We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best campsite yet!”
Review of Higher Moor Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Higher Moor Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We have recently returned from a four night camping trip at Higher Moor Farm and will definitely be going back. Daniel and Laura made us feel welcome immediately and were never far away. So many plus points including a generous pitch, great shower/toilet facilities, well stocked farm shop, nice play area and even somewhere to charge your mobile! The evening entertainment on the Sunday night was really enjoyable and the Pizza's delicious. Higher Moor Farm is in a fabulous location with breath-taking scenery and lots of family fun days out within easy reach. An incredibly child-friendly, well-managed site with a tremendous atmosphere. Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54Daniel, Manager at Higher Moor Farm, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so pleased you had a great stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 434 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We loved this site. Small but adequate. Toilets & showers were 5*. The people that run Higher Moor are very friendly, they made us feel very welcome. Once u get your bearings Weymouth & the nearest supermarket are very close. Unfortunatly our weather was rotten while we wer there, but the sun did come out at the end of the week, the views were lovely,the best of dorset.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54Daniel, Manager at Higher Moor Farm, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and we are so thrilled you had a nice stay and did not let the bad weather get you down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Staff are incredibly friendly and make you feel like family. Really helpful and accommodating. Facilities are great, modern and very clean. We will defiantly be stopping again, best site we've stopped on in years :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaraLeigh667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54Daniel, Manager at Higher Moor Farm, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Thank you for your lovely feedback and we are so pleased you like the camp site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Absolutely love this camp site. Ths was our 3rd camping trip , we have another already booked. It is so clean & friendly. Daniel cannot do enough to help you, the weather was terrible on our trip & even lent us a mop to clean our trailer tent. The new shower/toilet block is lovely! I would definitely recommend this site it's great for the kids & dogs. Can't wait until the next one.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54Daniel, Manager at Higher Moor Farm, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

We are thrilled you had another great stay with us at the farm. The weather was not with us during your last stay but we are so proud of the ways you all did not let the torrential rain spool your holiday, See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were visiting family and I was most impressed but the standard of the site and also the helpfulness of Daniel to caretaker.
The units are well spaced and the dogs are to be kept on leashes.
The little shop is well stocked and the site is open to good views and very quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54Daniel, Manager at Higher Moor Farm, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased yo had a nice stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have just returned from our annual camping trip with friends.

We stayed at Higher Moor Farm. As seasoned campers, we know what we like and we loved Higher Moor Farm!

The campsite is chilled out, just the right size, very well thought through with many extra touches around and about, not forgetting Daniel's friendly and helpful approach and genuine interest in his customers.

The facilities are new and spotless. The visiting pizza on the hoof and delightful marquee serving local ales was a hit with the boys.

The kids have asked for an extra footie goal or one that can be moved when it gets muddy!

The site is well placed for visiting the whole region really and a little haven to come back to. We spent the last day at Studland Bay which is about a 45 min drive.

I am quite sure we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DECENTCOFFEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54Daniel, Manager at Higher Moor Farm, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Thank you for your fantastic feedback. We are so thrilled you had a nice stay with us and we will take on board what you way about the goal post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

My partner & I stayed for 3 nights, which was the most peaceful, relaxing and cleanest site I've stayed ( having been camping / caravanning for more than 40 years is quite a statement), the site it's self is well laid out the pitches are a generous size and there are several pitches purposely located for group bookings. Several pitches have picnic tables or seating supplied. There are several toilet/ shower blocks located around the site which are spacious extremely clean & well maintained and also have kitchen wash areas attached. There are several areas around the site which contain the bins, fire hoses, drinking water & BBQ stones. There us subtle nighttime lighting around the outer perimeter of the site along with the electrical hook ups of which there are plenty. The laundry area is clean and not only is there washers & driers there is also washing lines, the launderette also houses a freezer supplied to keep your ice blocks frozen, microwaves and lockers for security or to charge up your mobile phones / tablets there is also free wifi but this is a little temperamental at the furthest point from the reception area ( which is also the shop that stocks basic necessaries ) would definitely return and recommend this site, Daniel the site manager is very friendly & helpful, only down side is there is no local village pub to have a quiet drink or meal. The site it's self is found just outside the village with narrow bendy lanes which maybe a task for caravans or larger campers to navigate, but on a whole it's perfect for a quiet break !

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Hanlondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
54Daniel, Manager at Higher Moor Farm, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you had a great stay with us at the farm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weymouth
2.7 mi away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
1.4 mi away
The Lugger Inn
The Lugger Inn
#2 of 2 in Chickerell
148 reviews
2.9 mi away
Olivers Guest House
Olivers Guest House
#82 of 166 in Weymouth
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Lancombe Country Cottages & Lodges
2.9 mi away
Kelston Guest House
Kelston Guest House
#3 of 166 in Weymouth
468 reviews
3 mi away
A Maiden Rest
A Maiden Rest
#54 of 166 in Weymouth
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Moor Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Moor Farm

Address: Nottington Lane | Nottington, Weymouth DT3 4BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Weymouth
Price Range: $18 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Higher Moor Farm 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family orientated farm campsite catering for tents, caravans and motorhomes offering pitches on one our 8 acre level fields with views over the beautiful rolling Dorset countryside. We are only a short drive from the town of Weymouth with its famous Golden sands. The isle of Portland, Dorchester and the famous jurassic coast are close by, so there is always lots to explore and do.If you do not want to bring your tent with you we are offering new for 2013 bell tent hire offering a great glamping experience on the farm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, PitchUp and Priceline so you can book your Higher Moor Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Higher Moor Farm Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing