We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gentle inclines”

Weymouth Portland Railway Walk
Ranked #19 of 72 things to do in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gentle inclines”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

What a great way to travel to Ferrybridge and on to Portland. Having had recent heart surgery the gentle slope of the trail gives just enough exercise for a reasonable work out cycling and the views along the way are well worth the effort. Probably not for the serious cyclist as it can be congested in places with dogs and children on the loose.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ValentineGuestHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    36
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, Glos , England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great amenity shame about the Wine'oes”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is great for cyclists and walkers, 3.5 k of good tarmac well maintained and enables you to travel free of traffic from central Weymouth to delightful places like the excellant Sandsfoot park and cafe and on to Chesil beach and Portland etc.

We are cyclists and used it numerous times during our weeks stay in Wetmouth.
NB More than once, at the town end, we saw 2 or 3 'heavy drinkers' supping cans of strong lager sat on what remains of the old station platforms. From what we saw, school children use this route to walk and cycle to schools which is most commendable but If I was a parent I would want this route patrolled and monitored by the police. We never saw any obvious 'law enforcement', maybe there are cameras?? If not, there should be.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TimKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“nice walk”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Chesilvista Holiday Park and used this walk a couple of times. Charming walk loads of butterflies and wild flowers to view. Sandsfoot castle is about halfway and makes an excellent tea stop.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank derekharlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
490 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“A different view.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We walked around the Nothe and Sandsfoot, joining the Rodwell trail and walking as far as Fortuneswell. Stops for drinks at the Ferry Bridge, the Boat that Rocks, and the Chesil Cove Inn, then back to Weymouth. Mostly pretty level walking with good views. On the Rodwell trail keep a look out for cyclists though.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank k r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent 10km route”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

From the Pavillion to the end of the walk and back again is exactly 10km's. Its all tarmac now and easy to find.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jsigsworth39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weymouth Portland Railway Walk also viewed

 

Been to Weymouth Portland Railway Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing