We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding - wish there was one nearer to home!”

The Dorset Burger Company
Ranked #5 of 287 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: Contemporary, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are an independently owned award-winning restaurant based opposite the train station, just down from the Jubilee Clock along the seafront. We have disabled access into the restaurant and are child and dog friendly. Our ethos is to use as many locally sourced ingredients as possible to create delicious home made, chargrilled burgers in a relaxed atmosphere with excellent customer service. We are proud members of both Dorset Food and Drink and Taste of The West and are thrilled to have achieved both a Gold Award for four years running from Taste of The West, also being named as South West Cafe of the year in 2013. We were also voted fourth best burger restaurant in the UK by Trip Advisor reviewers in 2016 and voted Best Restaurant of 2016 at the Dorset Tourism Awards and Wessex FM’s Weymouth Business of the Year in 2016. We are happy to welcome customers for coffees, teas, desserts and snacks. We are licensed and have a full bar serving a wide range of wines, draught local ales, ciders and other alcoholic drinks as well as soft drinks. We always have a number of meal deal special offers available alongside a full children's menu. Please do book in advance if possible for evenings and large parties as we can get busy. We hope to see you soon!
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We came in for lunch on a rainy Saturday with our three kids. Very family friendly, staff were lovely and the burgers exceptional (esp the Dorset Hot with chilli!). Really professional set up, decor is nice and up to date with interesting artwork but feels like its family run - will definitely be back when we next visit Weymouth.

Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAndRoss, Owner at The Dorset Burger Company, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Grant R,
Thanks so much for the great review! We aim to be a nice place for all the family, and of course we have games, children's menus and even high chairs if needed. Our artwork is original and for sale too. We are independently run, and award winning ( Taste of the west Gold Award 2013).
Hope to see you again next time you are visiting. Don't forget to book as we do get busy!
Best wishes
The DBCo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
There are newer reviews for The Dorset Burger Company
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

929 - 933 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

We have visited the Dorset Burger Company a few times over the past twelve months, and never had any complaints. The choice of burgers is wide (although if you want anything other than a burger, go somewhere else!), they are always cooked to perfection, and the chips are excellent. The staff are friendly without being overbearing. The prices are very reasonable, too. The only slight misgiving we have is the tables, which are of the type you would find in a bierkeller in Germany, so you may find yourself sharing with a stranger (although to be fair, in the times we've been, that hasn't happened to us).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EdT1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAndRoss, Owner at The Dorset Burger Company, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear EdT1967
Thank you so much for your ongoing custom! Like you say, burgers are what we do, and we are glad you like them. We make them by hand every day on the premises. We are completely independently owned and we really do care about our customers enjoying themselves. Thanks for all the feedback, and for taking the time to review us
Best wishes Emma and Ross

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Visited DBC again to get my burger fix whilst in Weymouth. I highly recommend this restaurant, we have never had a bad meal and all the burgers are just as good as the previous one! You must leave room for a dessert though. The staff are always welcoming and lovely. Can't wait to try another burger soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sazmerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAndRoss, Owner at The Dorset Burger Company, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Sazmerv,

Many thanks for reviewing us for a second time on TripAdvisor! We all really appreciate the support that you and our other returning burger-eaters have given us over the last fourteen months and the recommendations that you give about us to others - thank you!

You're right about trying to leave room for a dessert though - with sticky toffee pudding and custard and Peppermint Choc Chip ice cream from Marshfield Farm both being added to the dessert menu this week, choosing a dessert can be harder than choosing a burger sometimes!

We look forward to seeing you again very soon,
Emma, Ross and The DBCo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Have to admit the actual meat/burger was v tasty great quality but I felt let down by the roll. For such a quality meat why put it in a bog standard morrisons white roll and then not toast it. Id rather pay an extra 50p for a good quality roll. Also because it wasnt toasted it went quickly soggy. Chips were average. Enjoyed it but wudnt return unless the rolls either change or they are toasted. Fab meat and toppings however.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michelle k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAndRoss, Owner at The Dorset Burger Company, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Michelle k,

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your burger and thought that our range of toppings is fab! Sorry that the roll we use was not to your liking. Our rolls are all from Shelly's Bakery which is based just outside of Dorchester in Grimstone. We are always happy to toast rolls if people request this (time and space on the Chargrill allowing) so please do ask a member of the team if you call in to see us again.

Thanks again,
The DBCo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great to see an independent burger place on the high street instead of just the usual American chains, wish them all the success and we need more of them.

A very charming place to eat and can imagine when the weather is better it would be a great place to sit outside and watch the world going by whist enjoying a great burger. Would recommend if you are not just dropping by that you consider reserving a table as there is limited space and its popular.

Had a really good burger and you can tell its made using care and aged meat, has a fab taste, cooked to perfection and I was not left hungry. Would have given better marks overall and for the food but the fries/chips were quite disappointing and did not match the quality of the burger.

Service was attentive and the food was delivered promptly, staff showed a real pride/passion for their food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Explorer4longtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmmaAndRoss, Owner at The Dorset Burger Company, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Explorer4longtime,

Thank you so much for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us. As you say we so take great pride and care in our burgers so we are so pleased that this shone through for you.

Sorry that our fries were not to your liking. Our specially seasoned fries prove popular with most people but we are always looking at ways to improve so will put our thinking caps on!

Thanks for your good wishes and we hope to see you again soon,

The DBCo Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dorset Burger Company also viewed

 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 
Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to The Dorset Burger Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing