We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & Friendly Welcome!”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2009

We have stayed at the Windsor Hotel quite a number of times. Each time we have been given a very warm & friendly welcome by Tony & Seonaid. The location is excellent! It's just opposite the beach & a short (very flat) walk into the town. It's also, only about a 5 minute walk from the train station. We usually book a premier en-suite room, with fantastic views right across the bay. The breakfast is super, with the freshly cooked full english certainly setting you up for the day. We hope to be visiting for many years to come!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank trefin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 96 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2009

Stayed for a long weekend last week. Very friendly service and welcome reception. Breakfast to suit everyone's tastes and cooked to order. Excellent clean sea view room with the sea practically on the doorstep. Everything you could possibly want for a relaxed stay. We will certainly use this hotel again if visiting Weymouth.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave1Gloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Good- location on the sea front. sea view from the bedroom. Friendly owners. Breakfast was good. Large bedroom.
Bad- Cleanlinessof the bedroom and bathroom could have been better. Bugs on the window, needed a good clean!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HxxV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

my husband and i stayed at the windsor friday night we wanted a romantic night away without the kids and it was wonderful.we had a premier en suite room with a sea view.waking up to the view of the sea was wonderful would definately recommend it an we would definately go back again without the kids! We had a lovely meal at the George steak house in the harbour.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank markbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed at the Windsor hotel recently on a stopover to Jersey.
the price seemed very good for such a prime location on the beach.
Dont expect a guest house of Grandeur but do expect a very warm and relaxed welcome , clean rooms and a cooked breafast.
So the rooms might not be the most modern and the ensuite we had wasnt the biggest but we were very glad of any ensuite as we actually booked a room without one , and when we arried they upgraded us for free.
I have no complaints about the guest house and it certainly served our purposes for our short stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ellee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

I picked this B&B from reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and for many other people doing the same I'd like to back up some (most) of the comments on here.

We stayed just the one night in April as we were down for the football. When we got there the owner, Tony ,was most welcoming and went to great lengths to tell us where we could park, even giving us a marked out map. The building is about 10 meters away from the beach which is great for families but parking can be a bit of a nightmare in season. Most of the B&B's around this area have the same problem so don't be put off by this.

Our room was very nice (the one with the pink fish), a nice size and not at all shabby as so many B&B's are getting these days. The bathroom was a tad on the small size but everything worked and was SPOTLESS which brings me on to the main thing about the Windsor...

Everything about the place was clean which is always the most important thing that you want during your stay. The bathroom, (the shower had white tiles and there was not a mark or spot of mildrew or of anything suspect at all) the carpets, the cutlery, the plates and cups and the tablecloths were all spotless. Even the smell of the place which was a mixture between washing powder and sherbert and not of dodgy cooking or 'homely' smells!

The breakfast was very good. A veggie grill-up is no problem at all if you want it. Even 'proper' tomato sauce is in attendance!

It's always difficult to choose a B&B/hotel in places like Weymouth as there are hundreds of them so I hope people may have found this useful. I would certainly recommend the Windsor and will stay there again next year if my football club decide not to get relegated.

Thank you Tony (+ family) for the welcoming stay and cheers to the other reviewers on here for the good choice.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank madbird_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

After reading the reviews booked expecting good things. ...
Yes the room/hotel is clean, the location is fantastic and the hosts are very friendly.
However, the 'premier' en suite room was smaller than expected and the decor wasn't exactly modern (green and yellow wood chip). The worst thing was that the walls were paper thin and we could hear all that happened in the adjoining rooms, including the saniflow loo churning away next door. Breakfast time seems a tad early - by 9.00 am on a Sunday (not good when you've been out for a saturday night) and even more disappointing when, although freshly cooked, is all freshly deep fried. All in all, paying £68 out of season we expected more. OK but would not stay more than 1 night.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fairy3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.7 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 22 in Weymouth
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
4.1 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
678 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: 22 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: $47 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Hotel is the closest hotel to the beach in the whole of the resort without having to cross a road. Ideally located for all local amenities just 5 minutes stroll along the promenade to town, train and bus terminus. Ideal for families, the young and the young at heart. All we ask is that our guests RELAX and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing