We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding quality”

The Dorset Burger Company
Ranked #5 of 292 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: Contemporary, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are an independently owned award-winning restaurant based opposite the train station, just down from the Jubilee Clock along the seafront. We have disabled access into the restaurant and are child and dog friendly. Our ethos is to use as many locally sourced ingredients as possible to create delicious home made, chargrilled burgers in a relaxed atmosphere with excellent customer service. We are proud members of both Dorset Food and Drink and Taste of The West and are thrilled to have achieved both a Gold Award for four years running from Taste of The West, also being named as South West Cafe of the year in 2013. We were also voted fourth best burger restaurant in the UK by Trip Advisor reviewers in 2016 and voted Best Restaurant of 2016 at the Dorset Tourism Awards and Wessex FM’s Weymouth Business of the Year in 2016. We are happy to welcome customers for coffees, teas, desserts and snacks. We are licensed and have a full bar serving a wide range of wines, draught local ales, ciders and other alcoholic drinks as well as soft drinks. We always have a number of meal deal special offers available alongside a full children's menu. Please do book in advance if possible for evenings and large parties as we can get busy. We hope to see you soon!
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Me and my friend try to go here as often as we can. At least every time we go in to town.
With every visit we are recognised and greeted in a very personal way.
The staff are always friendly, polite, and have never got an order wrong.
The burgers are simply the best I have had. They taste brilliant, perfectly cooked, not too small either. The fries are always crispy and never floppy. The only other burger I have had that even comes close to this level of quality was whilst in the USA.
They usually have some kind of chutney too, really good!
Prices are very fair, quality and taste is outstanding, staff are always polite and friendly, simply could not ask for more.
This place should be reason enough to come to Weymouth.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAndRoss, Owner at The Dorset Burger Company, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Dan C,
Thanks for supporting our business and for taking the time to review us on here. What a fab review! We love our burgers and we are glad that you do too! As you know they are handmade on the premises and made with local produce wherever possible.
Hope to see you soon
Best wishes Emma, Ross and the DBCo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

925 - 929 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

On a weekend trip to Weymouth I did the usual Tripadvisor search for somewhere nice/different/fresh to eat... And all those reviews came up trumps

The service was impeccable, seating was on nice big benches and as a couple we were sat with another 4 diners but still with space between us and without feeling like we were all on top of each other.

Fantastic value, amazing burgers and chutney that I am pleased to say they sell!

I will certainly be returning with my group of girls on our planned weekend to Weymouth later on in the year.

Thank Sussex_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAndRoss, Owner at The Dorset Burger Company, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear sussex_rider,
Thanks for trying us out after looking us up on tripadvisor. We are independently owned, and make all our burgers fresh on the premises. We are glad you think we are 'fantastic value'.
We also got a gold 'Taste of the West Award' 2013 and 2014.
We look forward to seeing you and the girls when you have your weymouth weekend, please don't forget to book though! We get ever so busy at the weekends!
Take care
The DBCo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I would recommend this place as a nice relaxing restaurant with friendly helpful staff.

As for the pros, I would say the food is excellent here. Burger full of flavour by the way it was cooked, seasoned and a perfect size as big but not too large. Chips were ok but not the best I have ever had and loved the selection of chutneys on selection to eat with it. Staff were very helpful and friendly and it was such a relaxed atmosphere.

Only a few minor cons would be I would recommend people book before hand as people were being turned if they hadn't booked because the restaurant is quite small and in need of expansion and also the menu stated onion ring(s) yet one large one came out on the plate which was fine and they did state the menu was being rectified anyway, which IMO was good because it was a dull menu on the eye.

All in all though I would go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mortis1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAndRoss, Owner at The Dorset Burger Company, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Mortis1980,
Thanks for your detailed review. We are glad you thought the food was 'excellent'. We quite agree that booking is recommended, we hate having to turn away hungry customers at the weekend if we can't fit them in. We will take on board your other comments too.
Best wishes
The DBCo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Lovely place with a great atmosphere and the best burger in Weymouth. They normally have a deal on in the week and recommend taking advantage.

Thank cretelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAndRoss, Owner at The Dorset Burger Company, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2014

Dear cretelove,
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your burger with us. We have different Meal Deals at lunchtime and in the evening and hope that both offer good value for money. We hope to see you again soon,
The DBCo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We chose to have plain burgers. They were more than that , bland. No taste at all not even of meat. I have eaten real burgers all over the world and these were the worst. Maybe for those who are only used to fast food they will seem good especially if you have lots of extras.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank boidgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAndRoss, Owner at The Dorset Burger Company, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear boidgal,

Thanks for taking the time to review us and sorry that our mix of locally sourced meat and other DBCo ingredients weren't to your taste. As you can see from our other Trip Advisor reviews the vast majority of people that visit us really enjoy their burgers - and not all of them are fast food fans!

Emma and Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dorset Burger Company also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Dorset Burger Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing