We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Sands Cafe - CLOSED

Golden Sands Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, British
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Lovely setting for a bistro but very expensive for what was a very average meal. Staff were friendly but food was café standard - peas were on the hard side and my husbands fish was not at all good. Several other customers complained whilst we were there and they had run out of ham for my sons sandwich. We were very disappointed and will not be returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly Service, Lovely Supper!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Visited on Saturday eve 17-8-13, nice menu outside caught my eye and loveed the big panoramic window! Inside we were greeted to lovely friendly staff and given a choice of tables, the restaurant was neat and clean and tables not too close together. After a long and busy day the clam and relaxed atmosphere was just what we needed, some quiet music in the background meant we can enjoy nice conversation.
We were given a few minutes to relax before asked if we would like to order drinks which quickly arrived and we were left to choose from the menu, service was really good, not rushed and we were made to feel very welcome.
We both enjoyed the fantastic fish and chips and decent wine, the cod was as fresh and tasty and anyone could hope for, beautifully cooked and generous serving. We did not feel rushed and we left in peace to linger over coffee afterwards.
Would only suggest more of a choice of wines would be great but Golden Sands was a nice discovery and we would certainly visit again, it's a lovely seafront bistro!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanOil54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Long wait for awful food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We only wanted a sandwich at lunchtime. Took 15 minutes to take the order and a further 25 minutes to bring 2 sandwiches consisting of cheap bread and even cheaper fillings. The promised granary bread seemed to just be brown and they had no fresh milk. Should have had chips on the beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KTnSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
“Slow service, bland food, very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We recently enjoyed a long weekend in Weymouth with the kids and settled on Golden Sands for our lunch. It didn't look busy and we settled down. We ordered our food and then waited, and waited and waited. Staff didn't seem to acknowledge our presence and no apologies for the delay were forthcoming. When food was finally presented, we were famished, and the 'food' filled a hole, but we could have eaten anything by this time. It was bland, greasy, limp salad. : (

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely food excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I had a lovely evening here. Would recommend it to friends and will be returning! The food was lovely and didn't wait long considering everything is cooked fresh. good quality and decent portions. My daughter had sausage chips and beans and partner had the special of the day (trio of sausages) I had lemon chicken the food was good quality and very reasonable prices! Service was good staff were friendly and helpful hope to see this place go far

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Sands Cafe also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing