We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, so much better than I imagined!”

Abbotsbury, Sub Tropical Gardens
Ranked #124 of 284 Restaurants in Weymouth
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing, so much better than I imagined!”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We got a ticket which combine all 3 attraction in Abbotbury - the swannery, farm and here. This was by far the best attraction and so much bigger and better than we imagined. The gardens are huge, and have the most extensive array of tropical plants I've seen on the South Coast. It was absolutely beautiful and easy to feel you are in a tropical jungle as you walk through.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SparklyStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had lunch at the restaurant in the gardens - we sat at one of the tables outside - the menu was very varied, and I was pleased to see that they used local produce as much as possible. The meal was simple, Eggs Florentine - on home made bread, with fresh spinach and sauce made with Dorset cheddar. It was delicious and perfect for a light lunch. The service was excellent - we watched the tables being cleared and cleaned between customers - and they were quite busy. Definitely worth visiting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SusannahG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surroundings, great food.”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

I am a regular visitor to the restaurant. The coffee is exceptional as is the food and the service.
If you want freshly prepared local food, then this is the place to go. You can sit inside, on the veranda or outside where the birds will say hello to you. After, you can walk off the meal through the gardens.
Oh, and the homity pie is fantastic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank juliet190817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lovely morning out at these delightful gardens.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We have been to the Swannery at Abbotsbury before and can't believe we missed coming here. We bought a combined ticket for the two this time, and the children's farm if you want it, and had a delightful whole day out at a reasonable price ( although no discount for seniors, it wouldn't hurt to drop the £17 combined ticket to £15 for them, surely!). We had morning coffees at the Colonial Restaurant and then went back for lunch as we liked the atmosphere and the look of the menu. It was a warm sunny day so I suppose the gardens were shown to best advantage but they were stunning and with so many unusual plants. My elderly parents weren't able to make the climb for the view but there was plenty of other interest for them including the sculpture area. I took some photos here and my father has done a wonderful painting of the naked lady! We also had a laughing competition with the kookaburras which had us all in stitches. We also lingered in the plant shop which was well stocked and reasonable prices. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kentpearlgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“what a fantastic place”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stumbled across this place and nearly didn't go in. So very glad we did as its a real gem. Series of lovely gardens and an amazing outlook point giving fabulous elevated views up and down the coast. Great plant sales area too - great quality, unusual stock and at realistic prices. Had an unexpectedly enjoyable afternoon. Didn't try the restaurant but only because we ran out of time

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jelico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbotsbury, Sub Tropical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Abbotsbury, Sub Tropical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing