We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed July 19, 2009

Good- location on the sea front. sea view from the bedroom. Friendly owners. Breakfast was good. Large bedroom.
Bad- Cleanlinessof the bedroom and bathroom could have been better. Bugs on the window, needed a good clean!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HxxV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    22
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
56
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2008

my husband and i stayed at the windsor friday night we wanted a romantic night away without the kids and it was wonderful.we had a premier en suite room with a sea view.waking up to the view of the sea was wonderful would definately recommend it an we would definately go back again without the kids! We had a lovely meal at the George steak house in the harbour.

  • Liked — lovely room with a sea view
  • Disliked — shower wasnt big enough for two adults
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed at the Windsor hotel recently on a stopover to Jersey.
the price seemed very good for such a prime location on the beach.
Dont expect a guest house of Grandeur but do expect a very warm and relaxed welcome , clean rooms and a cooked breafast.
So the rooms might not be the most modern and the ensuite we had wasnt the biggest but we were very glad of any ensuite as we actually booked a room without one , and when we arried they upgraded us for free.
I have no complaints about the guest house and it certainly served our purposes for our short stay.

  • Liked — The friendly owners and the clean rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2008

I picked this B&B from reading the reviews on Tripadvisor and for many other people doing the same I'd like to back up some (most) of the comments on here.

We stayed just the one night in April as we were down for the football. When we got there the owner, Tony ,was most welcoming and went to great lengths to tell us where we could park, even giving us a marked out map. The building is about 10 meters away from the beach which is great for families but parking can be a bit of a nightmare in season. Most of the B&B's around this area have the same problem so don't be put off by this.

Our room was very nice (the one with the pink fish), a nice size and not at all shabby as so many B&B's are getting these days. The bathroom was a tad on the small size but everything worked and was SPOTLESS which brings me on to the main thing about the Windsor...

Everything about the place was clean which is always the most important thing that you want during your stay. The bathroom, (the shower had white tiles and there was not a mark or spot of mildrew or of anything suspect at all) the carpets, the cutlery, the plates and cups and the tablecloths were all spotless. Even the smell of the place which was a mixture between washing powder and sherbert and not of dodgy cooking or 'homely' smells!

The breakfast was very good. A veggie grill-up is no problem at all if you want it. Even 'proper' tomato sauce is in attendance!

It's always difficult to choose a B&B/hotel in places like Weymouth as there are hundreds of them so I hope people may have found this useful. I would certainly recommend the Windsor and will stay there again next year if my football club decide not to get relegated.

Thank you Tony (+ family) for the welcoming stay and cheers to the other reviewers on here for the good choice.

  • Liked — Cleanliness/Aero drink in the room!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madbird_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

After reading the reviews booked expecting good things. ...
Yes the room/hotel is clean, the location is fantastic and the hosts are very friendly.
However, the 'premier' en suite room was smaller than expected and the decor wasn't exactly modern (green and yellow wood chip). The worst thing was that the walls were paper thin and we could hear all that happened in the adjoining rooms, including the saniflow loo churning away next door. Breakfast time seems a tad early - by 9.00 am on a Sunday (not good when you've been out for a saturday night) and even more disappointing when, although freshly cooked, is all freshly deep fried. All in all, paying £68 out of season we expected more. OK but would not stay more than 1 night.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairy3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

Lovely people, a clean hotel and well located right on the seafront but quiet as it is slightly away from the main port area of Weymouth; a 15 minute walk.

We had a premier sea-view room. It was clean but could have done with modernising and refresh of the paintwork. Two-tone yellow and lime -green walls went out in the 70's I think along with wood-chip wallpaper. The electric toilet was quite amusing too.

Good breakfast in the morning and good tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — Decor a little jaded and old-fashioned
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Prophet9963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Worcester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

Another success for the Windsor Hotel! I had read the excellent reviews of this little hotel on Trip Advisor, so thought we would give it a go! The owners are very friendly and helpful, and the location is perfect. Our room had the most wonderful view and we could lie in bed, listening to the waves! Although the hotel does not have parking, the owners provided us with a helpful map so that we could find free parking, which was close enough to the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here are looking forward to returning.

  • Liked — friendliness, view, clean
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelcat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
1.9 mi away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,071 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
445 reviews
4.0 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
646 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fairhaven Hotel
The Fairhaven Hotel
#17 of 22 in Weymouth
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: 22 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Hotel is the closest hotel to the beach in the whole of the resort without having to cross a road. Ideally located for all local amenities just 5 minutes stroll along the promenade to town, train and bus terminus. Ideal for families, the young and the young at heart. All we ask is that our guests RELAX and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing