We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect little guesthouse”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect little guesthouse”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Tony from the Windsor greeted us promptly upon our late arrival and helped us out with free parking in the area. Very friendly and helpful guy.

We played extra for seaview room which was well worth it. A lovely bay window with seating area and a view to die for. Nice size room and huge en-suite. Only issue was the shower head fired water out at all angles and the shower tray would fill up with water before we were finished, but a minor issue in otherwise perfect stay.

Full English breakfast was incredible

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alexswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skibumweymouth, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We note your comment about the shower head and have already replaced it. We look forward to you returning to see us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    19
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We found this to be everything previous reviewers have said - great location, nice hosts, wonderful views, comfy beds.... But it is definitely a b&b. Our room overlooked the beach and had a huge ensuite. We thought it was good value and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: It's worth going for the top of the range rooms for space and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were bowled over by the location and atmosphere at this wonderful hotel. We were booked in Room 11 which was not "en suite" but it may as well have been as the loo and shower were only a couple of steps away. Everything is spotlessly clean and the Hotel smells clean and fresh. We had a spectacular view of the sea with no main road between us and the beach - it was wonderful to be lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves - and the view of the sunrise over the Jurassic coast was awesome. Our photograph shows cars parked in front of the hotel, but this is not a through road and the Windsor is right at the end of a cul-de-sac,

Tony and Seonaid, our hosts, could not have been kinder and pandered to our strange dietary whims (a fresh lemon to go with our tea at breakfast, and poached/scrambled egg instead of fried) cheerfully and without a murmur of complaint. The breakfasts were superb, with mushrooms, baked beans, a hash brown and a fresh tomato in addition to the perfectly cooked egg, sausage and bacon. There was an excellent selection of cereals and fresh fruit as well as fruit juices and a choice of brown or white toast, and the both the breakfast and toast were piping hot and freshly cooked.

We loved the thoughtful extra touches, such as a fresh bottle of Highland spring water provided in our room and the well-stocked tea tray with biscuits and hot chocolate as well as plenty of tea bags, coffee and other essentials.

The location of the Hotel could not be better; it is in easy walking distance of the Railway Station (we did not need a taxi to get our luggage there) and of course, the lovely promenade which is just outside the front door. There is a thriving shopping centre on quaint streets just 10 minutes of flat walking from the hotel, and if you are feeling lazy, the "Dotto" or land train stops at the Weymouth Pier Bandstand only 50 yards away; for £1.50 you can travel all along to the impressive Weymouth Sealife Tower with its 360 degree views of the town. If you have forgotten to bring any essentials with you there is an excellent Premier convenience store within a few yards of the hotel situated in Lennox Street. We were able to stock up with razors, toiletries and even lotto tickets at this well-stocked store.

Our hosts, Tony and Seonaid, are very knowledgeable about the local area, and can help with locations of local attractions including pubs and restaurants.

Overall we were pleasantly surprised for the amount of luxury for the low price and will certainly return to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Try and book a room with a sea view. Rooms 10 and 11, although not en-suite, have a loo and shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jannie_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Tony, the host, was a lovely bloke, very helpful and did a great breakfast.
Unfortunately our room was a hot little shoebox overlooking a crappy concrete jungle. An aircon would have made a huge difference....even with the small window opened as much as possible there was little air movement and it remained uncomfortably hot. The furnishings were spartan, tv was tiny and the shower was so small you had to get out to turn around!!
Maybe you need to specify a sea view room or nothing.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, make sure you specify a sea view room or you will be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Not really "hotel" - Poor value: £90 for a tiny double, window looking onto brickwall a few feet away, ensuite shower-room in a wardrobe sized area with such a small basin that you could barely wash your hands let alone fill the kettle, soap dish wobbled and a portable TV so high up that I needed binoculars to see the scores. Seems good reviews come from guests lucky enough to have a sea view. Still on the plus it was clean, the host friendly and a good one-night stop to watch the sailing.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosemary b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Highly recommended hotel! I couldn't of wished for more from my stay at the windsor hotel, these guy's offered an exceptional all round service. The place was imaculate, the freshness hits you as soon as you enter the hotel and the room was lovely.
The owners are really nice people, extremely helpful and very welcoming.
To top it off the full English breakfast was made to protection!

Credit when credit is due - they deserve it :-)

Marie (Swindon)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marieh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Stayed here for one night in June. Lovely seaview room on the second floor with large ensuite room with shower. Hosts most helpful with information and willing to do an early breakfast to accommodate my husband's plans.
Very comfortable bed too.
Only two minor things which would in no way prevent me from returning or recommending this hotel. I found the television very high up and small to see. Also the towels were not very fluffy.
Everything else wonderful and look forward to returning with some better weather to match the lovely location. Thank you for a wonderful stay.!!

Room Tip: Sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DebbieOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Property: Windsor Hotel
Address: 22 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7RW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Hotel is the closest hotel to the beach in the whole of the resort without having to cross a road. Ideally located for all local amenities just 5 minutes stroll along the promenade to town, train and bus terminus. Ideal for families, the young and the young at heart. All we ask is that our guests RELAX and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing