We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming small cottage, beautifully equipped for...”
other travelers have booked this property
Built in the early Victorian age where the Groom and horse lived
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Built in the early Victorian age where the Groom and horse lived
Built in the early victorian age, a warm and cosy cottage Grooms Cottage in courtyard set in 8 acres of peace & tranquility
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Built in the early Victorian age where the Groom and horse lived
Built in the early victorian age, a warm and cosy cottage
Grooms Cottage in courtyard set in 8 acres of peace & tranquility
well equipted kitchen, home from home
open log fires in winter
Looking down from the sheeps field
own private drive
view from the courtyard
drive into Grooms Cottage
peace and quiet
The famous fleet lagoon, a short walk from the cottage
Romantic bedroom at the Grooms Cottage - looking out on the stars
My name is Rosemary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Weymouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marilyn51...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming small cottage, beautifully equipped for a couple.”
Reviewed October 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Grooms Cottage is at the end of a private wooded driveway, close to the sea and the charming village of Langton Herring, a few miles outside of Weymouth. While the cottage is small, it is beautifully appointed with excellent facilities. The courtyard is a south facing sun trap and there are a pair of comfortable chairs with cushions inviting you to sit and relax. It was wonderful waking up to hear and see the birds, sheep and even deer in the fiekd beyond the courtyard. Our host was very warm, welcoming and helpful. We had a great week walking the coastal trail, visiting Hardy's birthplace and Lawrence of Arabia's cottage. Weymouth was fascininating with its Georgian history.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just about everything.
Liked least: The wifi access can be intermittent as it comes from the host's property, and the cottage walls are super thick.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2016
Thank you for your kind review, and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Grooms Cottage. The weather was so beautiful and warm, and you were able to enjoy this little gem in Dorset.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in England before returning back to Australia. I do hope you will return one day. Kind regards Hilary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdlcalver...
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quiet,relaxing,hideaway”
Reviewed June 23, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We enjoyed a really lovely relaxing holiday at Grooms Cottage which is set in stunning picturesque surroundings. We appreciated the cakes and milk which Hilary provided on our arrival. The kitchen is well equipped. Large bath with lots of very hot water. We slept like logs in the large very comfortable bed. The cottage has beautiful features is well decorated, clean and perfect for two. We enjoyed watching the pet sheep,pheasants and wild birds in the field opposite the cottage. We will definitely be coming back. Thank you Hilary for the perfect holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2016
I am so pleased you enjoyed what Grooms has to offer. The peace that brings calm to us and the birds and animals seems to rub off, and a huge sense of calm reigns. I have tried to make it as much like home as possible. Looking forward to seeing you both again. Thank you both. Love Hilary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis A
1 review
“Bournemouth ”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed here after our wedding, with the aim of relaxing and to unwind from all the stresses of planning the wedding. We achieved this and more the cottage is perfect in a picturesque location, we couldn't have asked for more.

The lack of WiFi and phone signal was perfect for us, to have the door open and listen to the birds and the wildlife. The local pub is brilliant and only afew minutes down the road.

We will definitely be coming back, maybe in the winter months to make the use of the wood fire.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G
Saint Leonards, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very Nice”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Ideal weeks holiday, rural setting shared with roe deer, pheasants & foxes.
Short walk to the local pub for dinner, shops a 15 minute drive.
Accomodation cosy & tastefu,l only drawback is lack of shower, bath only.
BT wifi with fon in range from village if you have app installed.
Good area for walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wildlife
Liked least: nl shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gailogail
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable, peaceful hideaway”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A rare treat to find a place that's perfect for two; we've stayed in rather cramped places and houses with more room than we need to rattle around in, but this one hits the Goldilocks "just right" spot. It's a very comfortable cottage, well equipped and a bit of a Tardis because it doesn't look very big but, headroom aside, is surprisingly spacious.
The location, if like us you want to be away from it all, is perfect. We went for a circular walk between fields and along the edge of the Fleet on the evening we arrived and didn't see a soul, but were serenaded by skylarks and saw shelduck and herons. From the cottage we saw and heard plenty more wildlife and enjoyed brilliant dark, star-spangled night skies. When we could tear ourselves away, this is a good base for exploring the area. The lovely owner could not be more helpful; don't hesitate to ask if you need any information.
I'd happily recommend Grooms Cottage with only one caveat: if you really, really, really, really have to have a stand-up shower it's not the place for you because the slope of the roof doesn't allow it. But honestly, that's a small thing to go without in exchange for staying in such a relaxing retreat.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael d
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, very relaxing”
Reviewed March 27, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here in March, the cottage is small but full of character and very close to some great little villages and Chesil Beach. Log fire is a big bonus and makes for a cosy atmosphere in the cottage, especially if it's a bit chilly out! Hilary is very friendly and accommodating.

Perfect for a long weekend away from the city, recommended for couples.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2016
More lovely guests. My chocolate box hideaway is perfect for guests who want to get away from all the pressures of everyday life. I am so happy that they all seem to enjoy it. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fosteph
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Quiet and Peaceful Place to Stay”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We found the cottage delightful, clean and ideal for two people who want piece and quiet, you're off the beaten track in the countryside but Bournemouth is only an hour away, and it's an ideal spot for exploring Dorset, although the local Elm Tree pub is a short walk if you want to stay local and have nice food and drink, Hilary is a lovely lady who was welcoming and left some nice pastries and milk for our arrival, you will have to duck when upstairs, but this is a cottage and that is part of it's charm

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: coming back to a quiet place to relax at the end of the day
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing