We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunbay Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunbay Guest House
Ranked #81 of 170 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Home from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Linda has a lovely Guest House and nothing is too much trouble. The full English Breakfast is out of this world! A perfect place to chill out.....Room 3 has a wonderful sea view and four-poster bed to boot!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim2939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    22
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
44
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked a twin room for a few days in September. The hostess was friendly and welcoming, the room was small but kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay and the beds were very comfortable.
The position of the house is right on the sea front and in a quiet cul-de-sac. A good, value-for-money guest house to which we will be happy to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Really nice, straightforward B&B, in fact exactly what you'd expect from a proper seaside B&B! A warm welcome, a lovely spacious, clean room (ours was room 7 at the back, so no sea view, but a really nice room) and a decent breakfast in the morning. Right on the sea front in a quiet cul-de-sac with free overnight parking. About 10-15mins walk from the old harbour.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam4166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

we had room 3 and i must say its one of the best rooms we ever stayed in .with views to die for .and the breakfast was lush you could ask for any think you like .it was hot it was clean friendly guest house .but the down bit about it was the parking you had to move the car in the daytime but could come back about 5pm then the car could stay out nr the house .but who cares i had the best time.and it was nice and sunny ..and linda so nice she would come in and allways say hi to you when you had breakfast ....i will go back again for sure but with my kids thank you so much x

Room Tip: get room 3 best view ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have recently returned from a 3 night stay at Sunbay booked a week or so before through LateRooms. This review is to thank Lynda for a wonderful stay and highly recommend it to others looking for a cheap yet cheerful break.
We were greeted with friendly and helpful service which went a long way to helping us quickly get our bearings of the town.
We were lucky to have a sea view room which was comfortable, clean and decorated tastefully.
The food was lovely with plenty to choose from.
All in all, if you are looking for a comfy room with good breakfast, Sunbay is the place to go.

Room Tip: Room 5 had a gorgeous sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Booked at very short notice in the gap between the Olympics and Weymouth Carnival. We were very lucky to get a sea view on the second floor (room 5) and from the bed could see a sweep of the bay from White Nothe to the fort. I don't expect a lot from a room so was comfortable with the size, flat screen TV, drinks tray and shower. not so happy with the previous tenants under wear hanging on the bathroom door - easily missed.
During the night there was the normal argument on whether to leave the window open (me) with the sea lapping on the beach or close it (her).
Breakfast was a highlight. Juice and cereals (limited choice but OK) and bacon/eggs grilled and poached to my demanding requirements.
Close by is golf, tennis courts and we swam on all three days. In the evening the harbour is a pleasant 20 mins stroll away and where the best restaurants are to be found - Vaughans and the Ship Inn.
Please note here is no car parking and you will need to leave the car in a side road some 5 mins walk away.

Room Tip: Room 5 has superb sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_Coaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked a room at the Sunbay as a last minute getaway for his 21st. We booked the night before, at a cost of £64 for a double room for one night. After a very hot drive we arrived in Weymouth and were warmly greeted by the owner. She gave us directions for free parking and provided a map then showed us to our room. It was a good size with a clean fresh 'sea-side' feel to it. The bathroom was clean and functional with the beach quite literally a stones throw from the frontdoor of the guest house. We had our evning meal at a lovely Italian restaurant called Bella Italia about 15minutes walk into town which was amazing...deffinatly one to try! What really made this stay special was the truely incredible view from our bedroom window, the only noise was the sea gently lapping at the beach and the odd seagull. We were able to watch the sun rise over the sea without moving from the bed! Then there was breakfast! Perfectly cooked without even a hint of grease...for the price we paid this was a truely amazing stay, it was a wrench to leave! Will deffinatly be coming again and recommending to everybody we know! Thank-you!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieJ91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Gloucester House
Gloucester House
#5 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Horizon Guest House
Horizon Guest House
#13 of 21 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bedford Guest House
The Bedford Guest House
#7 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#2 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cunard Guest House
Cunard Guest House
#4 of 170 in Weymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Redcliff B&B Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbay Guest House

Property: Sunbay Guest House
Address: 12 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunbay Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Sunbay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbay Guest House Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing