We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, clean guesthouse with friendly hosts”
Review of Weymouth Beach B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Weymouth Beach B&B
Ranked #29 of 165 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean guesthouse with friendly hosts”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed at the Channel Guesthouse for a week at the end of Aug. The guesthouse has a prime location on the sea front overlooking the beach of Weymouth Bay. It is just 5 mins walk from the railway station and the same from the main bus stops.

The older reviews of this guesthouse can be completely disregarded. The current owners have transformed the place and all the rooms have been re-decorated and painted in the past few months.

With a 3* establishment you're not going to expect luxury but the family room we stayed in surpassed my expectations...it was clean with modern furnishings rather than the old second-hand furniture you often find in similar establishments. The view from the window over the beach and the Bay was fantastic, day and night.

Noise wasn't an issue for us either, we slept well and, as a light sleeper, I was only woken once by noisy revellers around midnight..bear in mind we stayed the bank holiday weekend when you'd expect it to be noisy outside and we had the window open too because we like sleeping in a cool room.

Breakfast each morning was good and plentiful with a wide variety of options to choose from, all locally sourced!

The owners pride themselves on being the only guesthouse in Weymouth to have the Gold award for Green tourism. Their website is also very informative and they utilise social networking sites like Facebook and Twitter very well.

This is our second holiday to Weymouth. We stayed previously at the Wilton guesthouse just around the corner but, while that place was nice, I have to say that the Channel Guesthouse is a much nicer establishment.

If you can you should try and book a room with a sea view. Nothing better than waking up and seeing the sun rise over the Bay :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boro_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    57
    21
    14
    2
See reviews for
23
118
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We all enjoyed out stay, breakfast was really nice with a good choice of food. The sausages in my opinion were very nice! The bedroom though was quite small but despite that everything else was good. Dining room had air conditioning, the bathroom was good, and also the view was absolutely epic. We stayed in room 5 by the way.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed here for two nights. Had room right at the top of the house so had to walk up a few flights of stairs which was a bit tiring however it was nice and cosy at the top of the house and could do with the excersize after the lovely breakfast. The small touches made it a nice place to stay and the owners were very welcoming. Excellent location, facing the beach. The only problem we had was that I was midway through a shower and the water run out and then went cold, however it was fully booked that day and it did say this might happen in the guestbook at peak times so I did not mind too much. It is a 3 star B&B so if you are not expecting 5 star luxury you will be happy here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annannanna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

lovely view and great breakfast but it stops there. hotel very tired and dated. dirty downstairs toilet. unfriendly greeting on arrival. uncomfortable beds. no hot water when required. rang bell for service and heard owner swearing because she had been disturbed. generally felt that they only spoke to us because that was their job and for just under £100 per night, i feel this hotel is very over rated. should be a one or two star. have stayed in far superior hotels for alot less money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazIow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Friendly family run guest house with uninterrupted sea views from the front windows. The owners bend over backwards to assist, far outranking some more expensive prestigious hotels. Factor in though, that ground floor rooms are not on the level and through fire doors and that parking is free but the carpark is some distance from the guest house which impact if mobility is an issue.

Room Tip: Go for rooms with a sea view - it's too miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlehampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Great 2 day stay very comfortable felt we had chosen one of the best places to stay great location and very friendly. Lovely and clean loved the huge shower towels we had a lovely view across the bay ,the parking permit was invaluable thank you for a great stay hope to be back at sometime.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casLittlehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2010

stayed three nights on arrival greeted by sue the landlady she was very helpfull and friendly gave us a free parking permit for the three days car park about six or seven minutes walk.the location was great overlooking the beach,would recommend to friends,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sony30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roundhouse Hotel
Roundhouse Hotel
#28 of 165 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland
The Cumberland
#9 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bourneville
The Bourneville
#32 of 165 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#8 of 165 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weymouth Beach B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weymouth Beach B&B

Property: Weymouth Beach B&B
Address: 93 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AY, England (Formerly The Channel Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Weymouth Beach B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weymouth Beach B&B is an exclusively adult only B&B sitting in the middle of Weymouth's glorious seafront overlooking the multi-award winning central beach offering panoramic views across Weymouth bay. We offer comfortable accommodation in a more homely style. Our award winning breakfast is something to look forward to with most of our ingredients carefully sourced from local farms and producers, and we offer more dishes than most, so you can have a full cooked breakfast, but also you can enjoy omelettes, American pancakes and 2 different fish dishes. Our aim is to ensure your stay with us is comfortable and relaxing, and something you'd like to repeat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Weymouth Beach B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Channel Guest House Hotel Weymouth
Weymouth Beach B&B Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing