We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, good service”

Il Porto Italian Bar & Kitchen Weymouth
Ranked #77 of 292 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Il Porto is the result of a lifelong passion for food and hospitality. Created by brothers De Paola, their intention was to create a restaurant which they would frequent themselves - a place considered in both its food and design, and one that has a personality and identity. An Italian bar & Kitchen, rustic decor, sympathetic to the historic brewery in which it is housed. Authentic family recipes that utilise local produce, the best that Dorset offers, cooked "Italian Style"
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We had a lovely meal on 17 July 2013, all three of us thoroughly enjoyed it. Service was good, staff very attentive. Husband had tiramisu and said it was the best he has had for years.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sharon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 436 of 503 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner with my family and Jesus Christ,its the worst place i've ever been.
Bad organized,chaotic and staff is very unprofessional.
The food has no taste....i cant see this place being open for long,especially after the tourist are gone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank yeovil85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlPortoWeymouith, Owner at Il Porto Italian Bar & Kitchen Weymouth, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you Marco for your contribution, We are sorry your position here did not work out, but are bad reveiws really the way to settle a greiveance?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Live in Weymouth & eat out regularly, had family over so thought we'd try the 'New Italian'. Well never again!! Totally chaotic service, one guest ended up with an extremely bad stomach due to the mussels, had to ask for a jug of water (which were all lined up on the side) only no-one thought to offer one, had to ask to have out order taken (Wish we hadn't bothered) , had to ask for cutlery so we could eat what was offered, had to ask for side dishes ...... and NO TOILET roll and then the handle to exit the toilet fell off in my hand and had to stick my finger in a well used hole in the door to let myself out!! And you're paying 20 quid ahead at least for this 'EXPERIENCE'!!!!!! Don't bother

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JO R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlPortoWeymouith, Manager at Il Porto Italian Bar & Kitchen Weymouth, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your reveiw. We are very sorry if one of your party felt unwelI, however even if indeed It were the mussels that were to blame i very much doubt that the effects would have shown during the meal for which i understand you actually received £20 off of your bill due to you voicing your concerns on the evening! Also, seeing as you have not mentioned your unwell guest post meal I presume they were fine? In which case, mussels would not be the culprit! As for the toilet handle, it broke on the same evening and was make shift fixed as we were so busy, apologies that it fell into your hand, as for loo roll, it runs out! The staff replace it but believe it or not, because we are a busy restaurant off the quay, if we leave spares they are either stuffed in the loo causing blockages or stolen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The menu at this lovely Italian restaurant has something for everyone. We had pasta dishes, and everyone was happy with his or her choice. The desserts are quite nice, as well. We are planning a trip soon with friends to check out their Pizza and Peroni night!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FoodiesUniteDT4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlPortoWeymouith, Manager at Il Porto Italian Bar & Kitchen Weymouth, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Looking forward to seeing you on a tue night! Thanks for the rave reveiw!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Service great, staff pleasant, but food disappointing. Did not get seafood with nmy pasta, did in the end but was cold. Love the atmosphere and venue, but was disappointing visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlPortoWeymouith, Manager at Il Porto Italian Bar & Kitchen Weymouth, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Hello Wendy F, Thank you for the reveiw , sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. I know that previously you have been very happy dining with us. Please email ilportoweymouth@gmail.com so that we can organise your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Porto Italian Bar & Kitchen Weymouth also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Il Porto Italian Bar & Kitchen Weymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing