR1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    92
    92
    32
    48
See reviews for
63
121
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
here
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Next door to a NIGHTCLUB. Room small and the Carpet was dirty and stained. Reception Staff Unhelpful. Despite telephone assurances - THERE IS NO PARKING ANYWHERE NEAR THIS HOTEL. Booked in for 2 nights left after one

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anonymousHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Booked with laterooms looking for somewhere cheap for a weekend at the seaside. Probably got what we deserved! Good location on sea front though our room was on the back overlooking buildings and fire escapes and was small, dark and cramped. Whole hotel seems stuck in the 1970's. Reception and dining room looks like an old people's home compete with anti-macassars on high back chairs. Avoided the bingo and cabaret provided every night. Main difficulty is parking. Hotel has no car park, on street parking is hard-fought and involves meter feeding while local car parks are available but slightly dodgy looking.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macebearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

THE HOTEL IS FINE!
My family and I have been going here for years. It's situated bang on the sea front and has rooms to fit all needs.
I don't understand why half the reviews complain about the noise and the service. Quite frankly, if you want a quiet seaside break, NOWHERE in Weymouth would suit. If it's not Hen Nights or Stag dues, it's Birthdays or binge-drinking holiday-makers. You should be looking to stay in Whitstable or any other 'pensioner' destination.
Bedrooms are dated but clean, as are the bathrooms. You can have a healthy 'hangover' breakfast in the morning. And as for the service, if you want to stay in the bar all night, they'll keep it open; if you want breakfast at a specific time, they'll adhere; if you want ANYTHING they would be more than happy to oblige.
If the people that have stayed with bad experiences it is because they have expected too much... I have never had a negative experience. It's not the destination of the holdiay, nor the accommodation, it's the company you have. This hotel has heart and you can truely learn the value of family.
So if you have loud kids that enjoy the safest beach in England and/or you are the type of laid-back person who is fond of a few drinks and enjoys doing the conga down the corridors with the manager at 3am: then this hotel is PERFECT for you :)
You'll have a great laugh, I promise!

Room Tip: Speak to the owner directly, he can't do enough for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gemmaleigh92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We read the poor reviews but still booked for one night as we had to get the Guernsey Ferry at 9am.The hotel is very near the ferry so was ideal.Breakfast was fine( but tinned tomatoes with full English) and you can ask for early 8am breakfast rather than the 8.30 one.Our room was a seafacing one with a wonderful view.The ensuite was clean and new but the bedroom furniture needs to be renewed however the beds were clean and comfortable.The hotel is a warren of corridors and stairs with only one lift - we dread to think what would happen if there was a fire! We noticed that they usually have vacancies so you could just turn up and get a room it seems - and at a good rate.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westlondoner2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We paid £70 for a double room for 1 night, but would have been better sleeping in the car as the hotel has entertainment blasting away until 1am. The hotel is dated and very old fashioned, the corridors stank of smoke, staff were unhelpful and couldn't help with parking and couldn't offer us an early breakfast after we had paid for it. The hotel is in a time warp and still thinks its visitors want cheap soap and heavy old blankets on the bed. How people can stand up on the bedroom floors is beyond me as they are so uneven and it took me 20 minutes to have a shower as there was only a trickle coming out.

Room Tip: Stay at the Rembrandt
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_JillUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Why oh why didnt i read reviews before booking this hotel? Thank heavens we were only staying one night. The most unhelpful reception staff EVER. Room very small and dated (once we managed to find it) but the bathroom was very clean. Be perpared to sleep under heavy itchy smelly blankets. We paid for over night parking and were asked to leave our car keys at reception in case the car was needed to be moved ,which it was , how ever it would have been helpfull if when we checked out in the morning we were actually told where it had been moved to rather than be told "I havnt got a clue you will just have to look for it in one of the car parks"!!!!! We did find it after a five min search but can assure you all that we certainly will NEVER be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at home
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sbfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.4 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,040 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairhaven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairhaven Hotel

Property: The Fairhaven Hotel
Address: 37 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 8DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Fairhaven Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Fairhaven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Hotel Weymouth
The Fairhaven Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing